We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“George was great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suburban Extended Stay Of Hampton

Suburban Extended Stay Of Hampton
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Suburban Extended Stay Of Hampton to your Saves list
Suburban Extended Stay Of Hampton
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1616 Hardy Cash Drive, Hampton, VA 23666   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Hampton, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“George was great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I would like to thank George for the customer service at the suburban extended stay George was great and was ready to help with anything that was need during my stay!!!!

I can not wait to stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marti R, Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Of Hampton, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am sure George will be happy to hear that he was able to assist in making your stay here a good one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    5
    10
    9
    7
See reviews for
10
6
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Just needed an overnight stay so didn't really want to pay to stay somewhere expensive...was given an early check in, the front desk representative (I believe her name was Takiyah) was great, made check in quick and easy. Room had a queen sized bed, partial stove top, microwave, refrigerator and freezer. Room was clean and comfortable, the shower was great. Only downfall is if you have a small child you don't have the option to give them a tub bath because it was a stand up shower only. They are in the process of upgrading the tv's in the rooms so some have older models while some have newer flat screens. Not all cable channels are accessible but I guess that would only become an issue if you were staying for an extended amount of time. Only issue was the fire alarm blaring in the morning. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marti R, Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Of Hampton, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Taa721,

Thank you for taking to time out of your day to write a review. We appreciate all feed back.

We are working on replacing all of our TV's and should have that task complete soon. In the spring we will have new furniture pieces in the room as well. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Marti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times and will recommend it to anybody. They have made my stay extremely comfortable and all staff has been accommodating. George has been there every time i have stayed there. He's super in his delivery with all guests. A great listener and very imformative. LaShonda has also went out of her way to be helpful always smiling and I'm very grateful to her for the computer assistance with the free wifi. The manager, Marti has always been available and helpful. She has a warm welcoming demeanor. I feel as a friend when speaking with her. Suburban has always been clean and orderly. The team that keeps the hotel together have always been really sweet. Maintenance was quick to show up when i put in request for my stove burner to be replaced. i didn't wait even ten minutes before he showed up. Great stay......Thank you......Susan M.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marti R, Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Of Hampton, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Susan,

Thank you for all your kind words, the team is always happy to hear when they are doing well.
Giving the very nature of the business , the hours are long and demanding. that is why it is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staffs efforts and take the time to say so.

Marti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I find it pretty hilarious that there are "excellent" reviews for this hotel. I don't know if they logged on and rated themselves or what, but they in no way match the experiences I have had at this place. I WOULD AVOID THIS PLACE, THERE ARE PLENTY OF OTHERS TO CHOOSE FROM IN THE AREA.

Here are a few highlights of my stay at the Suburban:

1) First off, I do have to agree that the staff is very friendly. That is completely true, they are very nice. That is where the list of positives end.

2) The front desk closes at 11 pm. Not a big deal, but if you are coming in late from out of town it is something to be aware of.

3) The rooms are terrible. Not only is the furniture & bed run down in general, Highlights have included: cabinet doors that were literally falling off of the cabinets when I arrived, furniture that was falling apart, rooms that absolutely wreaked of animals (it smelled like a wet dog was still living in my room - I don't know what they do with that $70 some dollar pet fee, but it is clear that they don't spend it doing a thorough clean of the rooms), clogged toilet when I checked in, leftover food in the room, subpar cookwear, etc. Truly, the smell of the room alone was just awful. The first time I stayed, I tried to air it out but it didn't help. I asked to switch room and before I even could explain why they said sure no problem - implying that they KNOW that the rooms smell terrible and that it happens so often that they don't even bat an eye when you ask to change. This shouldn't be the way it is.

4) Prostitutes around the hotel. If you are looking for that kind of thing, you may enjoy this place... but for me, this is not what I am looking for in a temporary residence. The staff knows about it and even laughed with me. I guess they don't see a problem with this...

There are tons of other hotels & extended stays in the area. Once I was able to negotiate a lower rate with one of them, I left the Suburban immediately. I would recommend looking elsewhere.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marti R, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Of Hampton, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
George S. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy to hear the staff treated you well. Being an extended stay hotel we do have limited office hours, however we do have the information posted explaining how to reach the after hours call service. When the office closes we also lock our doors thus allowing only quest with active room keys to enter the hotel after hours. I do apologize for having checked you in to a room that was below our standards. I assure you the issues you mentioned have been addressed by the maintenance and housekeeping staff. I am happy to hear that the front desk offered you the best customer service possible and changed your room without asking for an explanation. We do our best to accommodate all of our guest request with out question whenever we can.

General Manager
Marti R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I checked into this hotel this past Saturday and was knocked out by the smell of mold as soon as I opened the door to the room. We opened the window hoping for the smell to exit and it did not. There were dirty towels left in the bathroom floor and nails sticking out of what was supposed to the a night shelf between the beds. There were ants taking over the stairwell. We exited the building and let the front desk know about the problems. A refund was given through Travelocity so now I am happy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marti R, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Of Hampton, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
kmtaylo, thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to write a review. We value all feedback, it helps us to improve. I apologize that your stay was not up to par. I have made sure all the issue you mention have been addressed with the staff responsible for the issues. I assure you that if you give us another chance we will be able to make your stay a pleasant and affordable one. I am pleased to hear that we were able to refund you through Travelocity.

Thank you.
Marti R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

i stayed at the suburban extended stay from 8/23-8/25/13. the facilities were very clean and the staff were friendly and very helpful. george was on duty when i came in and he showed professionallism and courtesy. he answered all my questions and made me feel very welcomed at check in and during the stay, lashanda was also a big help to me when i had questions about the area and they both went beyond duty to make sure my stay was comfortable and clean. i,m from new jersey and would recommend this facility to family and friends. the staff was nice and i felt right at home ..thank you.

Room Tip: the king suite are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marti R, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Of Hampton, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Mr. Smith, Thank you for the kind words in your review. We strive to accommodate all our guest and offer the best customer service possible. The staff appreciates it tremendously when a guest take the time to write such a great review.

Thank you,
Marti R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during our son's AAU basketball tournament and loved it. The hotel was nice and clean and they provided fresh towels for our team everyday. George was great and cared for us like we were family. We travel with the team frequently and have never experienced such hospitality. The price, location and friendliness all added up to a great stay. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marti R, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Of Hampton, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Moniluv71, Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to write a review. We appreciate it anytime a guest gives us feedback. I helps us to know what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. George is great and I am happy he was able to offer you his best. We look forward to seeing you and the team again this year

Marti R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Suburban Extended Stay Of Hampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suburban Extended Stay Of Hampton

Address: 1616 Hardy Cash Drive, Hampton, VA 23666
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hampton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hampton
#6 Business Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Suburban Extended Stay Of Hampton 2*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Suburban Extended Stay Of Hampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suburban Extended Stay Of Hampton Hotel Hampton
Suburban Extended Stay Hampton
Extended Stay Hampton
Hampton Extended Stay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suburban Extended Stay Of Hampton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.