We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good wines....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pollak Vineyards

Pollak Vineyards
330 Newtown Rd., Greenwood, VA
540-456-8844
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Greenwood
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Olney, Maryland
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good wines....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

...at a reasonable price....relatively new winery...knowledgable server...we were there on a rainy week day, so not crowded. We took home a half a case.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    20
    2
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“expansive views and very good wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The family and I traveled to Pollak over the weekend for some family pictures as this areas of Crozet/Albemarle has amazing views.

Pollak is quite big with a lot of area outside and the tasting room is very clean with a fireplace, for those colder day, and some very tasty wine. I don't recall what the tasting fee was but their bottles run at minimum $20 and I think their most expensive is $30.

Great place to take kids if you have them and they want to run around. There's a very big outdoor patio and wrap around porch. A pond that would be great in the Spring Summer.

Overall, Pollak was very nice with knowledgeable staff!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Pollak Vineyards Still A Tour Favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We run wine tours year round in the Charlottesville area, and have come to the end of another frantic busy season. Pollak, as usual, is our of our guest favorites. The wines are estate grown and they do a wonderful job.

In checking other reviews, I wanted to mention a few things. People visiting don't generally ask before listing complaints, as to why wineries operate the way they do in our area.

**No crackers.
You need to complain to the health department of Albemarle County as to why there are no crackers. They don't allow them unless they are packaged and for sale, from what I have been told. That would put the wineries in a poorer light than simply not offering them. The surrounding counties of Green and Nelson are much more logical in their regulations and allow them.

**Why don't they have a restaurant??
Again, complain to the County of Albemarle. They don't allow it. Again, the surrounding counties are more friendly to small business.

**They would not book a bridal party!! We are nice, not boisterous.
If you had to deal with and clean the restrooms after "nice" bachelorette groups, you would understand. Yes some are not loud and rude, destroying the ambiance for the other guests, but there is no way to tell who will behave so many wineries are, like many in Northern Virginia are, refusing groups. If groups would behave, we would not do so.

**If we have more than 7 people we have to book ahead and pay for a private tasting room
Umm yes, if you arrive as some do in a big tour bus with a group, you had to pay and reserve the tour bus correct? If the tasting rooms get booked with 5-6 groups they have to bring in additional personnel, and reserve the space where you can be promptly served rather than try and wait on a busy Saturday for space for 15 at the tasting bar.

**Their wine is overpriced

You must be comparing prices to bulk made wines that are cheaper. These wines are estate grown and carefully crafted and are very reasonably priced for our area. Pollak does not increase the price of wines when they win medals as many others do.Their wonderful 2010 Petit Verdot is currently selling for $30 while I have seen others for as much as $45.

** It was busy when we got there and they only paid attention to those tasting
Ummm, if they don't pay attention to those tasting, how are they going to clear the bar for you to taste? If you would simply be patient, they would have been with you as soon as they could.

We have toured Pollak with our wine tour guests since they opened, and the wines are consistently wonderful.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Casey is wonderful! Wine very distinct and delightful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We were taking a 151 trip and one of our friends-Jim is a wine club member and has wanted to take us to Pollak for a long time so we decided to drop in. We were able to meet Casey, his wine club order was ready and the view was wonderful. A gentleman was giving tours in his vintage auto, we took pictures, enjoyed very much the tasting and the entire staff/atmosphere. A must stop on your wine tasting tours!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“No Service....No Acknowledgement After Patiently Waiting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Visited with my husband. Wish I could comment on the wines, but we never got to taste any. Beautiful, but loud and cavernous tasting room. The place was slightly busy, enough so that the tasting bar was about 3 persons deep, but as we stood there we realized that the servers had absolutely no interest in acknowledging anyone beyond the folks directly in front of them. No attempt was made to greet any of the visitors waiting (not even a simple smile) and there seemed to be no customer service aspect at all to the place. Have visited countless wineries that are able to be gracious even if slightly busy, so after about 15 minutes observation, decided I no time for that. We left. Virginia has over 200 wineries....Pollak needs to raise their game considerably with so much competition out there.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pollak Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Pollak Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pollak Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.