We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just bad all around” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Host

Budget Host
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Budget Host to your Saves list
Budget Host
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3554 Lee Jackson Highway, Greenville, VA 24401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greenville
Bangor, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just bad all around”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We was greeted by a gentlemen that could hardly speak English, then he could not understand that we had also booked online and that we had also booked a cot with the room, when we got to the room after not getting the cot and not been able to get out of the reservation we had no choice but to stay, the toilet sit was broken, the light that was for you to use when going in to the room so you can get to the other lamps that was in the rooms was blown, so i hit my toe on a desk that was in the very small room,the sink did not drain very well, the shower was small and hard to use, the blankets smelled like mildew, and then when i went to get towels so i could take a shower because there was only 2 towel and 2 face cloths and because there was 3 of us we needed more i went to get a towel and i could not get one tell morning when the maids was around so i had to go to bed stinky ewwwwww..., when talking to the maid she did not understand me when i asked for towels i had to take the towels and face cloths off the maids cart.... all in all not a great place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011 via mobile

The rooms were had antiquated decorations and ac from the early 70s, but it pumped out cold air! The rooms were clean, bathrooms too. A great cheap hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

I spent a couple of nights here while working in the shen. valley. The place is old and a little run down but the bed and towels were clean, solid block walls between the rooms keeps the noise out and the balcony was real nice to sit out on. The upstairs rooms have vaulted cielings I think this place may have been a howard johnsons many years ago. There is a truckstop across the street that has an Arby's and there is a Subway over there too. The people that run the place live onsite and they were very nice to me. I think they allow dogs to stay in the downstairs rooms only, there is a huge grassy field out back where I saw some guests running their dogs. TV was small but had a fair picture and 3 HBO channels. I was able to pick up the truckstops wifi from the balcony.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2005

I have stayed at the hotel a number of times. It is not fancy, but it has always been clean. It is a historical place, I have always been treated kind by the people that run the hotel, and I like that they want their customers to have a good stay there, they have always been helpful with directions or any thing else that I have needed of them. I also have children and they have a big back yard that they can run around in and use up some of their energy, We have taken short walks along the creek side and they also have a little swing set in the back yard as well. I will be staying there everytime I am in that area. The rates are very reasonable also

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Host? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host

Address: 3554 Lee Jackson Highway, Greenville, VA 24401
Location: United States > Virginia > Greenville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Host 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Budget Host reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Host, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.