We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great romantic dinner.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bensi - CLOSED

Bensi
5101 Kilgore Avenue, Hampton, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Newport News, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great romantic dinner.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I really enjoy eating at Bensi. We always ask to be served by Sonic. He is a grat waiter.

I had Sea Bass with crab meat. My wife had Shrimp Francese. We had a Caprese salad to start. Everything was delicious.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    17
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice Italian Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Nice decorated restaurant in the Town Center. The food is good

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Went there for a birthday celebration”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

For the price of the entrees the food was marginal at best. The service was good and the place was beautiful, but I went there for the food. Being that I cook just about every day, and being from NY I was disappointed.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

The food was spot on. One oft favorite places to go out to eat at Town Center

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great service, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We arrived about 5:30 on a Saturday night and the only place they could seat us was outside. (We didn't have a reservation.) Our waiter was very good. Very attentive, considering how busy they were. I would have hugely preferred dining inside, but the rest of our party was anxious to eat so we took what we could get.

I ordered the Minestrone, (as did my husband) but they served us both the Pasta e Fagioli. We just ate what we were served. It was good, but not outstanding.

I had the cold antipasto for my entree. I was VERY pleased with it. Very nicely plated, tasted very, very good. My husband had a chicken and arugula dish that was good. My daughter had spaghetti and meatballs. The spaghetti was not fresh pasta, as I had expected considering the price of the menu and the obvious attempt to be Italian fine dining. Another member of our party had baked ziti and he was not very impressed. Another member of our party had salmon and she LOVED it.

Overall, I'd say make a reservation, sit inside, and order something other than pasta.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bensi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.