We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite cuisine in a beautiful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LAuberge Chez Francois

LAuberge Chez Francois
332 Springvale Rd., Great Falls, VA 22066
703-759-3800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
LAuberge Chez Francois is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Great Falls
Price range: $75 - $75
Cuisines: Dessert, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Beach Mill Road
Description: Travellers in the beautiful Alsatian countryside, seek out "auberge", the little family inns that dot the roadsides, to eat well and enjoy the scenery. They know they will find fine food and glowing spirits, at an excellent value. Welcome to L"Auberge Chez Francois, our French country inn a short distance from the nation's capital, nestled among lush woods and fragrant gardens, that has captivated visitors for over 50 years. L'Auberge Chez Francois is the ideal spot to celebrate special moments, private parties,luncheons, weddings and cooking demonstrations. Our menu is extensive and full of the flavors of Alsace and traditional French cuisine. Excellent food and service, attention to detail and a casually elegant atmosphere are hallmarks that have made L'Auberge Chez Francois a Washington favorite. We sincerely hope that you will enjoy your visit with us. Jacques Brasserie at L'Auberge is open Tues-Sat,5-9:00PM,Sunday 3-7:30PM. Reservations for Jacques' Brasserie via phone only!
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
432 reviews 432 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 155 cities Reviews in 155 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
“Exquisite cuisine in a beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

It looked to me a favorite place for special celebrations. And it is... Definitely not a cheap place but definitely haut cuisine, as the French people say. I would recommend some reading before these experience. About the concept... To better plan. You pay the price of the main course (in the range of 75) and you get an appetizer at your choice, a salad, a soup, a dessert and of course the main course. So you have a lot of amazing food. Therefore, as a gourmet but a weight watcher I would go there for lunch instead of dinner. Onion soup was great, the vegetarian grilled vegetable mix was perfect, the halibut in pastry was delicious. The wine list is great and Bordeaux list is even better... Desserts... Crème Brûlée as in Paris... Service is excellent and the decor intimate. Menu for kids is available and a coat is recommended for...monsieurs.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    46
    20
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
great falls
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal in a wonderful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Dinner here is always a treat and you feel you have traveled to an old world setting. The food is delicious-the game feast is my husbands favorite. The service is some of the finest you will encounter. The tables near the windows are best for romantic occasions as some tables are a bit close in the center of the fist room. Enjoy!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The bistro on the lowevel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

At the back of the restaurant there is a less formal dining room called the Bistro. This dining room uses the same kitchen as its upstairs parent. The service is still world class and has the identical wine and drink menu. The only downside is that the room is tightly packed with tables and much more noisy. Additional sound deadening decor would be a great addition.

Check this out for last minute dining experience when a less formal dinner party is needed..

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One of the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

One of the best restaurants I've been to. Got the French onion soup, tomato salad (picked that day from their garden), Chateaubriand, chocolate souffle, and I could not find a single flaw in any dish. The food was simply out of this world, and the service was not even the slightest bit stuffy as some previous reviews have indicated. In fact, our server was quite funny and went out of his way to ensure our friends' 7 year old boy enjoyed his French dining experience as well. I'm still thinking about this meal and I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
593 reviews 593 reviews
281 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
362 helpful votes 362 helpful votes
“A A A+ + RESTAURANT IN FOOD AND SERVICE! A RARE FIND”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is a great place to eat! The food is spectacularly presented! The palate is always pleased when it leaves here. The service is impeccable and friendly. The tab is very expensive but you feel like you have been royally entertained and the value is therefore excellent.

Six of us went to lunch today. The tab with the tips was $400. We each had three course lunches. At this place there are always extras and they are unannounced and very enjoyable. The lamb main dishes are exquisite. The steaks and beef are spectacular. The three salmon appetizer is wonderful. Baked Alaska as a dessert was very good as well. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed eating here. The country inn atmosphere is pleasantly pervasive and the grounds are well maintained. You can go to chezlauberge@aol.com for a lot more information. You should get a reservation and ask for a corner table for the best views and your quieter enjoyment.

Over the last 25 years, we have been to Chez Francois about 5 or 6 times. The food quality and cuisine presentation is unvarying. The service is always friendly and superb. The family is constantly surveying and supervising. This was a going place when we started coming here and it has only gotten better. This why Chez Francois is usually at the top or in the top three of all restaurants in the great Washington DC Area!

t

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LAuberge Chez Francois also viewed

Great Falls, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Centreville, Fairfax County
Great Falls, Fairfax County
 

Been to LAuberge Chez Francois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LAuberge Chez Francois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.