We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Front Desk Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Settlers Landing, Hampton, VA 23669   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Newport News, Virginia
1 review
“Excellent Front Desk Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I was very impressed by the professionalism displayed by Tawanna as I waited at in line for check-in. Tawanna was the only person working the front desk and she managed to smile and be gracious while assisting two people in front of me checking-in and at the same time, the phone constantly rang and she answered. Again her service to customers on the phone and in person was a grant show to watch. She maintained a smile and good attitude at all times and her comments to us when checking us in made us feel that we was her main focus. She did a great job and truly belongs in customer service. Now on to a small issue, the hotel's location is great but the hotel could use a little renovation to the bathrooms. They ran out of face towels and gave us oversized hand towels for use.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melvin N, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, November 8, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear you found our hotel to offer excellent front desk service!
We look forward to your next visit. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    93
    55
    23
    29
See reviews for
75
76
19
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed at the Crown Plaza two weeks ago and I just wanted to say that the hotel was great!! Very nice view. People at the bar where very out going and made great drinks!!! I did have a problem with my head that was taken fixed.. The guy at the front Desk, I think his name was Anthony. This guy Was everything you wanted when you checked into a hotel. Funny,Knowledgeable, and very very kind. My 86 year old mothers shoe came untied and she was having a hard time with it. Anthony came from behind the desk and retied it for her! It doesn’t get any better then that!! We need more people like him in this world!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melvin N, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, November 8, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are happy to hear you had your best stay!
We will be sure to share your review with our staff. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Destiny at the front desk was very kind and attentive to all of my needs at the hotel the other evening. She always goes the extra mile. I frequent the hotel often and Destiny is always kind, calm, and attentive to me. She spoke to me every time I came into the hotel. She deserves to be in serious leadership wherever she goes. On a scale of 1 to 10, I would give her a 10.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melvin N, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, November 8, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We will be sure to share your comments with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel is very nice. The room I stayed in was very clean and nicely decorated. What made this hotel so special for me was the employees. I was always greeted with a smile and a nice greeting. The registration staff were all great. One early morning I was up due to jet lag. Bernie Klein, the night registration person, was extremely polite and he offered me a cup of coffee. He made me feel like part of the "hotel family" and it was just an overall great experience. I will not hesitate to return to this hotel. The management cares, and it shows.

Room Tip: I was on the 8th floor and it was non-smoking, quiet and had a great view of the Hampton Marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melvin N, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, November 8, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear you had a good stay.
We look forward to your next visit. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Hills, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We haven't stayed yet, we will write a review after that. :-) However, after reading reviews and booking our room (in reverse order) We were a little nervous. So I called the hotel and spoke with Amanda. I had SUCH a great experience. I expressed my concerns, after reading reviews and Amanda was very reassuring and also confirmed the details that we wanted. This is a positive start and I wanted to compliment Amanda for making us feel a little more comfortable about our upcoming stay. We will now come with an open mind, prepared to enjoy the experience. Good customer service is so rare, so thank you Amanda!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melvin N, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, November 8, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel and for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. We appreciate your comments about our hotel . We will be sure to share your review with our team. Thank you .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake City, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Upon arrival at the Hampton Crown plaza I was informed my reservation didn't exist. Having booked this through Expedia it really didn't surprise me at all. The front desk staff was more than helpful trying to find my reservation. They took the time to search all the possibilities my reservation could be listed under and they found out Expedia listed it under my middle name instead of my last name.
The room was very nice and very clean and the floor to ceiling windows allow for some great views of the marina. The nautical decor of the hotel is really rich and classy. I will definitely be staying here when I'm back in town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melvin N, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, November 8, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear you found our staff to be courteous, helpful and friendly.
We look forward to your next visit. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorktown, va
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I had the pleasure of dealing with the staff of the Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina for about 1 1/2 months prior to January 12, 2013. I was desperately trying to find a place to hold a retirement dinner. With no budget for this, and minimal employees donating I was so excited when the F&B/ or restaurant Mgr said they could help us! They arranged a beautiful, delicious, very affordable dinner for our 80 guests. They set up a beautiful room for us and catered to our every need. They offered a wonderful group ROOM rate, which my husband and I took advantage of. The room was very well appointed with a beautiful view of the marina. Everything was clean. Flat screen TV, updated room. I would like to mention the names of Cecible--I wish I knew her last name..but she was the nicest person. Mr Kevin Wade, Nettie and Tuwana were others that I delt with that were the BEST!! They all worked so very hard to help us. I just want to say THANKS AGAIN !!! You made our group's evening extra special!! Sincerely, Cathy Redmond

Room Tip: Every room I have ever stayed at here is great!! They even upgraded us to a suite once and it was f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Elizabeth C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Ms. Redmond,

Thank you so much for sharing the wonderful experience you had with our Crowne Plaza Hotel. My team had informed me of your original reservation for our restaurant for a much smaller group and I was pleased that you allowed us to move your guests into our ballroom because your guest list grew so much from your original count. By you allowing us to do that I feel that we were able to make your guests more comfortable. Thank you for acknowledging the staff that went above and beyond to ensure the success of your event. I know this was a special night for you and your guests and I am glad that we were able to give you warm and happy memories. Please remember us for any future events you may have!

Regards,
Mary Elizabeth Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina

Address: 700 Settlers Landing, Hampton, VA 23669
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between renowned Hampton University and the celebrated Virginia Air & Space Museum, our lodging is the only waterfront hotel in Hampton, VA. Our newly renovated guest rooms provide floor to ceiling views of downtown Hampton or the Hampton River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina Hotel Hampton
Hampton Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.