We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brix American Bistro

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Brix American Bistro
1025 Seneca Rd, Ste I, Great Falls, VA 22066-1365 (Formerly Brix American Bistro)
703-433-9050
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Brix American Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 27 Restaurants in Great Falls
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Georgetown Pike
Description: Brx is a place where you can take your family or meet with your friends for some quality time and good food and drink. We wanted to create an atmosphere where people could gather casually in a sophisticated, yet down to earth locale. Brx's large dining room and outdoor patio offer a casual and comfortable ambiance to enjoy our American cuisine influenced by your favorite comfort foods. Our casual bar area is the perfect place for a glass of wine from our extensive wine list, or a round of beers with friends. Brx's large dining room and outdoor patio offer a casual and comfortable ambiance to enjoy our American cuisine influenced by your favorite comfort foods. Our casual bar area is the perfect place for a glass of wine from our extensive wine list, or a round of beers with friends.
Sterling, Virginia
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Heard from friends about BRX, wanted to give it a try. We made our reservation through Open Table. Their varied menu, attentive service (without hovering), and appropriate pricing allowed us to enjoy our meal. We sat on the back tent-enclosed patio. We will return!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    21
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Virginia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Their french fry appetizer is so good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

All their food is good there but there 3 tiered french fry appetizer with 3 different flavors is amazing.......the rest of the food was very good too!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“The place used to be better--and cheaper--and no 20% tip”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I have been eating at Brix American Bistro since shortly after they opened. We always enjoyed the great food, the very reasonable prices and the great service. We went there this past Sunday with a Social Living (buy $15 and get $30) coupon. Even with that our meal was over $60 which means it would have cost us $90. Ouch!! This is a bistro, not a 5 star restaurant.
I ordered the veal piccata special and was very disappointed. Several of the pieces of veal were so tough that I had to spit them into my napkin. They were impossible to chew. Our other food was OK. Not great. Just OK. We had iced tea to drink and no desserts. Then came the check.
The automatically add (and you cannot reduce) a 20% tip. That was outrageous. The customer determines the tip, not the restaurant. There were only two of us eating and there was no need for an automatic 20% tip. To get a 20% top (1) you need to be at a very fine restaurant, not a strip mall bistro, (2) you should not have to wave your arms to get your waitress's attention so you can ask her to bring the olive oil back to the table because she took it before you could use it and (3) you should not have to wave your arms two separate times to get the waitress's attention so she could refill your iced tea. To add misery to an already uncomfortable meal we then got the bill and even with my $30 prepay I still owed over $60. That was outrageous. We left and agreed that there are many more places in the area to eat where we will get better food, better service and not have to deal with an mandatory 20% time. So long Brix. You lost a good customer who had brought others to your place. You got greedy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C. Metro Area
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Pretty sure we will not return”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

First off, the service was horrible. I hate to flag waitstaff as I find it rude, but if you re so inattentive that the whole table waves like they are flagging down a passing airplane while stranded on a dessert island, you are probably doing something wrong. At Brix, the service is doing something wrong. The food was wrong, the attentiveness is nonexistent, the remedy was slow, etc. My wife said that she is pretty sure he want us to just get out of there so he could leave.

On to the food. Solidly average. We were in for brunch and is just was not that good. Sometime there are problems at brunch due to the amount of guests, but there wer 6 total table with 25 total diners. That is sad.

As another reviewer noted, and I read too late, avoid the cornbeef hash. It was super greasy. It also had the distinction of being served with (dry)scrambled eggs. I have never has hash with anything more cooked the an over easy egg. It was weird, and the lack of creamy yoke really diminished the dish. Two omelettes were eaten with no real reaction as to good or bad. The comment extracted was a meh sound with a meh seconded. The French toast was reported to be good, but the preteen would have eaten the table without complaint if food did not arrive promptly (he appreciates good food, but is entering the eating years).

I had high hope for Brix as choices are pretty limited, but I cannot see going back unless there is a deal to get me back in to try dinner. Today's performance, so doubly injured by the server, just cannot make me recommend a stop here.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Our young waitress was friendly and did a good job advising us. My husband and son ordered the veal pasta special with mushrooms and artichokes. They both loved it. I ordered steak which was cooked just right. We ordered the sushimi, and brie & pear appetizers -- both very good. The chocolate birthday desserts were delicious. The atmosphere is okay. In season we prefer the covered outdoor eating area behind the restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brix American Bistro also viewed

Great Falls, Fairfax County
Great Falls, Fairfax County
 
Great Falls, Fairfax County
Great Falls, Fairfax County
 

Been to Brix American Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brix American Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.