We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites - Hampton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites - Hampton to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites - Hampton
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Butler Farm Rd, Hampton, VA 23666   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Stephens City, VA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I travel all over the state for my job and this hotel was great. Had all the things I look for when I have to stay away from home, comfortable atmosphere, a nice little workout room, polite and friendly staff! So glad to have found a place I feel safe and comfortable when having to stay away from home!!! Since it's an extended stay hotel, there is a full size fridge and dishes/etc for your convenience. Will be back monthly until the end of 2012!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    23
    10
    5
    7
See reviews for
24
16
7
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grass Valley, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I had the opportunity to stay in this facility a few times over the past couple years and found their service, quality and facility consistently very good. The staff is always quick to respond to your needs and requests, often going above and beyond what is needed. I particularly appreciate the laundry facilities which makes the visit more comfortable. That housekeeping is provided once a week is not a problem for me. The hotel will provide you with clean towels upon request and frankly, I am capable of making my own bed. This facility does not provide the dining room experience which would make the place excellent. Business travelers, guests visiting the area and families with members at Sentera Hospital (2 miles distance) will find this facility an excellent value. I would stay here again should the need arise.

Room Tip: Be aware of the exercise/laundry/pantry room, especially if you are light sleeper or in need of quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

Good hotel if ou plan on going to Hampton. Housekeeping is only once a week but I do not like to get housekeeping everyday. The hotel is in a quiet area of Hampton with walking trails, but convenient to the convention center. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Nice cook-out area behind the hotel. The only issue I have with this hotel is that I think it is overpriced.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Victory
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We were planning to stay for 3 days at Hampton so we had found Candlewood Suites on tripadvisor. Our plans changed so we cancelled 2 of those days to go on to Williamsburg and found another location to stay. After we arrived at Candlewood Suites we wish we would have stayed there the whole time. It was the best hotel we have been in a long time. It was like home away from home. The staff was very courteous and friendly. We would stay there again and look for another Candlewood Suite wherever we go.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed at Candlewood for 8 nights. Very pleasing visit. The Cupboard prices are a bit excessive, but what you would expect for a hotel. Laundry site was free to use, very clean laundry room. Bring or buy a small amount of laundry detergent. $1.50 for soap per load. I was with 2 children (3 and 7) The room was just the right size for the three of us. 2 stovetop burners fit our needs for supper and lunch. The hotel was tucked away from the noise and hustle of Hampton Roads. It fit nicely surrounded by trees. Made for a very quiet stay. Hotel is just 3 min from the interstate. Staff was very helpful and mindful of all our needs. The were all polite, including the cleaning staff! A very pleasant visit. I expect that this is where I will choose to stay again when I visit Hampton Roads again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Me an my husband stayed for an extended period of time and was constantly dealing with the smell... We bought carpet fresh and all kinds of air fresher to be comfortable. The smell was extremely strong. There was no ventilation in the bathroom which made showiering very uncomfortable. The bathroom smelled ten times worst than the rest of the room. It was as if dogs stay in the bathroom without being walked. It was very VERY bad. We will never EVER recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Nola M,

Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay with us. Please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience the unusual odor of the room had caused you. I appreciate you bringing this concern to our attention. Rest assured, I will follow up with our maintenance department to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will consider us again on your future travels.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed at the Candlewood for three nights in August 2011. I had a series of work meetings in the area, while the rest of the family got a trip to the beach.

The service was great, our rooms were huge and well appointed, and the location can't be beat. It may be a bit hard to find, but this actually works in its favor. It is only a few minutes drive to anywhere, but is secluded and quiet. Great work; we'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites - Hampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Hampton

Address: 401 Butler Farm Rd, Hampton, VA 23666
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hampton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hampton
#3 Business Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites - Hampton 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Renovated Guest rooms. Feel free to experience the Candlewood Suites Hampton, VA. Enjoy our extended stay hotel offering apartment like studio and one bedroom suites, similar to corporate housing. At this recently renovated hotel, enjoy our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection, fully equipped kitchens, free local calls, and stay connected via our free high-speed Internet access. Unwind in our complimentary fitness center while using our free guest laundry. Visit the Candlewood Cupboard, our on-site convenience store, and charge it to your room. We are a pet friendly hotel (fees apply). The hotel is convenient to numerous businesses, Langley AFB, Fort Monroe, NASA Research Center, Ft Eustis, Hampton Coliseum, Hampton University, Newport News Naval Base, and Hampton Convention Center. The hotel is 21 miles from Norfolk International Airport (ORF). US Armed Services and government employees are welcome at Candlewood Suites Hampton which always offers government per diem rates. Whether staying for business, pleasure, or relocation, the caring staff at the Candlewood Suites Hampton is ready to serve you! Consider us home while visiting Hampton Roads, Yorktown, Newport News, Williamsburg, Norfolk, and Suffolk, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Hampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Hampton Hotel Hampton
Candlewood Hampton
Hampton Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites - Hampton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.