We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible birthday dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LAuberge Chez Francois

LAuberge Chez Francois
332 Springvale Rd., Great Falls, VA 22066
703-759-3800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
LAuberge Chez Francois is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 27 Restaurants in Great Falls
Price range: $75 - $75
Cuisines: Dessert, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Beach Mill Road
Description: Travellers in the beautiful Alsatian countryside, seek out "auberge", the little family inns that dot the roadsides, to eat well and enjoy the scenery. They know they will find fine food and glowing spirits, at an excellent value. Welcome to L"Auberge Chez Francois, our French country inn a short distance from the nation's capital, nestled among lush woods and fragrant gardens, that has captivated visitors for over 50 years. L'Auberge Chez Francois is the ideal spot to celebrate special moments, private parties,luncheons, weddings and cooking demonstrations. Our menu is extensive and full of the flavors of Alsace and traditional French cuisine. Excellent food and service, attention to detail and a casually elegant atmosphere are hallmarks that have made L'Auberge Chez Francois a Washington favorite. We sincerely hope that you will enjoy your visit with us. Jacques Brasserie at L'Auberge is open Tues-Sat,5-9:00PM,Sunday 3-7:30PM. Reservations for Jacques' Brasserie via phone only!
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Incredible birthday dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

A reliably excellent restaurant for celebration dinner. Traffic to country location has gotten horrible, so allow lots of extra time on a week night for the drive from the beltway. Service was professional and friendly. Our waiter had worked there 20 years and it showed. The bouillabaise appetizer was delicious as was my Dover sole. We usually share one dessert souffle (extra $) and another dessert. Our plum tart was magnificent. It's expensive, but when you want to splurge, totally worth it.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    46
    20
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Save airfare...dine in a real French restaurant in the US”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011 via mobile

One of the finest restaurant experiences I've ever had. The food is exquisite. The service is beyond superb. The atmosphere is relaxing, hospitable and charming. Better thn any French cuisine I ate in France. For what they give you, the prices are actually modest.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
1 review
“This is the best restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

I love this place. Food, atmosphere, attitude, wine list. Cool.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Best place for special occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

This is a truly lovely restaurant, away from the madding crowd in the beautiful countryside of Great Falls. Due to rainy weather, we were not able to dine on the beautiful patio, with red-painted tables and small lights on the trees and the gazebos. But the dining rooms are lovely, too. This is a French country inn with truly delicious food. The prices will seem high but then you realize that the prices of the entrees INCLUDE appetizer, salad, daily vegetable dish, and dessert, in addition to a cleansing sorbet between courses, and delicious bread in a basket with pot cheese. And they will gladly fix left-overs to take home. We have been here for special occasions before and always think it's a wonderful place. The service is always impeccable. Our server this time was Alejandro, who guided me between two wines I was considering, and between two appetizers I was looking at. They also have, for extra, some specials that aren't on the regular menu. The Alsatian cassoulet, the Provence shrimp and scallops, the trout, the dover sole, and the beef filets have all been terrific (all on the regular menu). My husband had a special lobster salad which he proclaimed quite good. I had the roquefort tart with carmelized apples, and it was so delicious. We've also raved about the asparagus with ham and quail egg, and the salmon variations among the appetizers. And the plum tart, raspberry souffle, and lime tart have all been deeply appreciated, from the dessert menu.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Not sure its worth the visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

so this place has been on my list for years, finally i was able to go for my birthday the other day. the ambiance and elegance of the place is fantastic, and the service very professional. but for the price of the food and the food itself, i can think of several other french restaurants close by that are much better. every entree is above $60 and most are $70. granted, you do get a starter, side and dessert and coffee. i just was not impressed with my food. i had escargot, roquefort salad, lobster and a cheese plate, hubby had an excellent mushroom crepe, caesar salad, scallops and creme brulee. i guess the problem for me was, for a 4 star highly acclaimed restaurant i felt like what i got i could have had much cheaper elsewhere. his scallops were pretty plain, and the veggies and fruit on the plates were either not ripe or not fresh. as i said the crepe appetizer is really the only thing that was a wow factor for me. my lobster was amazing but you can really get that anywhere (the sauce it was in was delectable though). anyhow, i was expecting a wow and instead i got a ho-hum. i am glad i went but i would not go back.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LAuberge Chez Francois also viewed

Great Falls, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Centreville, Fairfax County
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to LAuberge Chez Francois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LAuberge Chez Francois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.