We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In town for KHS Reunion” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Settlers Landing, Hampton, VA 23669   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 26 hotels in Hampton
Lorton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“In town for KHS Reunion”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed here two nights to attend my KHS reunion. The hotel is in need of some renovation most noticeably in the elevators. I was given misinformation at check-in and did not get my breakfast coupons. While the location and views are nice, the price and amenities do not measure up. I think if I were to go back I would stay elsewhere. I did enjoy being able to see the carousel that reminds me so much of my childhood and has to be one of the most beautiful I have ever seen. The wait staff at the outdoor restaurant were very helpful. There is no direct access from the hotel to the restaurant and it was in the middle of a significant storm. My waitress went around and opened the emergency door to allow me inside without walking out in the heavy rain. The room was also very warm and the air conditioning did not see to help.

Room Tip: I asked for a room with a view and it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Elizabeth C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our Crowne Plaza hotel. I am sorry that not everything measured up to your expectations. Our hotel is the only hotel in Hampton that is situated at the marina and can provide our guest with breath taking views. The staff and I do strive to exceed the expecations of our guests and apologize the shortfalls you experienced. Hopefully, you will give us another chance if you are back in the area.

Regards,
Mary Elizabeth Collins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    79
    47
    18
    27
See reviews for
63
64
17
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Very nice hotel. Staff is very professional & efficient. I would definitely stay here again. Also, would recommend to friends and family. One particular staff member was very helpful to my family and I. Her name is Tawanne Crowell.

Room Tip: You want a room over looking the bay. Great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Elizabeth C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Elimu:

What fabulous feedback you have chosen to share about our fine hotel at the Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina! I know that the staff always is thrilled when they get recognized by name on Trip Advisor. I am glad that you had a very pleasant stay with us and hope you return to see us again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mary Elizabeth Collins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason City, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My wife and I booked this hotel for our vacation and 30th anniversay. We stayed at this hotel for 7 days and had a great time. The room was wonderful with an awesome view. The hotel staff were a friendly and very helpful. I would not have second thoughts staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with a marina view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Fair hotel. Room was outdated and shabby. Bathroom sink would not drain. Glass shower door would not stay on track. Bed was so soft we had hard time sleeping. Water out of sink faucet was always warm, no matter what temp you wanted. No micro fridge-something I expect at this price range. Lousy set ups for coffee. After second day had consistant problems with house keeping- not showing up, not re-stocking coffee. Breakfast buffer (NOT included) was horrible. Free parking was nice. Overall, this hotel is way too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Katmatt_12,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I'm pleased you were happy about the free parking. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us due to the issues you had with your room accommodation and services you received. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Took the family to visit friends in the area. Nice hotel, clean rooms and friendly staff.

Only downsides would be that the hotel was packed and only one elevator seemed to be working - and that there was a scene at the bar/restaurant, but that appeared to have far more to do with the patron than the staff.

Overall nice stay and great location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is an excellent Crowne Plaza, well located for the Hampton Road area and good communications for Williamsburg/Jamestown. As Priority Club members we were provided with free breakfast and got an excellent room on the top floor overlooking the harbour. The Oyster Bar (part of the hotel) was lovely in the evening with good value food, friendly service and live music on Wednesday night. Staff were excellent throughout.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

The hotel itself was a regular Crown Plaza but we were in Hampton for a basketball tournament and my son has Celiac Disease and can not eat gluten. Chef Wade had a clean pan for us and special made my son's meals. The wait staff were also aware and took extra care of us. Its so hard to travel with dietary constraints, many thanks to the Chef Wade and staff!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Ellen S,

Thank you for your kind words. I will pass the compliment on to Chef Kevin and his staff! We appreciate your business!!

Warmest Regards,

Jeffrey Fork
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina

Address: 700 Settlers Landing, Hampton, VA 23669
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 hotels in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between renowned Hampton University and the celebrated Virginia Air & Space Museum, our lodging is the only waterfront hotel in Hampton, VA. Our newly renovated guest rooms provide floor to ceiling views of downtown Hampton or the Hampton River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina Hotel Hampton
Hampton Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.