We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but had some issues” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1813 West Mercury Boulevard, Hampton, VA 23666 (Formerly Quality Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but had some issues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The hotel was nice and had been recently updated. Our room was spacious and comfortable. There were several issues, however. When we checked in, I wanted to take a shower before heading out for our dinner reservations. When I turned on the shower, the knob came off and water started spraying everywhere. Hotel staff responded immeadiately and couldn't get the water off. It took them about an hour to fix the shower and mop up the water that had flooded the floor. While they responded promptly, we were an hour late for our dinner reservations and they staff seemed frustrated that they were having to fix the old plumbing. The second issue came that evening when we returned from dinner to find 4 police officers at the hotel. There were issues with one of the guests staying there that they were deescalating. We thought that it wasn't much of an issue, as you can't control who stays at your hotel, but then, around 2am, a commotion outside of our room resulted in hearing the hotel manager outside on the phone with police stating that they needed to get there ASAP. It didn't leave us feeling very safe and no explanation was given.

While the hotel is nice, there is obviously some issues with the area. I'd be aware of that when staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear georgifisher,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are glad you found your room to be spacious and comfortable. We would like to apologize for the experience you had with your in-room shower that did not live up to your expectations. We also apologize for the challenges you had with the on-going situation during your stay. Guest comfort and safety are of the utmost concern to us and our hotels are committed to making every possible effort to provide a secure environment. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    53
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
53
23
13
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We read the tripadvisor reviews carefully because there are many hotel choices in the area. The Holiday Inn was an excellent choice for our family of four. The hotel was completely renovated exactly a year ago. How go we know? They were serving (delicious) birthday cake in the lobby- along with noise makers and party hats. Our children LOVED this. The renovation still looked fresh. Our room was nice and clean with an A/C unit that kept the room as cold as we wanted it despite the 95 degree heat outdoors. Other reviews mentioned how friendly the staff was. The people we met at check-in were very pleasant and were really on the ball as they remembered to give us the current and future wifi access code as they realized that it would change during our stay. What REALLY set them apart was a late night hunger craving. After a long day of sightseeing, our young ones were in bed and the adults wanted some sort of snack. I ventured down to the lobby and asked about any nearby vending machines. The dear manager aplogized profusely explaining that several were on order and absolutely insisted that I take several bags of chips that she took from a large assortment that she had purchased. I have spent several hundred nights in hotels and this was just unbelievably kind. She could have pointed me to a dozen different places to get food nearby and instead- she gave me her food. Yep- THAT'S great service.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My family and I were staying the week for a vacation. The rooms were very clean. They kept it very well supplied. The hotel staff made us feel like we were more than just guest. They have a very family oriented atmosphere. I could see that in their morning huddles. Princess was working very hard keeping the breakfast bar up to par. Nita the front desk clerk was very friendly as all the other staff as well. If we are in the area again, this is where we will stay. We absolutely loved the management staff.

Room Tip: Any room here is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed here for the Jazz Festival. 6/29-30/13 Went to breakfast the next morning and it was excellent, clean, tasty and very pleasing to the eye. I received excellent service from Darryl and Princess. They were very professional and courteous and friendly and helpful, Because of the outstanding service I will come back again.

Also the room was very clean and outstanding and comfortable. I really enjoyed the stay and I will come back again!I was impressed

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed 3 nights at Hampton, while visiting the coastline cities of Virginia. The hotel is very accessible from the highway. It was close enough to Hampton, Newport News and Norfolk's attractions. What was great for me, is that the hotel was across the street from the Coliseum Shopping Mall which had lots of restaurants, two Starbucks cafes, ice cream places and lots more. I loved the decoration of the lobby and breakfast room, it didn't look like any other Holiday Inn Express I've ever been to before. We had a nice room with 2 beds with a large window facing the hotel next door. The staff were friendly and smiled a lot. Even though the room was not big, we enjoyed our stay, and highly recommend the Holiday Inn Express at Hampton Coliseum.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The finishes in the room I spent two nights in were not quite complete. Very nice upgrades, clean and gives a modern vibe. More attention to detail would make this property complete. The super old and creepy elevators don't help. Front desk staff was helpful. Will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Virginia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our recent stay in this very nice hotel. This inn has very modern amenities. Our room was attractive and vey clean and the bed was very comfortable. Space was a little tight. It was equipped with a microwave and small refrigerator which was most helpful. The corridors were almost too cool but our room was quite comfortable. I did not really care for the breakfast except for the delicious coffee. The rate was good compared to other area hotels. Access was easy and it is very near the convention center, dining and shopping.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central

Address: 1813 West Mercury Boulevard, Hampton, VA 23666 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hampton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hampton
#5 Business Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Hampton
Quality Inn Hampton
Hampton Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.