We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The bistro on the lowevel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LAuberge Chez Francois

LAuberge Chez Francois
332 Springvale Rd., Great Falls, VA 22066
703-759-3800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
LAuberge Chez Francois is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Great Falls
Price range: $75 - $75
Cuisines: Dessert, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Beach Mill Road
Description: Travellers in the beautiful Alsatian countryside, seek out "auberge", the little family inns that dot the roadsides, to eat well and enjoy the scenery. They know they will find fine food and glowing spirits, at an excellent value. Welcome to L"Auberge Chez Francois, our French country inn a short distance from the nation's capital, nestled among lush woods and fragrant gardens, that has captivated visitors for over 50 years. L'Auberge Chez Francois is the ideal spot to celebrate special moments, private parties,luncheons, weddings and cooking demonstrations. Our menu is extensive and full of the flavors of Alsace and traditional French cuisine. Excellent food and service, attention to detail and a casually elegant atmosphere are hallmarks that have made L'Auberge Chez Francois a Washington favorite. We sincerely hope that you will enjoy your visit with us. Jacques Brasserie at L'Auberge is open Tues-Sat,5-9:00PM,Sunday 3-7:30PM. Reservations for Jacques' Brasserie via phone only!
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The bistro on the lowevel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

At the back of the restaurant there is a less formal dining room called the Bistro. This dining room uses the same kitchen as its upstairs parent. The service is still world class and has the identical wine and drink menu. The only downside is that the room is tightly packed with tables and much more noisy. Additional sound deadening decor would be a great addition.

Check this out for last minute dining experience when a less formal dinner party is needed..

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    45
    20
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One of the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

One of the best restaurants I've been to. Got the French onion soup, tomato salad (picked that day from their garden), Chateaubriand, chocolate souffle, and I could not find a single flaw in any dish. The food was simply out of this world, and the service was not even the slightest bit stuffy as some previous reviews have indicated. In fact, our server was quite funny and went out of his way to ensure our friends' 7 year old boy enjoyed his French dining experience as well. I'm still thinking about this meal and I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
588 reviews 588 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
358 helpful votes 358 helpful votes
“A A A+ + RESTAURANT IN FOOD AND SERVICE! A RARE FIND”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is a great place to eat! The food is spectacularly presented! The palate is always pleased when it leaves here. The service is impeccable and friendly. The tab is very expensive but you feel like you have been royally entertained and the value is therefore excellent.

Six of us went to lunch today. The tab with the tips was $400. We each had three course lunches. At this place there are always extras and they are unannounced and very enjoyable. The lamb main dishes are exquisite. The steaks and beef are spectacular. The three salmon appetizer is wonderful. Baked Alaska as a dessert was very good as well. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed eating here. The country inn atmosphere is pleasantly pervasive and the grounds are well maintained. You can go to chezlauberge@aol.com for a lot more information. You should get a reservation and ask for a corner table for the best views and your quieter enjoyment.

Over the last 25 years, we have been to Chez Francois about 5 or 6 times. The food quality and cuisine presentation is unvarying. The service is always friendly and superb. The family is constantly surveying and supervising. This was a going place when we started coming here and it has only gotten better. This why Chez Francois is usually at the top or in the top three of all restaurants in the great Washington DC Area!

t

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“It is a special place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Hard to argue how special this place is. As with all special places you work it up so high then you start thinking it comes up a little short.

But......

Great food. Check
Great service. Check
Great wine. Oh yes
Dessert. Great great great

If you have a special evening look hard at this very special place

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paeonian Springs, Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“LAuberge Chez Francois - Great Falls, VA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

ALWAYS a wonderful experience to dine here. The ambiance, service, and food quality never waiver - all are always excellent. Try the lobster bisque or the onion soup for an appetizer...I've also had the crepes - it is difficult to choose. For dessert we shared the chocolate souffle...not for anyone on a diet! The bread pudding was very good...and the entrees...the filet and salmon perfect! Eating here is always a 5-star event for me! I haven't had a complaint yet!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LAuberge Chez Francois also viewed

Great Falls, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Centreville, Fairfax County
Great Falls, Fairfax County
 

Been to LAuberge Chez Francois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LAuberge Chez Francois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.