We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Hampton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Hampton to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Hampton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1917 Coliseum Drive, Hampton, VA 23666   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Naples, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Staff!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

There is good and bad at this hotel. First the bad... the windows are filthy (see picture) I could hardly see out, looks like they have never been cleaned... inside or out. HVAC was noisy. Internet was fair. But you must pay if you want "upgraded" internet. I also included a picture of "rot" around the door frame in the bathroom..... unacceptable. The Bistro is really good... very good, low cost food. Staff was great. As a frequent business traveler I can stay where I choose to stay and I try to stay where I can save money but have a pleasant stay. One more thing.... I want to see from all hotels what they are doing to save energy and protect the environment... I see a lot of wasted energy.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Hampton, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Laudan525,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the Guest Satisfaction Survey in regards to your recent stay at the Courtyard Hampton.

As a valued customer, we see that there is room for improvement based on your feedback. We saw the pictures and wanted to let you know that we are addressing these concerns immediately.

Please accept our apology for not meeting your expectations during your stay. As we strive to deliver a flawless guest experience, we would love to discuss your areas of concerns further. Whenever you have a moment, feel free to contact me directly at the phone number below so that we can continue to improve our hotel operations.

Kind Regards and Happy Holidays,

Mark B
General Manager
757-838-3300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    29
    17
    6
    5
See reviews for
17
16
6
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

I was in town for the Crab Crawlin 5k and Half Marathon. The entire weekend was a fantastic experience.

Room was clean and spacious and quiet. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. Parking was abundant. The hotel is very convenient to the Colesium for race day.

Hotel is close to many amenities.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Hampton, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear RunnerGirl1972,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Courtyard Hampton through the Guest Satisfaction Survey.

As a valued customer, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations.

Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!

Sincerely,

Mark B
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights while attending a conference at the nearby convention center. Could have walked to the conventions center but weather was a little uncertain so choose to drive. Easy check in and rooms are about what your would expect. My room faced the courtyard and had a small balcony with chairs and a table. One of the best things was that the free WIFI was great with a connection fast enough to stream Netflix on my laptop. There is an option to pay for upgraded speed but I didn't find it necessary.

Breakfast was provided free one morning and the conference provided it the next day so I didn't buy any food from the Bistro. It looked nice but can't provide any info there. They do have a touchscreen in the lobby that can help you find attractions, restaurants or other activities. You can print out details and directions if needed.

Room Tip: Courtyard facing rooms are probably a little quieter; the hotel is not that far from the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Hampton, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Dear Sean M,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Courtyard Hampton through the Guest Satisfaction Survey.

With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a valued customer, your feedback will be shared with the team to continue to inspire and motivate them to deliver exceptional customer service.

Thank you for staying at the Courtyard Hampton and we hope you choose to stay with us again whenever your travel needs bring you back to Hampton.

Sincerely,
MARK B
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014 via mobile

This is a standard Courtyard if you've ever stayed at one. I find Courtyards confusing because I don't understand why they exist, but that's another subject for another day. This hotel is good in most ways. My room was on the ground floor near the lobby. The room itself was in okay condition. I felt that the bathroom could have used some repairs. The threshold into the bathroom was broken and should be replaced. Also the tub area could use some attention as the caulking has begun to deteriorate. The rest of the room was in good order. The bed was quite nice and the room comfortable. Breakfast was good. I was told at check in that breakfast was included in my rate and it wasn't. I didn't get upset about it but if you are told the same just clarify the details. Overall, I would stay here again.

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Hampton, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Dear Jaitravel,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Courtyard Hampton with us.

As a valued customer, I was disappointed to hear about your experience in our dining outlet. With aspiration to always exceed guest expectations, we have unfortunately fallen short of this goal during your recent stay.

Your valued feedback highlighted a number of areas for improvement that I have since shared with our Bistro leadership team, who join me in offering their apologies for their team’s shortcomings.

Kind Regards,
Mark B
General Manager

Once again, thank you for providing feedback that will ultimately help improve our dining procedures and effectiveness. We hope you choose to stay with us again whenever your travels bring you back to Hampton so that we can provide you with a premium dining experience that not only meet, but exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014 via mobile

When we arrived, the sheets were dirty and had to be changed. The carpeting was ailed in places, but not horrible. Staff was nice . Had to ask for extra towels, but no big deal. Hot tub was closed because heater was broken, but it happens. We paid military rate. So not HUGE price. All in all, it was ok in a pinch. Probably will find somewhere different next time though.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Hampton, responded to this review, September 30, 2014
Dear tootiredtostudy,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Courtyard Hampton through the Guest Satisfaction Survey.

With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a valued customer, your feedback will be shared with the team to continue to inspire and motivate them to deliver exceptional customer service.

Unfortunately, our Spa (Hot Tub) was removed in 2012 and therefore is not part of our hotel.

Thank you for staying at the Courtyard Hampton and we hope you choose to stay with us again whenever your travel needs bring you back to Hampton.

Mark B
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

I travel to Hampton, VA for business about 4 times each year. Always stay at this Courtyard. Very clean, friendly staff and good food (although a bit pricey) at their Bistro. I highly recommend this hotel when visiting or passing through Hampton, VA

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher P, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Hampton, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave some feedback about your 4th return to Hampton; moreover, we are delighted that you have been served with consistency and great service. Our staff really does love having our guests stay with us, not just so that we can show off our amazing facilities, but we can also connect with our frequent visitors and create a relationship so you have your dedicated hotel when visiting the area. We will be looking forward for your next return to the area, so we can give you service so memorable. Thank you again for your kind words, and my staff will be so happy to see we have satisfied you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurmont, Maryland
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

My wife and I recently had the opportunity to stay here on our way to the Outer Banks for a weeks vacation. The hotel is located very close to the Hampton Coliseum with easy access off and on I-64. The hotel staff is wonderful, they show true southern hospitality in there welcoming you as well as when you leave, meaning that they truly enjoyed you being there. The rooms where clean and large, we had a king bed which was very comfortable, and also had a little patio area outside our room on the first floor facing the pool. The pool in the inside courtyard was excellent and inviting. The hotel grounds are very well kept and the hotel itself is located close to many dining venues, you don't have to go far to find many places to dine. I would highly recommend this location for anyone visiting the surrounding area or as in our case passing through to a final destination.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher P, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Hampton, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
I get goose bumps reading feedback like yours, as this is the kind of response that helps keep our staff working even harder to make your stays as pleasant as possible. Thank you so much for your kind words, and we are so happy that you enjoyed your week vacation; moreover, that you decided to spend it at the Courtyard in Hampton. We know we are doing something right when our guests, like you, take time to leave such detailed and helpful feedback about our hotel. We are eagerly waiting for your return, so we can give you that same warm, welcoming, and southern hospitality. Thank you again for leaving such wonderful feedback for all our future guests to read.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Hampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Hampton

Address: 1917 Coliseum Drive, Hampton, VA 23666
Location: United States > Virginia > Hampton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Hampton 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Hampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Hampton Hotel Hampton
Courtyard Hampton
Hampton Courtyard
Hampton Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Hampton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.