We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entertainment and views with your food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Regatta Grille

Regatta Grille
700 Settlers Landing Road, Hampton, VA 23669
(757) 727-9700
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 247 Restaurants in Hampton
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Located in the Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Entertainment and views with your food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Chilling by the water, listening to live music on the stage next door, and eating seafood was the best. Seemed like we were in our hometown neighborhood!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
charlottesville, VA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best food in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

The food is superb and they will make every effort to accomodate every diet requirement.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Sunday brunch has gone from mediocre to terrible, which is sad given the excellent, friendly service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I have no idea what has happened. This is the only hotel in downtown Hampton, which although its brunch has never been great, it has been adequate. The restaurant is situated on the marina with beautiful views, bright sunny decor with equally sunny staff. There is plenty of convenient parking on the street or in the garage. The brunch has never been extravagant, reflected in its reasonable $9.95 price. However, in the past, it has been decent. On the day were were there, it was busy as the hotel was full. The buffet was completely barren. The staff was completely unable to keep to the buffet stocked. Any time a fresh dish came out, the buffet was mobbed with guests hoarding what little there was to go around. It was weird. Even the bread bin was decimated. Our darling server kept us filled with beverages, but there was nothing he could do about the LACK OF FOOD on the buffet. I only had a few rejected pieces of melon, the greasy dregs of potatoes and a scoop of scrambled eggs (the only plentiful menu item.) I am not a big fan of buffets, except for breakfast where it should be a no-brainer for even a mediocre kitchen. I love our downtown hotel and I want to see it do well. The restaurant was packed because it is the one of the only places downtown for guests to eat breakfast. I know they will have steady business from the hotel, but us locals would very much like to enjoy a decent, reasonably priced brunch as well. It is just so disappointing. I don't know what else to say except it is just sad.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“This review is for Oyster Alley, the outdoor cafe.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We enjoyed a really tasty oyster po-boy with capers and a special spicy sauce similar to a remoulade (the waitress was stumped on that when we asked) with onion rings and one with fries. The food was hot and fresh and very tasty. The waitstaff was attentive but not overbearing and left us to enjoy the sights and sounds of the marina behind it. They validate your parking ticket when you take the boat tour as well, so that saved a couple of dollars. Handicap access is from one end of the sidewalk only, so you should stay close to the building with a wheelchair and not get surprised at the stairs to the patio. Would go here again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Great Location, Fair Food, Understaffed, Beautiful Decor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Last visit was with a group and service was underwhelming. My salad with apples and walnuts was tasty and imaginative. Dinner rolls arrived late and without butter for most of meal. Waitress was very nice and very busy. Menu was varied and expensive. Views of Hampton harbor were very nice.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Regatta Grille also viewed

 

Been to Regatta Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regatta Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.