We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Great View, Friendly Bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Settlers Landing, Hampton, VA 23669   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Hampton
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good Location, Great View, Friendly Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed at Crowne Plaza on the Hamption Marina while on the business trip. Comfortable hoteel with a reasonable rate. Nice room with lots of space, desk and very neat view of the Hampton Marina. The hotel bar has a nautical theme, well run and with a nuatical atmospher (big surprize given the location but very well done). Breaffast was included in my room package and was nice with a chaoice of buffet or you could order eggs as you like them. Again a great view of the harbor. Nice "put you at ease " hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Elizabeth C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Virginia Rambler:

Thank you for sharing such nice comments about your stay with us here at the Crowne Plaza. I am glad that you were able to enjoy the breakfast room package as it is very popular with our guests. I hope that you choose to come and visit us again in the near future!

Happy Holidays!

Mary Elizabeth Collins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    88
    54
    20
    28
See reviews for
71
69
19
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

There are advantages to checking in late in the evening, as I was upgraded to a room with a marina view! It was lovely looking out to the water at night time and just as enjoyable with morning coffee. Free parking, very friendly staff, and a super comfortable bed made this a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Elizabeth C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to offer such a nice review about our hotel. I am happy to hear that you were pleased with everything from the great view of our marina as well as our friendly staff. I hope you come back to visit us again soon!

Regards,
Mary Elizabeth Collins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We found this hotel to be very nice and convenient to the Hampton Coliseum. The staff was very friendly and helpful in informing us about local restaurants. The room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable!!!! I would love to see this hotel have an indoor pool to use all year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Elizabeth C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Sheshe,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about our hotel. I am glad that our staff was able to assist you and offer some great suggestions about Hampton. The coliseum does a whole variety of shows, so if you are ever back in the area for another show, hopefully you will visit with us again.

Regards,
Mary Elizabeth Collins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The entire experience was nice. They check in was nice, the room was nice, the staff were nice, the parking was plentiful, the location was nice. It was very nice. We were on a floor that was marked no smoking, but we smelled smoke in the halls. Once we got inside the room - nice!

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor, the difference between the room with the view of the marina and a regular room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Elizabeth C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Necola,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina hotel. I am glad that you offered the tip of reserving a room with a view because the view is awesome! Personally, I enjoy having the marina right out our back door! It just makes for a great backdrop for our downtown area of Hampton!

If you are in the area again, I hope you will choose to stay with us again!

Regards,
Mary Elizabeth Collins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night w/ another couple. We arrived late(after 10pm) and asked if we could have a marina view room if any were available. We were told that they had some available but b/c we booked from a 3rd party site they could not let us stay in one. We travel quite a bit and understand that they could have upgraded us if they wanted to b/c it was so late. We did point this out but were still given a city view room. The lady at the front desk was pleasant but we knew from this experience the staff at this hotel were not going to go above and beyond to make you feel welcome. They were pleasant but that's all you get.

Room: The bed was hard and not that comfortable. The decor and room was dated. You can definitely see the wear and tear in the rooms. However, for one night it was fine.

I would stay here again if I was in the area but I would not pay full price for the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Elizabeth C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear BriaNicole:

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina. I am glad that you shared your feedback about the check in experience. I have shared your feedback with our front office team in an effort to prevent this from happening again. We do try to offer updgrades when the hotel is not sold out simply to show our guests that we value them and appreciate them for staying with us.

I do hope that you choose to visit us again in the near future!

Regards,
Mary Elizabeth Collins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Maryland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Spent two nights here while visiting the city docks. close to virginia air and space which is worth seeing. nice town for walking. breakfast and dinner were great. staff friendly. would stay there again. bar was good also. sort of quiet off season.

Room Tip: marina view but cost a bit more
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Elizabeth C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Tom S.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and your visit to Hampton. I must agree that it is defintely quiet here in the off season and yet it does give you a chance to still explore and appreciate the history of our downtown Hampton area which features the Air & Space Center along with some great restaurants and quaint shops.

Please feel free to visit with us again on your next trip to Hampton.

Regards,
Mary Elizabeth Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ozark, Missouri, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My wife and I were on a 2600 mile road trip from Missouri to the east coast. It was late in the day before we arrived at your Hotel to attempt to reserve a room. We always enjoy a hotel that is located near the water. Jaimee at the front desk was very helpful finding a vacancy at the last minute due to a cancellation. This resulted in an excellent experience staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Elizabeth C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
To Our East Coast Bound Traveler:

Thank you for taking the time to share your most positive experience at our beautiful Crowne Plaza oin the Marina. I too love traveling and staying at places on the water and the marina view is definitely gorgeous on nice sunny days! I hope that if you are ever back here in the Hampton area that you will visit with us again!

Safe travels as you continue on your east coast journey!

Regards,
Mary Elizabeth Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina

Address: 700 Settlers Landing, Hampton, VA 23669
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between renowned Hampton University and the celebrated Virginia Air & Space Museum, our lodging is the only waterfront hotel in Hampton, VA. Our newly renovated guest rooms provide floor to ceiling views of downtown Hampton or the Hampton River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina Hotel Hampton
Hampton Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.