We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT DOG FRIENDLY STAY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites - Hampton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites - Hampton to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites - Hampton
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Butler Farm Rd, Hampton, VA 23666   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Hampton
Mt. Pleasant, SC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“GREAT DOG FRIENDLY STAY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I selected this hotel because of the good reviews on Trip Advisor. It is hard to find a good place to stay with pets. This has been a good experience. So far I have been here 4 nights. Very clean, comfy bed, large room with updated furnishings. There is an ample area to walk the dogs around the property. The property is nicely kept. Across the street there is a side walk that you can use to walk the dogs as well. The staff has been very friendly. Hampton as a whole has some very scary areas, I feel safe here. I would stay here again.
No restaurant but snack foods are available.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWSHPT, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Barb S, thanks so much for your review! I am glad you were pleased with your experience. We love our furry guests and are glad they felt just as accomodated as you! We know it can be stressful traveling with pets, and we enjoy providing and friendly and welcoming environment for you, and your pets. We are thrilled to here we will be seeing you and the girls again, take care! Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    22
    10
    5
    7
See reviews for
21
16
7
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed 2 nights using loyalty points scheme. What a bargain! Great, friendly, helpful staff. Large, comfortable, clean and well equipped suites. Great for self caterers. Location a bit remote, but otherwise excellent experience

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWSHPT, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear jandlUK, thank you for your positive feedback! We appreciate you taking the time to give your thoughts of our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your visit, and made good use of your IHG Reward Points. I will pass your compliments on to the staff, and we hope to see you soon! Thanks again for your review, have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Surprisingly comfortable hotel, large rooms and friendly service. Nice full kitchen with cooktop. (this hotel does not serve breakfast, and there isn't much nearby, so plan on bringing your own). Love the gazebo area outside with gas grills and picnic table, perfect for our group so we can all meet for dinner without leaving our pets. We will definitely stay here again when in Hampton.

Room Tip: If you plan to use grill, gazebo area, I would request gazebo side as it was a pain carrying everyth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWSHPT, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear WithMyDog, thank you so much for your review of your experience here at Candlewood Suites Hampton. We aim to please, and I am glad we did so with you, and your furry travelers. I am glad you enjoyed the outdoor amenities like the gazebo and gas grills. We hope to see you again soon, if you find yourself in the Hampton Roads area. Thanks again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I used TripAdvisor and found that Candlewood Suites was rated very high so we stayed there. We where very happy with the room and the staff. We would stay here again.
Very large suite, this reminded me of timeshares we have rented, kitchen with dishes, pots and pans, silverware. Large living room with couch and chair and tv. Separate bedroom with a tv. Large bathroom, washers and dryers, exercise room, pantry with food items.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWSHPT, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Paul F, Thanks for your review of our hotel! We appreciate you taking the time to let us know that your stay was a 5 star rating. I am pleased to see you enjoyed everything with your room, and glad to see you'll be coming back to see us! Thanks again for your time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Preface: I am specifically speaking about Room 108 as I cannot speak for all of the rooms.

The moment you walk in the room, you get this odor stench of wet dog. If you can get past that, the room layout is nice, spacious, comfortable. It would have been nice to have a trashcan in the bathroom to dispose of my feminine products, and not have to place them in the trashcan in the kitchen which shares the same room as the bed (studio style).

All in all, I give them a 3/5. The reason they are not a 2/5 is because of one of the friendly staff members who went out of his way to lay a blanket on the ground outside as well as a bowl of water for this homeless dog. My friend said he told her he would be taking him to his place until an animal rescuer could come get him. Very generous, friendly man. Wish more people were like him.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear harrisce4,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is wonderful to know you appreciated the service you received from our staff. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs & expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with the room cleanliness. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Thank you again for your review and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I always read trip advisor before making travel decisions but have learned that sometimes you have to realize that some folks just can't be pleased! We stayed here over two weeks and it was outstanding! Service, staff, cleanliness, room set up---all perfect! The barbeque area is great for extended stay customers that want to cook here, as are the kitchenettes!!! They welcome and respect pets and pet owners, and the room prices are phenomenal which for a facility this nice, was the icing on the cake!!! My only suggestion, not a complaint, is the leather chair in our room. It's peeling everywhere and although I understand its a pet room and some ornery puppy probably had his way with it, it's tacky nonetheless in such a nice facility. We would recommend this hotel to family and friends!!! We would stay here again and will continue to look for Candlewood Suites in other locations when traveling!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWSHPT, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Kathy B, Thanks for all the compliments in your feedback! We aim to be #1 when it comes to guest satisfaction. I am so glad your 2 week stay here was so pleasant. I do apologize about the condition of the recliner in your room. We are in the process of replacing these with new, more durable chairs. Thank you for recommending us to your friends and family, and thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

The chair was ripped and there were stains on the bedroom wall. The room smelled like mildew and the carpet felt damp. The road sign was covered by overgrown bushes. The staff was friendly though. We had two separate rooms and both were unacceptable.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Triwat,

We sincerely thank you for your visit and for sparing your very valuable time to submit a feedback of your experience during the stay with us.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the negative experience you had with the room condition and the amenities. This is definitely not up to our standards as we always work hard to ensure that our facilities and services are superior. Kindly be assured that your comments will be looked into and actions will be taken where possible.

Your feedback is not only essential but is also a helpful tool to measure the level of service we extend to our guests and at the same time provides us with an opportunity to improve our standards. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites - Hampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Hampton

Address: 401 Butler Farm Rd, Hampton, VA 23666
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hampton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hampton
#2 Business Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites - Hampton 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Renovated Guest rooms. Feel free to experience the Candlewood Suites Hampton, VA. Enjoy our extended stay hotel offering apartment like studio and one bedroom suites, similar to corporate housing. At this recently renovated hotel, enjoy our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection, fully equipped kitchens, free local calls, and stay connected via our free high-speed Internet access. Unwind in our complimentary fitness center while using our free guest laundry. Visit the Candlewood Cupboard, our on-site convenience store, and charge it to your room. We are a pet friendly hotel (fees apply). The hotel is convenient to numerous businesses, Langley AFB, Fort Monroe, NASA Research Center, Ft Eustis, Hampton Coliseum, Hampton University, Newport News Naval Base, and Hampton Convention Center. The hotel is 21 miles from Norfolk International Airport (ORF). US Armed Services and government employees are welcome at Candlewood Suites Hampton which always offers government per diem rates. Whether staying for business, pleasure, or relocation, the caring staff at the Candlewood Suites Hampton is ready to serve you! Consider us home while visiting Hampton Roads, Yorktown, Newport News, Williamsburg, Norfolk, and Suffolk, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Hampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Hampton Hotel Hampton
Candlewood Hampton
Hampton Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites - Hampton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.