We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sarah H. - Home away from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites - Hampton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites - Hampton to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites - Hampton
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Butler Farm Rd, Hampton, VA 23666   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Spartanburg, South Carolina
1 review
“Sarah H. - Home away from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

My sister and I came to Hampton, Va. for me to have proton radiation at the Hampton University Proton Institute. When I searched for a place to stay, we wanted handicap accessible, efficiency full kitchen rooms and a pet friendly place to stay for my 3-weeks of treatment. We arrived from South Carolina to be greeted by staff who were most helpful and always accommodating. If you want a "home away from home," this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the lake on the south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWSHPT, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Sarah H, thank you so much for your review! We appreciate you and your sister staying with us while here in Hampton, and we are thrilled to have provided you with such comfortable accommodations. I will pass your kind words on to the staff, and once again, thank you so much for your 5 star review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    23
    10
    5
    7
See reviews for
24
16
7
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

My only regret is taking this long to review an excellent facility that had all the comforts of home and a staff that made you feel welcome at every turn.

I stayed for 12 days in December, and it was the end of a two month road trip. Every aspect of the stay was perfect. The beds were fantastic, bathrooms roomy, flat screen television swiveled towards all areas of room. The bath towels were new, fluffy, and very comfortable on your skin.

The kitchen was well equipped with dishes, cutlery, and all the utensils you actually needed to cook a meal. The full size refrigerator was also a huge plus for me.

There was an incredible amount of work space so I could easily do all of my daily paperwork while eating dinner and having my computer open all at the same time.

Unfortunately, I got a horrible respiratory infection while I was staying there, and the in room recliner was the only thing that really saved me and allowed me to spend Christmas day bundled up and reclined in a position where I could easily breath and recover.

There is free washers & dryers, a small commissary for odds and ends if needed, and the ENTIRE facility was immaculate from top to bottom.

The best part about this particular facility is the incredible staff. The GM Dana was so gracious and professional, the OM Adam ran that facility with kindness and precision, and the front desk staff like Kaylee always greeted you by name with a smile on her face.

Each day as Christmas approached Kaylee wore a different outfit themed for the holidays and her natural cheer made up for the fact I was away from friends and family (see picture).

I can tell you one thing for sure after this trip. This is the only place I would stay in the Hampton, VA region, and it has converted me to a Candlewood Suites customer from "that other brand" who can not compete in the same league of extended stay lodging.

Room Tip: There actually is no on site restaurant, only a well stocked commissary. I used the 5 stars on rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWSHPT, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
William S, first and foremost, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a descriptive review. We are thrilled we have earned your business in the Hampton Roads area, and can't wait to have you back soon. We try to aim for all the comforts of home, and create a "family feel" experience with our guests. I will pass your compliments on to the staff, and thanks again for such a wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden, Switzerland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Although this charming place is hidden away along a tree-lined road, it is just what you need after a long day or night's up and down in this busy part of the east coast.

The people are welcoming, friendly, helpful and warm. Better than even a jaded road warrior could hope for. There is no restaurant, but the "Candlewood Cupboard" has everything you might want available on the honor system all day long. The rooms are large and fitted out with a full kitchen with all needed appliances for coffee, range top, full size refrigerator, microwave, utensils, pots, pans, etc. Prices in the C Cupboard are reasonable and you can get whatever you might desire. Restaurants are nearby, though you will need your own transportation. If not, the staff will cheerfully drop you off somewhere reasonably close by.

Love the place!!! So would anybody.

Room Tip: If you ask, they will place you close to the elevator, or adjacent to a vacant room so that you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWSHPT, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Mike M, thank you so much for taking the time to share your pleasurable experience with us! We appreciate your feedback, and we are ecstatic that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad you found the Suite to be properly equipped to make your stay more comfortable. We hope to see you again, if you find yourself out this way, and thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I have been a resident of Candlewood for a little over 3 months now. I decided to choose an extended stay play because I am still deciding wheter or not to make Hampton my perment home. The atmosphere, staff, and service is excellent. The room is great and very spacious. It has been a great experience staying here! The hotel has a mini store located downstairs where food and beverage can be purchased, as well as a workout area and a laundry facility that is open 24hrs. The guests can also rent movies downstairs in the lobby at their leisure. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, whether short of long term stay. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWSHPT, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear DanielMartinGreen, thanks so much for your review. We are so happy you are enjoying your extended stay with us. Our favorite part of running a extended stay hotel, is having the chance to really make it feel like home, whether you are here for 4 nights, 3 weeks, or 3 months. We appreciate you allowing us to be your temporary home, while you decide on your next move. Thanks again for your review, and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We loved everything about this place; off the highway so it was a quiet sleep, clean rooms, friendly staff, very pet friendly in an area you could walk your dog off the premises too, nice kitchen in the room to fix your own food, ample size room.

Room Tip: We had a room on the back side with a view of the pond. We loved watching the birds in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWSHPT, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Judi H, Thank you for taking time to give feedback of your stay, and I am so happy you enjoyed your experience here at Candlewood Suites! We do everything possible to make sure our guests, and their pets, are well taken care of. I am glad you enjoyed your lake side view, and we do hope to see you and your dog back again soon! Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The staff were all extremely courteous and helpful. Gave good local directions. Room was perfect for business travel, comfortable chair for large countertop work area, lots of plugs at counter top, not underneath where you have to crawl to get to them. The kitchen was nice.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWSHPT, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
MikePsy, thank you for your positive feedback of your recent stay with us. I am thrilled to see you enjoyed our suites. Time and thought went it to our renovations and I am glad they worked well for you. I will pass your compliments to the staff, they work hard to make sure every guest is satisfied with their experience here at Candlewood Suites. We hope to see you again soon, and thanks again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I had originally booked with another hotel but decided to stay at Candlewood instead. The staff were friendly and the rooms were very clean and spacious and being centrally located in the Hampton area next to pretty much every restauruant and bar, movie theater and Langley AFB did help as well.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWSHPT, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear CariCarl, thanks for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. I am glad to see you were impressed with the cleanliness of our suites and enjoyed the location to all the attractions here in Hampton. I hope we can accommodate you again when you return to the Hampton Roads area, and thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites - Hampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Hampton

Address: 401 Butler Farm Rd, Hampton, VA 23666
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hampton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hampton
#3 Business Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites - Hampton 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Renovated Guest rooms. Feel free to experience the Candlewood Suites Hampton, VA. Enjoy our extended stay hotel offering apartment like studio and one bedroom suites, similar to corporate housing. At this recently renovated hotel, enjoy our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection, fully equipped kitchens, free local calls, and stay connected via our free high-speed Internet access. Unwind in our complimentary fitness center while using our free guest laundry. Visit the Candlewood Cupboard, our on-site convenience store, and charge it to your room. We are a pet friendly hotel (fees apply). The hotel is convenient to numerous businesses, Langley AFB, Fort Monroe, NASA Research Center, Ft Eustis, Hampton Coliseum, Hampton University, Newport News Naval Base, and Hampton Convention Center. The hotel is 21 miles from Norfolk International Airport (ORF). US Armed Services and government employees are welcome at Candlewood Suites Hampton which always offers government per diem rates. Whether staying for business, pleasure, or relocation, the caring staff at the Candlewood Suites Hampton is ready to serve you! Consider us home while visiting Hampton Roads, Yorktown, Newport News, Williamsburg, Norfolk, and Suffolk, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Hampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Hampton Hotel Hampton
Candlewood Hampton
Hampton Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites - Hampton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.