We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great margaritas!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abuelo's The Flavor of Mexico

Abuelo's The Flavor of Mexico
2423 McMenamin Street, Hampton, VA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 244 restaurants in Hampton
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Fort Collins, CO
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great margaritas!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I have come here twice and the margaritas have been outstanding both times. Service was great on the first visit but pretty bad the second time. Good seafood, a little on the expensive side for what you get

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    13
    12
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Abuelo's is fresh and delicious.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife and I have eaten here for lunch on three occasions. We love it. On this day she had the Tilapia Vera Cruz. It is always fresh, spicy, and perfectly prepared. I had the Raynosa salad with ground beef, the best taco salad around. We also had the guacamole with chips. Eat here!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“About average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Visited here earlier this week with several other colleagues. Service was generally good, though a tad slow. I had grilled chicken salad (quite nice) and tortilla soup (average). The chips, which a lot of people seem to like a great deal were nowhere near the best chips I've had. The three salsa choice was good, but even the salsa wasn't as good as the best salsa I've had elsewhere. Overall, an average experience, nothing to write home about.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Not Bad, Not Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and friend met up for a Saturday night dinner. It was fairly crowded so we were offered the option of sitting out on the "heated" patio. The patio was not very well heated. We had to zip up some of the flapping wall panels ourselves because of the cold breeze passing through.

I have to say the food was amazing. The nacho chips weren't warm, but there were three different salsas to dip the chips into: mild, hot, and a tasty almost sweet green sauce. I had the "Juarez" and let me say this is the closest thing I've had to the Tex-Mex I ate in Texas. A tamale, beef taco, sour cream chicken enchilada and cheese enchilada. I had a side of Mexican rice and a roasted green chile.

Now, our margaritas on the other hand, were tasteless, watered down, and barely had any salt on the rim. Very disappointing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The FLAN! OMG”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I have eaten here several times. Food is very good. Good service.
I go and order the flan dessert. It's great!
I never used to like flan until theirs. Good lava cake also.
Happy hour has great deals on tasting sizes.

I have also been there when some great 3 piece music was going on. Just enough music in the background to make you feel good but not interrupt the conversation.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abuelo's The Flavor of Mexico also viewed

 

Been to Abuelo's The Flavor of Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abuelo's The Flavor of Mexico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.