We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conch and Bucket

Conch and Bucket
13 East Queens Way, Hampton, VA 23669
(757) 864-0865
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 247 Restaurants in Hampton
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Orange, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Fantastic seafood, great setting, great location. We thoroughly enjoyed it, and wanted more! Try the fried fish sub, or the roasted trout. Great calamari!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    19
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Undiscovered Pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I met a business colleague here, and have to say the food was very good. Fresh seafood, well prepared, good wine selection, fabulous dessert and a very good waitress. We were there for dinner, and found it very satisfying. This street reminds me of Old Town Alexandria, etc. worth stopping for a good meal, priced moderately but appropriately.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unusual menu items, good portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Restaurant and bar. Large varitey of beers, unusual seafood dishes. Reasonable prices and decent portions.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance but food lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Wanted so much to like this restaurant and was excited to give it a try. Ambiance was nice for a couple of drinks and good conversation. On the other hand, food was eh and way overpriced. The bartenders were inconsistent with the drinks. Some folks got more than others in terms of the amount of their martinis. I think this is a good watering hole if you are at the bar and have the same bartender making all of your drinks. Stick to a sandwich and fries and do not venture off to far from a crabcake..

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

My Mother and I were in Hampton for a Quilt Show, she like to eat at the chain restaurants...I don't. The first night we ate at Outback and I had to send my meal back (they burnt the salmon that was ordered rare), so the second night I checked Trip Adviser for a suggestion. I found the Conch and Bucket. We had a fabulous meal. Our server was awesome and the wine....excellent. I hope to make it back there someday soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Conch and Bucket also viewed

 

Been to Conch and Bucket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conch and Bucket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.