We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice adventure underground” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grottoes and Grand Caverns

Grottoes and Grand Caverns
5 Grand Caverns Drive, Grottoes, VA 24441
540-249-5705
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in Grottoes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: America's oldest continuously operated show cave, voted #2 in America by Parade magazine, and a National Natural Landmark, Grand Caverns is a prime example of history and beauty. With our abundance of rare shield formations and history around every turn, come see for yourself why we are 'Grand'. .
Westchester
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“nice adventure underground”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

On a hot day - this is a great place to escape. My daughter and I took the tour - make sure to wear good shoes and a sweater. The guide was informative and it was interesting to visit. Probable a one shot deal - but I enjoyed it - imagine that it was escavated for tourism and done by hand!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    23
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waynesboro, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Spelunking (sp?)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Wonderful tourist attraction 55F 365 days a year. Some great civil war graffitti and a small but interesting mmuseum.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Less Tourists Than Luray”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Two excellent caverns with a more natural setting than paved floors. You get to experience the caves just a the early explorers did. The lighting on the special features do justice to the magnificent work of God and nature.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Awesome Cavern, very good tour guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We looked into various Caverns in the Virginia area and chose Grand Cavern in Grottoes, VA because it was closer to Charlottesville, where we were staying, and because the tickets were less than those at Luray Cavern. (you can print out $2 discount online). The Cavern is in a lovely park. You buy the tickets in the store, walk up a short hill where there is a museum, and wait for the tour to start. The Cavern was well-lit, not claustrophobic at all. The tour guide was funny and informative. I would definitely recommend people taking this tour!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corydon
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic cave full of formations and friendly guides.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

I love caves and this cave has a ton of formations and more sheilds then I have ever seen. A quiet little secret tucked away in Grottoes, Virginia.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grottoes and Grand Caverns also viewed

 

Been to Grottoes and Grand Caverns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grottoes and Grand Caverns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.