We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Fancy...Just ok.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Hampton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Hampton to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Hampton
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1925 Coliseum Drive, Hampton, VA 23666   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Roanoke, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nothing Fancy...Just ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I booked this room for a last minute getaway from July 3 thru July 6. Since we knew that this was an older hotel, we didnt expect anything fancy. What we did expect though was clean and on the surface thats exactly what we got. The beds were clean and comfy, the bathtub and sink wiped clean and the floor swept. Where the hotel fell short was on the floor behind the toilet. It was kind of gross!! The outside of the building needs some TLC. Again, its an older hotel so a new paint job and some flowers would do it wonders. Adding a groundskeeper or someone to clean up the parking lot each day to their payroll would also help to make it more inviting. The room does open up to the outside but that was not a problem for us as we were able to park right in front of our door. It made it easier bringing luggage in and out.

The people who work for this hotel are some of the nicest people you will meet. Everyone we talked to had a smile on their face and if we needed something all we had to do was ask.

This hotel is just an average hotel, nothing fancy but I would recommend it if you are in need of a place to lay your head at night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebony M, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hampton, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Hampton Coliseum & Conv. Ctr. Red Roof. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experiences our guests have at our hotels. Each and every staff member here at Red Roof Hampton takes pride in providing our guest with superior sevice. I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Positive guest feedback, like yours, is always an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    16
    15
    5
    20
See reviews for
15
12
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta Ga
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed here July 5-7
I'll admit that driving up to it, it did look a little sketchy, but please don't let this detour you. The rooms are very neat and clean.
The front desk staff was amazing, they were really nice. I had the king standard room which was small but it was just what I needed for the two days that I was there. I was able to see the inside of the superior king the lady was cleaning up and I looked in on the way to my room. It was slightly bigger and had a fridge and a microwave. So I will request that one the next time.
I payed like $150.00 for the two days which was great for it being a holiday weekend. When the other hotels were charging that per night.
I loved the fact that the hotel was right next to everything. Shopping and food.
The only thing I would suggest is that Red Roof do a total reno of the exterior of the building and do some landscaping and maybe put some flowers to make it look less run down and more welcoming like the surrounding hotels, but other than that. Its a great place to stay and I will be coming back. I'm all about clean rooms and I never walk around barefoot at hotels, but this one the floors were clean enough to and the bed was so comfortable, it had a great mattress better than mine at home, I slept really well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebony M, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hampton, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Hampton Coliseum & Conv. Ctr. Red Roof. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experiences our guests have at our hotels. I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. We have recently done some changing to our landscape and exterior painting of the property's common areas as well as walk ways. We look forward to seeing you back in the near future. Positive guest feedback, like yours, is always an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay in my room. I booked online for a superior king size bed and the check in was easy and quick. The room was exceptionally clean and comfortable. Nothing was out of place nor made me feel uncomfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebony M, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hampton, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Hampton Coliseum & Conv. Ctr. Red Roof. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experiences our guests have at our hotels. Positive guest feedback, like yours, is always an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again and we look forward to serving you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed here after a current storm and we lost power in Williamsburg. I was initially reluctant to stay at this Red Roof because it isn't in the nicest part of Hampton. I do, however, say that it did its job and served its purpose.

I needed a pet friendly hotel since I was with a 120 pound dog. The closest pet friendly hotel with power to my home was $120 plus tax for the night. This Red Roof was $57.99. Needless to say, this hotel was NOT the Greenbrier. But it was about average for what I expect for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebony M, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hampton, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Hampton Coliseum & Conv. Ctr. Red Roof. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experiences our guests have at our hotels. We are glad that you decided to give Red Roof Hampton an opportunity to take care of your lodging needs. We hope to see you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The rooms are newly remodeled but don't look like the pics they post. We had a king size bed and the room was VERY small, it had a stale, moldy smell to it. There is no refrigerator or microwave, the iron was a piece of crap and they only have a few irons available for the entire place and the A.C's filter may have needed to be replaced because my allergies were out of control. I coughed the entire time I was there. While we were checking in someone had checked in right before us they went to put there stuff in the room and immediately came back to the office and checked out and said something in the room is messing with her allergies. That should have bben my sign to check out as well. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebony M, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hampton, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Hampton Coliseum & Conv. Ctr. Red Roof. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please accept my sincerest apologies. We are now a 100% smoke free hotel which should cut down on any smell of smoke in the rooms. We also have several room types that come with microwaves and refrigerators which would be the deluxe and premium rooms. At Red Roof, we strive to provide every customer with superior service; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW HAVEN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The room was neat and for the most part clean. There was some tacky caulking jobs in the bathroom and the floor looked like it could have been cleaned better especially around the bathroom door. Otherwise it was a reasonable stay for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica L, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hampton, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive comments about your most recent stay with us. I am so glad that you enjoyed the look of our new rooms. Please let us know if we can serve your lodging needs again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at this location for a girls getaway weekend and were impressed with the newly remodeled rooms. Also Lia at the front desk offered excellent customer service by canceling another reservation instead of just telling me to call the 800 number. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica L, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hampton, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are so glad to hear that the "Girls Weekend" went well. I am happy that Lia was able to assist you with your reservation needs. We look forward to serving your lodging needs during your next "Girls Gettaway.
Thank you for sharing your experience with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Hampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Hampton

Address: 1925 Coliseum Drive, Hampton, VA 23666
Location: United States > Virginia > Hampton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Hampton 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Red Roof Inn, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Hampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Hampton Hotel Hampton
Hampton Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Hampton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.