We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent find in Great Fall VA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Brogue, an Irish Pub

The Old Brogue, an Irish Pub
760 Walker Rd, Ste C, Great Falls, VA 22066
703-759-3309
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 24 restaurants in Great Falls
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Haymarket, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent find in Great Fall VA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The Old Brogue Pub in the village of Great Falls, Va, was a surprise after a day of hiking
in the area. Excellent food and friendly staff made for a great afternoon. Many traditional Irish dishes and brews are available in an intimate atmosphere. It's a bit off the beaten path but worth the search. Our visit was in early January 2013.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    40
    42
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great fun and super food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

A great hideaway Irish pub and restaurant. Had a great time with great food and entertainment. The Guinness s great along with the Ruben.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Reliably excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

OB is our go-to restaurant which we visit a couple of times a month; always good food and fast, friendly service. Also outstanding Manhattans!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Friendly neighborhood pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

A little off the beaten path, but welcoming once you find it. Standard pub food with a twist. We wandered in on a Wednesday night to find they had a prime rib special and 25% off wine, a really nice surprise. They have seating out front during the warmer months and a nice back patio. During the cooler months the back patio has roll down plastic walls/windows and a couple of gas fireplaces that keep it toasty warm. After several visits I have never had a bad meal and the prices are reasonable.

Turn the menu over to the back and see how long the employees have been around. Turnover is low and the service is good because of it. I've seen reviews talk about lousy service when they get busy, but that is what tends to happen in a pub when it is wall to wall people. Relax and enjoy the evening.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Old Brogue - Good Food, Friendly Atmosphere & Efficient Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My family and I went to the Old Brogue for the first time on a Monday night. We are not particularly Irish food fans, so we had pasta, salads & soup. All were excellent. The service staff for efficient and friendly. We will return. The only "complaint" is that it was somewhat hard to find on a dark winter night as it is at the back of a shopping and office complex.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Brogue, an Irish Pub also viewed

Great Falls, Fairfax County
Great Falls, Fairfax County
 
Great Falls, Fairfax County
Great Falls, Fairfax County
 

Been to The Old Brogue, an Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Brogue, an Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.