We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“seafood and more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conch and Bucket

Conch and Bucket
13 East Queens Way, Hampton, VA 23669
(757) 864-0865
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 240 Restaurants in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“seafood and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015 NEW

A relaxing atmosphere and delicious food. Everyone was thrilled with their entree and no one left hungry! You can't go wrong eating at the Conch and Bucket.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    22
    8
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Worst restaurant experience of my life”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

Went here with some friends on a wednesday night for dinner, place did not appear to be busy- about half empty. It took us TWO HOURS to get our food from the time we placed our order until it was placed in front of us. Frankly, I'm disappointed in myself for not just walking out after the FIRST HOUR had elapsed without us receiving our food. no explanation (other than a vague "thanks for your patience, the kitchen is backed up" early on), terrible service- oh, our water was re-filled several times while we waited, I guess that was nice.

I've eaten at a lot of restaurants all over the world and this was without question the worst dinner experience of my life. They should have paid US for wasting our time. I've been in and out of tapas places in spain faster than what we experienced. The food? Eh, OK I guess but it tasted pretty crappy after having to wait TWO HOURS FOR OUR FOOD. Who did we piss off? I'm not sure? HORRIBLE HORRIBLE HORRIBLE HORRIBLE HORRIBLE. STAY AWAY FROM CONCH AND BUCKET. SPEND YOUR MONEY ELSEWHERE- THE STAFF IS NOT INTERESTED IN DOING THEIR JOBS AND SERVING YOU!

  • Visited April 2015
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Disappointing This Time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

We've eaten here several times before and enjoyed it, but for some reason most everything was a little off this visit. We arrived during happy hour and it was busy, but not packed. We had to ask the server why the happy hour specials were as it wasn't posted and she didn't give us a chance to reorder before happy hour ended. We asked for a Mojito, but she said the bar didn't have any mint, so they couldn't make one. Seriously? Then I asked for a Moscow Mule, which she wasn't sure they could make, but ended up being served in a glass, vice a copper mug. We ordered a bisque appetizer, but the bisque was lukewarm at best and had to be sent back to be reheated. Apparently that made the kitchen mad, since it took 35 min for our entrees to arrive and only after we asked our server where they were after watching multiethnic tables who arrived afterward be served before us. We had a Caesar salad that was good, although the plate was warm and when we asked for cracked pepper, the server seemed confused and finally located a small plastic grocery store style pepper grinder and handed it to us. I had the blackened tuna and the sever asked if medium rare was fine on the tuna, which I said it was, but it arrived unevenly cooked and only about a third of it was medium rare--the rest medium to medium well--dry and tough. Again, we've eaten here before and may give them another chance, but this dinner really made us wonder what had happened that they missed so many little things that would easily make us want to come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderfull Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

We have eaten here many times, always a pleasure. Food is fresh and cooked perfectly, easily one of the 2 best restaurants in Hampton and one of the best seafood restaurants in the state. Food menu is unique with a southern flair, you taste the fish/ meat but it is always complimented with a unexpected sauce. The Conch and Bucket is the go-to place to sit and talk with friends (there is music but it is not too loud), over a non-pretentious meal at a good price. Lots of great adult beverages and unique waitresses. Food is very reasonably priced for what you get.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth the stop.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

Nice atmosphere, knowledgeable and friendly staff, good beer and wine selection and the food is great. Nice choice of daily specials and must have the Conch Chowder.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Conch and Bucket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conch and Bucket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.