We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost and found???” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Settlers Landing, Hampton, VA 23669   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Newport News, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lost and found???”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We left our camera in our room and are giving the hotel a $300.00 reward in hopes it will "show up" Will let you know what happpens! So far no return call from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_DePiro, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Mr. O thank you for utilizing Trip Advisor. We spoke yesterday on 09/13/11 and you did not make any mention of a camera missing. I will have my Director of Rooms contact you today. My apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    98
    60
    23
    32
See reviews for
78
81
20
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at your hotel for Bay Days. When we arrived, the check in was easy and fast! When we got to our room the AC was not working and Paul quickly took care of us and moved us to a different room. We also didn't have a working ice maker on our floor but Orlando took care of us and brought ice to our room! We were so pleased with the level of service that your staff provided us. We most definitely will return for another visit. It's so refreshing to stay in a hotel that is so inviting and the staff so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_DePiro, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank you for posting your experience. Our ice machines do have difficulty keeping up with the demand on Bay Days Weekend. We do offer free pre-packaged ice bags filled with ice to all guests who request them over the Bay Days and Blackbeard weekend events. Half of our ice machines are new, however; they are frequently utilized in filling large beverage coolers during these weekend festival events. Sorry you had difficulty with the AC. We are certainly elated that you enjoyed our service, found the hotel to be refreshing, and that you will be returning. We look forward to your return and appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Had a great stay at the Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina Hotel. The staff were wonderful Jessica, Richard ,and Tawana especially. I ran into the GM and he was very welcoming. Food is excellant and I will be returning. Great marina view rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_DePiro, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We have an outstanding team. Your comments will be passed along and celebrated with Jessica, Richard, and Tawanna. I certainly appreciate your comments as well. Thank you for also making mention that you found our food to be excellent. This will certainly please our Chef and his culinary team. We are excited that you will be returning and we will certainly help facilitate many more memorable stays when your travels take you back to the Hampton Virginia waterfront.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorton, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We found the service excellent particulally at checkin. The room had a great view.
We enjoyed walking along the water front and around Miller's point. and under the bridge.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_DePiro, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Thank you for your response. We are very appreciative that you felt our service at the Front Desk was excellent and that you enjoyed the Marina’s views around the property. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

This hotel was terrible and not worthe money. They falsly advertised to everyone who reserved a room that their generator would support the hotel. We spent all night with no lights, tv( no one in the hotel could find out what Hurricane Irene was doing), ac or elevator usage. I know that some may say well you can do without the elevators. Well that would be right, however, there were a lot of guests there who had been evacuated from their homes that had major health issues and came to this hotel with the promise by staff that no one room or guest would do without anything. They didn't keep wet floors dry so there a few injuries. One woman fell and severly sprained her ankle as well as a few torn ligiments. The "Director Of Rooms" informed her when the incident was reported, " that if she hadn't been going out a clearly marked emergency door that she wouldn't have gotten hurt." The sad part is this since the elevators were not working, you had to use the stairs to get to your room; the only way to these stairs is to go outside to an emergency exit door to another emergency exit door that leads to the stairs, then to whichever floor to are on, then guess what.... that's right you go through another emergency exit door. This "Director Of Rooms" was very rude and cruel to this woman and her family. They didn't offer any assistance other than one smaller employee to hel carry this woman to the 5th floor where her room was. The same woman's husband even braved the Hurricane to go home and get their personal generator and gas jug so that way the other hotel guests could find out the latest weather updates on Hurricane Irene. The hotel didn't even thank these people nor did they offer to reimburse them for anything. Know tell me what kind of service is that and correct me if I am wrong, but I thought a Hurricane was considered an "EMERGENCY!!??"

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_DePiro, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. The hotel does have a generator. The generator provides the essential services to keep people safe. As the hurricane winds blew water in from the Marina, the staff continually mopped up the water on the floors. We regret the fact that a woman fell. My staff asked the woman who slipped if she wanted to go to the hospital and she declined. Safety is the upmost priority at the Crowne Plaza Hampton Mariana. Every operational manager along with nearly 20-employees volunteered to stay on property overnight to try and mitigate the effects of Hurricane Irene. Some of our employees didn’t see their families for nearly 72-hours. I am proud of our team and how they handled the effects of the storm. I will conduct an investigation with our Director of Rooms who I can assure you has only the best intentions. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to have you back; so you can see the true dedication and commitment of our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Nice size rooms, clean hotel and corteous staff.
Parking included.
Conveniently located in Downtown Hampton, across the street from the Air Museum and overlooking the marina

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_DePiro, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. It gives our staff a great sense of pride when they receive comments about their commitment to cleanliness and customer service. We’re glad that you enjoyed the property and its location. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for a conference in mid August, and due to the fact that I am in the hospitality industry, normally have pretty high expectations. I am pleased to stay that check in was flawless, the staff are just extremely friendly and helpful. I had half a dozen local-area questions that were answered easily and with patience! My room had a marina view, as I had reserved this room type, for obvious reasons - the views are amazing. My room was attractive, with a very comfortable bed, plenty of space, and great shower in the bathroom. The Wolfgang Puck coffee is wonderful, and I had no complaints about my stay whatsoever and would gladly stay here again. The staff are really what made my visit memorable, but my room was certainly a quiet haven in which to work and rest, and really that is the most important aspect of ANY hotel stay.

Room Tip: Choose a marina view room if available, to get the best experience of this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_DePiro, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Thank you so much for your feedback. We value each and every guest's opinion but when a hotelier recognizes dedicated service it goes a really long way. Again, thank you for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina

Address: 700 Settlers Landing, Hampton, VA 23669
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between renowned Hampton University and the celebrated Virginia Air & Space Museum, our lodging is the only waterfront hotel in Hampton, VA. Our newly renovated guest rooms provide floor to ceiling views of downtown Hampton or the Hampton River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina Hotel Hampton
Hampton Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.