We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgruntled tour guide resulted in a 4/5 rating, otherwise it was a 5!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miss Hampton II Cruises

Miss Hampton II Cruises
710 Settlers Landing Rd., Hampton, VA 23669
+1 757-722-9102
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 Activities in Hampton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 3-hour tour of the Hampton Roads harbor includes Norfolk Naval Base, historic Civil War Island of Fort Wool, Chesapeake Bay, Fort Monroe, Old Point Comfort Lighthouse, battle site of the Monitor/Merrimac, and much more!
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disgruntled tour guide resulted in a 4/5 rating, otherwise it was a 5!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011 via mobile

We took the 10am tour yesterday on the Miss Hampton. Make sure you get a coupon or take advantage of their other discount opportunities. We found it to be a great value considering it is a three hour tour. The boat is very nice and has restrooms and snack bar with a good selection. The side trip to the Fort was an extra bonus that helped us pick this boat instead of the competition in Norfolk. We got to see a submarine come back into the naval base which was very interesting.
I would have given this tour a 5/5, but the tour guide for this trip was very vocal about the fact that he was not having a good day at work. He became upset when loading the boat as a large group that was suppose to board first did not have all of their party present. He was not happy about this and let a lot of the passengers know. On two different occasions he was telling the customers that he does not make the rules, and everyone gets mad at him when he has to announce them. The best way to describe his attitude on this particular day was "just plain bitter." his saving grace was that he was a wealth of knowledge and when he shared factual information it was very interesting. Maybe he was having a bad day as we all do, but working in the tourism industry he needs to keep this to himself and not let the paying customers know of his frustrations. This lost him a tip and a higher rating.
I would recommend this trip, as it was a good value and very interesting. Hopefully, the tour guide will be in a better mood and this was an isolated incident.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeGloucester_VA, General Manager at Miss Hampton II Cruises, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
We apologize for your experience with our tour guide. Over the past 23 years, we have tried to provide our guests with an informative and entertaining cruise experience of the Hampton Roads Harbor. Whether or not the tour guide was having a bad day, he still should have performed in a professional manner. Rest assured, he was strongly counseled!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    11
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
dekopps@aol.com
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“Great Harbor Tour Well Worth the Money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

My husband and I did this cruise on its first sailing after Hurricane Irene. The list price for the cruise is $22.50, but it is easy to find a $5 off coupon to apply to all members of your party. This makes it a very affordable touring option. The boat departs from a marina near the Virgnia Air and Space Museum. There is paid parking near the marina and free parking across from the Air and Space Museum.

The tour goes to the Norfolk naval base. We were able to see the air craft carrier Enterprise come back to dock after being taken out to sea for the hurricane. This was quite an impressive vessel and we were within 500 yards of it. Very Cool! Our narrator was a wealth of knowledge and the information flowed effortlessly.

We also tried to disembark on Fort Wool but because of damage to the pier during the hurricane, we were not allowed to go to shore. We swung past Fort Monroe and the former Chamberlin Hotel. The tour was 2 hours and 45 minutes because we did not get off the boat.

There is food on board - snacks, drinks, beer, wine, hot dogs and hamburgers.

The entire crew was wonderful and I would not hesistate to recommend this cruise!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great afternoon out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Other reviews are well justified - a great 3 hours tour - superb, knowledgeable and entertaining commentary from our guide - even if he did want a more effusive response than some customers felt up to (in the heat!). As we passed the naval base there were 2 nuclear carriers tiad up - unbeatable!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
105 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“The Best Three Hours of Our Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

We chose this cruise on the strength of previous reviews and we were certainly NOT disappointed. Having taken many other tours and cruises in our numerous travels we were extremely impressed with Herb,our guide, on the Miss Hampton II. He was the most well-informed tour guide we have ever had and his easy-going style and flawless presentation made the cruise perfect from the beginning to the end. If you get a chance, make sure to put this on your "to-do" list. It is well worth the cost! Don't forget to check out the coupon on the website.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Time well spent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Very informative. The guide was friendly and knowledgeable. Good view of the naval base including GHW Bush aircraft carrier, attack subs, and others. Good history of Monitor / Merrimack battle.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miss Hampton II Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Miss Hampton II Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miss Hampton II Cruises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.