We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food! Atmosphere ok.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Beautiful South Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Beautiful South Restaurant
17416 Hamilton Station Rd., Hamilton, VA 20158
(540) 338-7335
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Hamilton
Restaurant details
Leesburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Excellent food! Atmosphere ok.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We had Sunday lunch at The Beautiful South. We almost left without sitting down, because the interior was dark and smelled of cigarettes. We sat well away from the bar and the smell was not so noticeable. They don't allow smoking and haven't for years, but perhaps the drop down ceiling has trapped the smell?

We're glad we didn't leave, because the food was delicious! The chef clearly likes to dabble, and he was proud of his soup, and rightfully so (he came out and chatted for a few minutes). It was Moroccan Chicken soup, nicely spiced and with lots of fresh vegetables. We also tried a burger and a french dip, both well prepared and tasty. The kids' meals were also good, and they dressed my daughter's pasta with a nice blend of garlic and mild parmesan. Most restaurants don't bother to try and make the kids' pasta tasty.

The prices were quite reasonable, especially since they did have some specials and interesting options. The service was prompt and friendly. I hope they try to lighten up the dining area and do some more cleaning. They do have an outdoor seating option. We would visit again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“ALWAYS AWESOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

My husband & I moved to Hamilton 3 years ago. We tried BS one night for dinner and have been hooked ever since. We are there at least once a week. The food is always top notch, the owners are very gracious and always welcome you whether they know you or not. People are friendly and on the weeknds when they have music it is great.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Virginia
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Very local, very welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Living in Hamilton, we go here often. They have live music on weekends. The service varies. The food is always good & consistent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great Local Place With Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We went there for Sunday brunch while out in the Loudoun County wine country. It is a comfortable and friendly place where everyone says hello and people strike up conversations between tables. The menu is great and the food is better. We had the omelettes and our only complaint was that they were way too big to finish. Some of the best that we have had anywhere. Full service bar and the NFL football game was on a large flat panel TV. Prices were too low; brunch platters were only $8 and bloody mary's and screwdrivers were only $4. This looks like our new favorite place anytime we are in western Loudoun County.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastal South Carolina, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The Beautiful South Restaurant-Hamilton, VA is wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

We went to The Beautiful South Restaurant in Hamilton, VA on a recommendation from a local winery. The saying "Don't judge a book by the cover" applies here. There wasn't any part of the meal that was mediocre, The service was great, the menu was varied and extensive. Even the water tasted good. The atmosphere was such that we felt comfortable finishing our meal, wine and dessert without a rush. We will be back and recommend this restaurant to all.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beautiful South Restaurant also viewed

Hamilton, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 
Purcellville, Loudoun County

Been to The Beautiful South Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beautiful South Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.