We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goochland Drive-In Theater

Goochland Drive-In Theater
4344 Old Fredericksburg Road, Hadensville, VA 23067
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Powhatan, Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We have been coming to this drive-in since the first night it opened in 2009. Each year John has grown in a positive way. John makes sure to walk around and welcome everyone that visits whether it's their first visit or they are regular customers. The food is extremely reasonable and in no way is another overpriced. Even the double feature is less than $10 per adult.
In addition to spending some great quality time with your children, you are able to enjoy meeting those that you have never know, create new friendships and feel a real close sense of an old fashioned community.
Even when the weather dips, John and his staff are working the movies each weekend until mid November. The staff is extremely welcoming and caring. You feel like you are part of the family when visiting the Goochland Drive In, a place that no one is a stranger!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    0
    0
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Get here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This place is awesome. I old enough to remember the drive in in eastern henrico and this is so much better. Play area for kids and then another play area for older kids to just old kids, you know who I'm talking about. Reasonable snack shack pricing and good foods, they have a few picnic tables. If you go take comfortable chairs, if you have little kids throw blankets and pillow in back of SUV or truck for them to chill in. Bring a bungee if you have a SUV or they come around and will tie down your hatch with roof level to help all viewers. The picture clarity is GREAT! Enjoy with your Family, we have been probably 5 times with our kids and going again to see Fire rescue.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

My husband says this is the best thing since sliced bread and biscuits. Lol. But honestly we really enjoy going here. The price can't be beat and neither can the food. Seriously, its delicious! Such a great family atmosphere but also a great place for a date! We love supporting a family owned small business instead of paying an arm and a leg for the big theater monopoly in charlottesville. This is well worth the drive. Definitely follow them on facebook to keep up with the coming attractions. #weGDIT

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One of my FAVORITE places for a night with the family.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We absolutely LOVE going to Goochland Drive-In Theater. They have a great family atmosphere, show first run movies, and have a great snack bar. It is also very affordable. I would recommend that everyone try this at least once!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best all around movie fun during every season!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We spent almost every Friday night at GDIT watching a double feature from April 2011 to October 2013. It was such a great time for the entire family. Now that we have moved across the country, we really miss the drive in. John and his staff would go out of their way to make it a pleasant experience for all patrons.
The drive in is best enjoyed when you arrive early and pick a good spot, get a bunch of yummy goodies to eat, and then walk around or play until dusk (bring your own games, walk your dog, or use the playground). Bring your chairs, blankets, pillows, battery-operated radio, and bug spray for a night under the stars. We would take a potty break and change our kids into their PJs during intermission, because they would always fall asleep during the second feature. Often there are special events such as wine tastings, costume contests, an ice cream truck, classic car shows, hayrides, and bonfires. I loved seeing the classic Christmas movies including the pre-movie bonfire and hayride with Santa. What a great place for a date night too!
Tips for the snack bar- buy a large drink as refills are only $1. Make your own dipping sauce for the chicken nuggets out of equal parts mayo, ketchup, and relish using the little cups for the pretzel cheese and a straw to stir with. Save room for seconds, because often you can get buy one get one free sandwiches during intermission on slower nights.
We can't wait to come by on our next visit to Virginia!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Goochland Drive-In Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goochland Drive-In Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.