We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as always” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LAuberge Chez Francois

LAuberge Chez Francois
332 Springvale Rd., Great Falls, VA 22066
703-759-3800
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 23 restaurants in Great Falls
Price range: $75 - $75
Cuisines: Dessert, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Beach Mill Road
Description: Travellers in the beautiful Alsatian countryside, seek out "auberge", the little family inns that dot the roadsides, to eat well and enjoy the scenery. They know they will find fine food and glowing spirits, at an excellent value. Welcome to L"Auberge Chez Francois, our French country inn a short distance from the nation's capital, nestled among lush woods and fragrant gardens, that has captivated visitors for over 50 years. L'Auberge Chez Francois is the ideal spot to celebrate special moments, private parties,luncheons, weddings and cooking demonstrations. Our menu is extensive and full of the flavors of Alsace and traditional French cuisine. Excellent food and service, attention to detail and a casually elegant atmosphere are hallmarks that have made L'Auberge Chez Francois a Washington favorite. We sincerely hope that you will enjoy your visit with us. Jacques Brasserie at L'Auberge is open Tues-Sat,5-9:00PM,Sunday 3-7:30PM. Reservations for Jacques' Brasserie via phone only!
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
402 reviews 402 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Excellent as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I've been going to Chez Francois for years. I've also been attending Chef Jacques's cooking demonstrations for years. My friend and I recently attended the Alsatian Winter Cooking Demonstration. When we arrived between 10:30 and 11:00 am, and were offered a glass of Schlumberger Pinot Blanc d'Alsace while watching Chef Jacque demonstrate the preparation of the dishes we would have for lunch. Our glasses were refilled throughout the demonstration. Once in the dining room, we were treated to a first course of Onions in Puff Pastry accompanied by a Schlumberger Riesling d'Alsace. Next we had a Gruyere Cheese Salad accompanied by the Riesling. A Mirabelle (Plum) sorbet was served before the main course. A delicious Choucroute Garnie with smoked bacon, pork shoulder, bratwurst, frankfurters, kielbasa, sauerkraut and apples was served with a Woelfefin Gewurztraminer d'Alsace. For dessert we had Kugelhopf en Neige, a baked meringue with raisins and kirsch. The demonstrations are always entertaining, as Chef Jacque is very entertaining.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    233
    35
    19
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, VA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding French food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Our last vist to this establishment was a few years ago so we were not sure if it was still as good as we remembered. We were very pleased that this recent experience turned out be as good as ever. Our seafood dishes were cooked perfectly, services was attentive and the atmosphere was warm and cozy. Very traditional French food with specialties from Alsace, so don't expect anything trendy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Holiday Celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We went to Chez Francois with some very good friends. We try to visit this restaurant during the holidays every year. We are never disappointed. The service is excellent the the food is superb!
Am looking forward to next year!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Charming French Country Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This restaurant is a favorite of ours for a birthday or other celebration for several reasons: the drive is lovely down a Va. country road, ESP on a sunny day; the Inn itself is very traditional, evocative of ones seen in France and Germany; the Gardens outside the large windows are restful to look at Winter and Summer; and the large fireplace in Winter as well as the wall decorations and table linens provide a wonderful homey feeling. The tables are not crowded together, one enjoys one's meal in a quiet space, service is excellent ant unhurried. The fix price 4 course meals are well- priced as there is sufficient variety of fish, meat and vegetarian selections to please most, with somewhat of an Alsatian focus. I would not deem the L'Auberge as a place for Foodies . It's not on the order of Voltaggio's or the Inn at Little Washington but neither is the price. Fav dishes: poached Lobster, any of the desert soufflés.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Little details count”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Little details count. Had the maitre d'hotel got this intolerably loud and boistrous family of four including a toddler and a cradled baby (sprawled all over the place with their suff lying around) seated off in a more secluded part of their multi-chambered restaurant, he would have saved the other patrons a lot of discomfort.

This was the first and only negative experience I ever had at l'Auberge, which I regard as one of the best in the DC area.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LAuberge Chez Francois also viewed

Great Falls, Fairfax County
Washington DC, DC
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Springfield, Fairfax County
 

Been to LAuberge Chez Francois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LAuberge Chez Francois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.