We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fine for a night or two” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Settlers Landing, Hampton, VA 23669   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 26 hotels in Hampton
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Just fine for a night or two”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My son had an athletic event in Hampton and we stayed just one night. It was fine, room was clean, they gave me an early check in, Free parking but only because garage entry is broken and has been for 2 years. The bed was super comfortable. Cute nautical decor, coffee and fridge in room, so so bathroom, a bit cramped and without a tub (in rm 412 anyway) .also breathtakingly poor lighting in the bathroom. How does anyone approve such bad lighting? Drapes were nice and room darkening but valance was ripped out of wall. Just a small fix, are they not aware of it? Looks like they don't care when they don't fix stuff like this or housekeeping doesn't report it. All in all I would stay again but bring a small mirror to put makeup on near the window! P.S. Regatta Grill restaurant in hotel forgettable except for the AMAZING crab chowder, don't miss it!

Room Tip: Ask for a Marina view, pretty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Danegirl100,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. We are delighted you found the bed super comfortable. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel.

Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Your feedback will be taken into consideration in our efforts to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    79
    51
    19
    27
See reviews for
67
64
17
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Paid $69 through priceline. Would really complain of I'd paid more. Even though rooms are very outdated, service was average at best. Housekeeper was all cleaning rooms at 7:00 pm. Vowed to leave at 7- don't blame her. May explain why the showers have mold in them. Is this hotel in trouble? Not a 3.5 star hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear tepowell,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the accommodations you received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We do appreciate your high score for Cleanliness. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made to ensure a more positive experience for you and our future guests.

Thank you again for your review, we hope to have the pleasure of having you as our guest again. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more successful, please don't hesitate to speak with a member of our staff.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

This hotel is great.

We went for their Valentine's day special which included champagne, and chocolates covered strawberries delivered to the room. We stayed on the 9th floor, which had a great view of the marina and Hampton U! And surrounding area. We live in the area, but still enjoyed it.

The room were spacious. The bed was very comfortable, and sheet clean. The bathroom was a little small and the shower's hot water pressure kind of sucked. The shower tile of the floor was really gross, so I put a towel over it to not see it. The TV was NOT digital and the channels were really snowy. The internet worked and was good.

The breakfast the next morning was complimentary and AWESOME!

Stay here if you want a nice room and good service.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

There was a big glob of soap or lotion on the bathroom wall.
And something sticky (gum?) on the side of the bed. Pretty disgusting. We had a big group at the hotel and some of my friends had to move to different rooms because the heat didn't work in several of the rooms.
This first morning they ran out of items at the omelet station because nobody had told the cook about a large group being at the hotel. Service was slow coming. Much better the second morning.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Petra0320,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Very nice location on the Marina, room are open and spacious. Could use some upgrades the decor in the rooms is tired. Would also recommend both microwave and frig in the rooms would be a real plus.
Excellent breakfast in the morning, staff is very friendly and helpful. Beware of the elevator in the parking garage, it is slow and smells.
the bar is over priced for both beer and cocktails. Serves to walk the two blocks to the local restaurants with knock your socks off menu including a awesome selection of microbrews.

Room Tip: ninth floor on the south side is a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This place was beautiful. Awesome view of the marina and the harbor and the price was excellent. It was under 100 a night at the time I stayed there and that's very good for a Crowne. Free parking, beautiful room. I'd definitely stay there again and probably will. Stay away from the restaurant for lunch or dinner...they can't cook. Nothing worse than biting into a half cooked shrimp.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofHamptonMarina, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Fallfireryan,

Thank you so much for writing a review regarding your most recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina. We appreciate your feedback and we take what you say to heart. What great things you said about us! I am disappointed in your thoughts of our restaurant, as we take pride in our newly designed menu, I am so disappointed that is wasn't up to par! I once again thank you for writing about the Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina and the next time you stay with us I would like you to contact me personally and I will make sure your food in our restaurant is flawless.

Thank you again - Bridget Hawks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

In addition to its beautiful location, Crowns Plaza Hampton Marina stands out as a place where you find the most friendly and courteous people in the business: Abiya and Latanya at the Front Desk! They are ALWAYS professional, friendly, courteous, and helpful! And they greet you with a beautiful smile!!

Room Tip: Top floor with view of the marina
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofHamptonMarina, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Autumn,

Thank you so much for writing a review on your most recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina. We appreciate the lovely things you said about Abiya and LaTonya. We do find them to be great employees! We hope to see you soon, thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina

Address: 700 Settlers Landing, Hampton, VA 23669
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 hotels in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between renowned Hampton University and the celebrated Virginia Air & Space Museum, our lodging is the only waterfront hotel in Hampton, VA. Our newly renovated guest rooms provide floor to ceiling views of downtown Hampton or the Hampton River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina Hotel Hampton
Hampton Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.