We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Lane Tavern

Park Lane Tavern
4200 Kilgore Ave, Hampton, VA 23666-2062
757-838-2748
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 247 Restaurants in Hampton
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Deer Park
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“What a wonderful pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The selection of beer is fantastic. Service was wonderful. We were there on a snowy night food was great. Snitzel was perfect the beer was super.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    37
    14
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
elizabeth city, nc
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Huge portions of good food, Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This place is an English pub-themed bar/restaurant located in the trendy Peninsula Town Center. I have visited several times with friends, after the guys go to an event at the Coliseum and the ladies go shopping. Rent is high in this location. Compared to the other restaurants in this locale, it is a good value.

The fish and chips is delicious and the portions huge. I've also had the jagerschnitzel and several other dishes, all of which were very good. My wife can never finish the large salads. We are always here on a Sunday, and their drink and brunch specials look good.

The atmosphere is open, clean, and typical pub like. Service has always been good. I'd recommend it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great fish n chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Happened in on a Tuesday night and Fish n Chips were the special. The food was great and our server Samantha was great. Samantha recommended a perfect pairing of beer for me and wine for my wife. We'll be back soon!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton,VA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Atmosphere Nice - Food Not Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have dined here many times and the food used to be very good, but the last few times we have been there, the food has gone downhill. The bar is huge and if you like to try different beers, the selection is huge. There are TV's everywhere and it is a very lively and nicely decorated bar/restaurant. It's not a place you would want to go for a nice, quiet dinner. The prices aren't bad, but you can find better food for the price elsewhere. It's a shame because it could be so much better. I do like their Tavern Chips, which are homemade potato chips topped with bacon, scallions, cheese and BBQ sauce. It's usually busy, especially the bar, so it seems to be popular with many people. There is outdoor seating, but not much atmosphere as you are facing roads and other buildings. I wish they would improve the food and the menu could use some better selections as well.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Lively restaurant with a unique vibe.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Went here spur of the moment on NYE for dinner. It was our first time and we had an overall great experience. My family and I sat at the "Kings Table". What a unique restaurant experience! The atmosphere was fun and lively. I loved the décor; however, the servers' outfits were horrible. I don't know if it was just because it was NYE but some of the men wore kilts and the women bartenders and waitresses had on ugly matching outfits which was a shame because they were pretty girls! The special that the restaurant offered was AMAZING for the occasion. My dad and brother-and-law got it. It was a NYE special for two that consisted of 2 appetizers and 6 alcoholic drinks (anything except top shelf whiskey) for $50.00. My family LOVED the spicy shrimp and calamari as appetizers. It was dusted with breading and fried, so it wasn't heavy on the stomach. I tried the sauces and they were delicious. I am sure they complimented the food very well. For my dinner, I got the orange and cranberry salad (chicken came on it but I got it without). It was HUGE - definitely fresh. I absolutely LOVED the wine sampler they offered. PLT also offered a beer sampler too. The table shared the banana foster cheese cake...OMG it was OUT OF THIS WORLD!!! Definitely will revisit this restaurant in the future.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Park Lane Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Park Lane Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Lane Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.