We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just an ok stay!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Hampton

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites Hampton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites Hampton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1551 Hardy Cash Drive, Hampton, VA 23666   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #9 of 26 hotels in Hampton
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just an ok stay!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My daughter absolutely loves hotels, so it's nothing to get a room on the other side of town just to please her. We booked the room the same day (about 11am) and was told check in will be at 3:00 pm...cool! We had a movie date at 4:00 pm which was minutes away. Sooooo 3pm rolls around and we are told the room is not ready... no rooms are ready for check-in. Using my patience, I said ok. However, others came in after us and checked into their rooms without any hassle or being told "your room is not ready yet." Long review short, the room was not ready until 4 pm. I asked for a supervisor (none available). I asked to speak to someone in charge (none available). Needless to say, my attitude changed from thrilled to disgusted. The excuse was "we had large parties and the hotel sold out last night and tonight". My point was this is a hotel chain, are you not prepared to handle such business...Nevertheless, the stay overall was just ok. We receieved calls about noise coming from our room. And at the time, we just walked into the room from our night out. Just an awful experience! The pool area is small but it was just enough to please my daugther and it was not too busy with guests the time we went. The full breakfast buffett was a great assest and the location is perfect...only minutes from everything. The beds are just ok and the television was outdated.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niravdpatel26, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Hampton, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
I am truly sorry for your experience. Please call the hotel and ask for me to discuss further. Thank you and once again I am truly sorry for your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    22
    9
    4
    11
See reviews for
31
11
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Fear, North Carolina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Being that I would considered myself a Country Inn Suites Veteran. I am able to make this review without prejudice clear and satisfactory. The rooms are just as nice as any CIS hotel. Zane gets the job done. Any problem ask Zane. I must of lost my room key about 3 times and it was no problem for Zane. The hotel is central to many shopping and restaurant locations. It also is minutes from many historical sites and museums.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I recently stayed at this location and it was very nice. Pam at the front desk was nice and accommodating,thanks for your good customer service. The room was nice, although it was close to the elevator it was quiet, a King suite with comfortable rest.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niravdpatel26, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Hampton, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for your compliments. Next time we will try to get you away from that elevator. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I have never had a reservation, and arrived to the Hotel, and they give my room away to the guy in front of me when checking in. What an experience when traveling with your family. I had just drove from NY to VA and just couldn't drive anymore. That was the worst ever.

Room Tip: I'm unable to write anything to help in a situation as this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niravdpatel26, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Hampton, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
I am truly sorry for your experience. Please call me at the hotel directly so I can assist you further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This place is nice we got the hot tub in the room. There pool is nice size and private; they have a small weight room. The place is off from all the main traffic but located very close to the exit on 64. Very close to the hospital. We found it very relaxing and the beds were extremely comfortable. Enjoyed this stay very much. Very romantic, relaxing and fun it just fits what ever reason you are there. Enjoy

Room Tip: The rooms are inside entry not outside. Which I always feel safer. Any location is good. I also li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niravdpatel26, Owner at Country Inn & Suites Hampton, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We greatly appreciate it and I will glady share this with my staff. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My recent stay at this horel was by far my worst lodging stay ever and I travel on a regular basis. I had the unfortunate experience of having the same young lady check me in and out. I believe her name was Pat or Pam it was apparrent that she is dealing with a sustance abuse problem I say this because I could clearly detect the odor of stale liquor from the other side if the desk and her slurred speech was a clear indication of an underlying problem. I should have known that if management allowed this to be their guest first impression it would only get worst, and as I expected it did. The room was obviously cleaned to the minimum of requirements. I was greeted by a stale odor, poorly vacuumed floor, fingerprints on mirrors, urine stains around the toilet, Thankfuly I travel with some cleaning products due to previous bad experiences. Breakfast contained outdated milk, stale danish and and elderly lady that gave me the impression that I had interrupted her day when I asked for fresh milk. For these and a few other reasons I will look for lodging where they leave the light on for there guest the next time I travel to Hampton I suggest that you do the same.

Room Tip: Not at this location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niravdpatel26, Owner at Country Inn & Suites Hampton, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
I am truly sorry for your experience. Please call me at the hotel to discuss this matter further. I hope to hear from you soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

From Pam at the desk to Peggy at breakfast to Sharon in housekeeping,it was the staff that made this trip a joy. Their desire to help, to be cheerful and to do their jobs well made this stay a great one. For me the bed was a bit hard bit all else was fine...a good stay at a reasonable price with a great staff!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites Hampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Hampton

Address: 1551 Hardy Cash Drive, Hampton, VA 23666
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hampton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 hotels in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Hampton 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Carlson, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Hampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Hampton
Country Inn & Suites Hampton Hotel Hampton
Country Inn Hampton
Hampton Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Hampton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.