We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home for us” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LAuberge Chez Francois

LAuberge Chez Francois
332 Springvale Rd., Great Falls, VA 22066
703-759-3800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
LAuberge Chez Francois is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Great Falls
Price range: $75 - $75
Cuisines: Dessert, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Beach Mill Road
Description: Travellers in the beautiful Alsatian countryside, seek out "auberge", the little family inns that dot the roadsides, to eat well and enjoy the scenery. They know they will find fine food and glowing spirits, at an excellent value. Welcome to L"Auberge Chez Francois, our French country inn a short distance from the nation's capital, nestled among lush woods and fragrant gardens, that has captivated visitors for over 50 years. L'Auberge Chez Francois is the ideal spot to celebrate special moments, private parties,luncheons, weddings and cooking demonstrations. Our menu is extensive and full of the flavors of Alsace and traditional French cuisine. Excellent food and service, attention to detail and a casually elegant atmosphere are hallmarks that have made L'Auberge Chez Francois a Washington favorite. We sincerely hope that you will enjoy your visit with us. Jacques Brasserie at L'Auberge is open Tues-Sat,5-9:00PM,Sunday 3-7:30PM. Reservations for Jacques' Brasserie via phone only!
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Feels like home for us”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We are very fortunate to live near this fine restaurant. Although the first visit may seem intimidating, you will soon find out that this is a warm, friendly place with excellent, excellent food.

The Haeringer family has always run a top notch restaurant and we have always been warmly welcome. It is a real treat to see the founder and father of the family, Francois Haeringer, in the restaurant during holidays. Never anything but a smile on his son, Chef Jacques face, as with the other members of the family.

The Prixe Fixe luncheons are a great deal. I recommend everything on the menu but am a big fan of the Bouillabaisse and the Alsatian plum tart. And there is nothing wrong with a glass or two of the house Cremant d'Alsace.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    45
    20
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wiehle, VA
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“One of the Finest Restaurants in the U.S.A.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

And, this is an understatement. This is a restaurant which does everything perfect. The food, the service, the atmosphere, everything! Don't be scared if you don't have reservations. They've always had a table when I've had a "spur of the moment" urge!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent French Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I am from Montreal, Quebec. I so miss French food. That was until we found Auberge Chez Francois. While a bit pricey, the meal was worth every penny & more. We plan to go back for special occasions. We also plan to try his bistro. The only problem is we enjoy the food so much it is then hard to make the 2 hour drive home. This is true French cooking with a modern twist. It is as good or better than I have had in Paris, France.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
431 reviews 431 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 155 cities Reviews in 155 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
“Exquisite cuisine in a beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

It looked to me a favorite place for special celebrations. And it is... Definitely not a cheap place but definitely haut cuisine, as the French people say. I would recommend some reading before these experience. About the concept... To better plan. You pay the price of the main course (in the range of 75) and you get an appetizer at your choice, a salad, a soup, a dessert and of course the main course. So you have a lot of amazing food. Therefore, as a gourmet but a weight watcher I would go there for lunch instead of dinner. Onion soup was great, the vegetarian grilled vegetable mix was perfect, the halibut in pastry was delicious. The wine list is great and Bordeaux list is even better... Desserts... Crème Brûlée as in Paris... Service is excellent and the decor intimate. Menu for kids is available and a coat is recommended for...monsieurs.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
great falls
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal in a wonderful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Dinner here is always a treat and you feel you have traveled to an old world setting. The food is delicious-the game feast is my husbands favorite. The service is some of the finest you will encounter. The tables near the windows are best for romantic occasions as some tables are a bit close in the center of the fist room. Enjoy!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LAuberge Chez Francois also viewed

Great Falls, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Centreville, Fairfax County
Great Falls, Fairfax County
 

Been to LAuberge Chez Francois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LAuberge Chez Francois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.