We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crusty Crab is great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crusty Crab Seafood Shack

Crusty Crab Seafood Shack
2118 Harbor Dr, Greenbackville, VA 23356
757-824-5437
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Crusty Crab is great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This place was recommended by our Innkeeper when we asked for a local place with fresh seafood. Fantastic dinner, beautiful view, friendly, knowledgeable and attentive waitress in a real down home
restaurant. Everything is made on site, they cut their fries, make sauces, cole slaw etc. and serve it up with a smile.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    26
    3
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New London, PA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delicious food, pretty view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hole in the wall place is a true find! It's about 25 minutes away from Chincoteague Island, but well worth the trip. The food is delicious and the portions are very generous. It sits on the water and the veiw is pretty. The place itself is rustic to say the least, cindar block walls, duct tape on some of the windows, so if you're looking for something fancy, this isn't it. I'd still give it an excellent rating for the view. But you'll get the best crab cake you've ever eaten. The service could have been a little friendlier but was fine. If you love delicious, home made, fresh food and lots of it, this is the place to go.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Family-run, home-made, on the water, great fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We heard there was a cool crab shack across the bay from Chincoteague, so we gave the Crusty Crab a try during a recent beach vacation. It was so good, we wound up going back a second time, that week. We always do a late lunch to save bucks over dinner and to avoid searing midday sun.

If you are using your smart phone, keep driving past the "pin" on the map: the Crab is at the end of the parking lot, right on the water. Take a minute to look across the bay at the northern end of Chincoteague Island. The brightly-colored chairs out front call you to "set a spell."

We preferred the screened-in back room on the water over the more closed-in entry room with A/C. Check out the veggie-basket light fixtures. And the hurricane straps. And the tabletops made of boat hold doors. Back-room fans are ample for temps in the mid-80s.

Fluorescent menus, lots of options. Home-made sides: home cut fries, their own pickled beets, and terrific dill-spiked slaw. If you are on a calorie restriction, plenty of stuff you can get broiled if you prefer. Spouse and I had soft shell crabs and crab cake sandwiches. Teen daughter loved the honey mustard sauce on her chicken fingers. Both regular iced and sweet tea. Carol Anne makes the dessert cakes. She used to waitress at the old Beachway and Castaways on Chincoteague--so nice to see her again!

It's family run, lovely folks. One day we were there, the Delmarva cell of the Red Hat Society was enjoying a festive lunch in the screened back room. We had a blast.

Take a ride, get outta town, have some fun. If you like Bill's or Woody's or the Island Creamery on Chincoteague, you'll surely enjoy the Crusty Crab!

City slickers: note ratings are based on similar establishments, not a comparison to the Ritz : )

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbackville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Food,great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Moved here in Greenbackville, Va last July and it was a great place. The food was great . I love taking my grandchildren there when they come to visit. My oldest grandchild was always a fan of Sponge Bob so we thought we would take her & her sister there, They loved it. I would say it is a great place for kids. My grandsons love it also. I think when my grandaughters come this time we will go back there.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Food at great prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Wonderful hole in the wall. had oysters and blackened shrimp for lunch.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crusty Crab Seafood Shack also viewed

 
Chincoteague Island, VA
New Church, VA
 

Been to Crusty Crab Seafood Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crusty Crab Seafood Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.