We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay at Days Inn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Hampton

Save Saved
You added Days Inn Hampton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Hampton
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1918 Coliseum Drive, Hampton, VA 23666   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 26 hotels in Hampton
Washington
1 review
“My stay at Days Inn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I honestly was not pleased with my stay, for the price that I paid to me was a rip off. I don't think I will ever stay at this hotel again. I called ahead to reserve a room with a king sized bed, but when I got there after traveling over 160 miles away, only to be told I had to take a room with double beds. This was suppose to have been a romantic weekend get away for my husband to be & myself & it turned out to be a disaster. The breakfast bar OMG, I enjoyed Mc Donald's breakfast better. I will never visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dihva, Manager at Days Inn Hampton, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Alicia W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. It was unfortunate to hear you did not find our breakfast or your room accommodations to your satisfaction. We will be sure to share your feedback with our team. Sometimes when it is busy it is hard to meet each request, but we tried to fulfill you wishes with the same room type just a double bed. We do apologize that your stay here with us was not to your expectations. Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again soon for your next visit to Hampton!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    55
    75
    63
    57
See reviews for
101
35
33
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My sister booked a room for the two of us for Hampton's Homecoming as all the other hotels were booked by the time she made reservations. We arrive at the Days Inn at 2:30 am Saturday morning after a long drive from NYC. First red flag: as we pull into the parking lot, a young man is walking back and forth along the premises (pants hanging off his behind) looking around. Second red flag: We interact with the front desk thru a "drive-thru" like window. Regardless of check-in time, I've always entered a hotel lobby & spoken to staff directly. If you need a "drive-thru" type window for night check-ins (as the sign on the door clearly states), something is not right. We asked the front desk clerk if the hotel is safe, he says yes. Third red flag: as we make our way to our room, we pass a shady looking couple with a pit-bull standing in between two cars. Fourth red flag: the room looked like you'd get a staff infection just sitting in the chair. Mind you, the beds were made, etc., but the room just looked off. I was not getting out of my clothes or sleeping on the bed, let alone showering there. We stayed a total of 10 minutes before my sister was able to get a room at the Marriott that was available due to cancellations. Before we left the room, we saw the same gentleman that was pacing along the parking lot,now pacing around the back of the hotel. When we told the desk clerk we were leaving because we didn't feel safe, etc., he said ok & we would not be charged the standard 1-night rate charge you usually incur once you receive hotel keys. It seemed to us that he was used to this happening.

We drove across the street to the Marriott and it felt like we'd left hell and entered heaven. We walked into a hotel lobby and were greeted by the front desk clerk, given the key card to a room with plush carpet, wonderful bedding, immaculate bathroom-the amenities every paying hotel traveler deserves.

When my sister informed her friend who was also in town for Hampton's Homecoming that we'd switched hotels she was so happy as her friend who lives in the area told her to check on us if we're at the Days Inn as it is a known drug spot!!! We were not surprised!! All the red flags eluded to this.

Room Tip: Go across the street to the Marriott
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is a reasonable place to stay that's near Hampton University. It's also right near lots of restaurants and stores. It was clean with pleasant staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dihva, Manager at Days Inn Hampton, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Veronica B,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review! We are glad you enjoyed our staff along with our location to local area attractions. We hope to see you again soon for your next stay in Hampton, Virginia!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Days Inn Hampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Hampton

Address: 1918 Coliseum Drive, Hampton, VA 23666
Location: United States > Virginia > Hampton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 hotels in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Hampton 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Days Inn Hampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Hampton Hotel Hampton
Hampton Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Hampton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.