We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliably excellent food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Brogue, an Irish Pub

The Old Brogue, an Irish Pub
760 Walker Rd, Ste C, Great Falls, VA 22066
703-759-3309
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 27 Restaurants in Great Falls
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Great Falls VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Reliably excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

OB is our go-to restaurant which we visit a couple of times a month; always good food and fast, friendly service. Also outstanding Manhattans!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    51
    11
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Friendly neighborhood pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

A little off the beaten path, but welcoming once you find it. Standard pub food with a twist. We wandered in on a Wednesday night to find they had a prime rib special and 25% off wine, a really nice surprise. They have seating out front during the warmer months and a nice back patio. During the cooler months the back patio has roll down plastic walls/windows and a couple of gas fireplaces that keep it toasty warm. After several visits I have never had a bad meal and the prices are reasonable.

Turn the menu over to the back and see how long the employees have been around. Turnover is low and the service is good because of it. I've seen reviews talk about lousy service when they get busy, but that is what tends to happen in a pub when it is wall to wall people. Relax and enjoy the evening.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Old Brogue - Good Food, Friendly Atmosphere & Efficient Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My family and I went to the Old Brogue for the first time on a Monday night. We are not particularly Irish food fans, so we had pasta, salads & soup. All were excellent. The service staff for efficient and friendly. We will return. The only "complaint" is that it was somewhat hard to find on a dark winter night as it is at the back of a shopping and office complex.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Friendly, welcoming, relaxed enjoyment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This pub is a standard destination in our neighborhood for drinks, lunch, dinner, and casual meetings, The food is good and consistent. I always enjoy it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“a gem of a restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Old Brogue is a unique restaurant. The food and service are consistently good. The menu is not your usual chain restaurant fare. The Wednesday evening prime rib special is excellent. For those of us who are not big meat eaters, there is a large selection of fish, shellfish, and salads. The Brogue is the one restaurant where we can bring guests, and know that no matter what their food preferences, they will have a fabulous meal.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Brogue, an Irish Pub also viewed

Great Falls, Fairfax County
Great Falls, Fairfax County
 
Great Falls, Fairfax County
Great Falls, Fairfax County
 

Been to The Old Brogue, an Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Brogue, an Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.