We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting the jefferson pools” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hummingbird Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Hummingbird Inn to your Saves list
The Hummingbird Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   30 Wood Lane, Goshen, VA 24439-0147   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Goshen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lynchburg, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Visiting the jefferson pools”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

We found the Hummingbird Inn while looking online for a place to stay while visiting the Jefferson pools. What a lovely surprise. We found the Inn to be very spacious with beautiful rooms each decorated tastefully and with charming touches. We stayed in the Alleghany room and had a wonderful time. The breakfasts were hearty and delicious. As for the train noise...well I actually found it quite romantic to hear the trains off in the distance. We will stay here again when we return to visit the pools.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    15
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
128
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

My husband and I visited The Hummingbird Inn for a much needed trip away from daily stresses. Patty & Dan made everything perfect! The Inn is super cozy with whirlpool bathtubs for extra relaxation AND they make you a wonderful breakfast in the morning. You will not be disappointed!

  • Liked — The Innkeepers make it feel cozy & like home
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united states
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2008

We stayed at the Hummingbird for two nights and it was one of our best B & B experiences. The owners, Dick and Pam, were delightful, the house and grounds were great, and the breakfast and snacks were outstanding. Would recommend this B & B to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

The Hummingbird Inn is a charming B&B, and the rooms are spacious and clean. It is also right next to a railroad track, which was not mentioned in the guide where we found out about the inn, or by the host when we called to arrange a visit. The trains passing in the night were definitely disruptive, and when we mentioned it we were told it was "part of the charm".

Stayed July 2003
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HummingbirdInnkeeper, owner at The Hummingbird Inn, responded to this review, June 29, 2008
We're surprised and sorry to hear about your "nice and noisy" experience at the Hummingbird Inn 5 years ago! If you were here in July, 2003 it was our first month as owners of the Hummingbird. You are right that the train tracks run on the other side of the lane from the inn and that trains do go by. Guide books often don't put in many details about a place, and when we get a call from someone who has found us in a guide book, we do mention the trains. We do find the trains "charming" and the history of the inn is tied closely to the train travelers who've visited here through the years, but we realize that some people have trouble if awakened during the night. If you'll check our website, you'll see that we do mention trains clearly on our home page, and in fact have a full page devoted to the trains. We're very sorry that you were unaware of the trains and can only say we have many return guests who either enjoy the trains or don't really mind them. -Pam & Dick Matthews, innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax VA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

We stayed at this very homey bed and breakfast with very congenial hosts. We had booked a Christmas package that included Christmas dinner and three day stay. It was all we had thought it would be. This wonderful inn is right beside railroad tracks, but you really aren't aware of passing trains. We did get to see one go by and it was a treat. Railroad fans will love to see the freight trains go by.
The innkeepers are very nice people who are more then willing to help you have a great time exploring the area.
We highly recommend this bed and breakfast.
Please note that the b&b is currently on the market. We hope whoever buys it will keep it's gentle charm and warmth.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Laurel NJ
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2007

Found this wonderful place at the petswelcome.com it is a great place with comfy beds and a wonderful breakfast. Pam and Dick are bgracious host who will do whatever than can to make your stay welcome. Close to VMI and washington and Lee university 30 minutes. This was a wonderful stopover. Not much inthe way of dinner options in town. Great gardens.

  • Liked — Pet Friendly
  • Disliked — No Dinner place to eat during the week.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Va
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2007

We reside in Virginia Beach, Va. My husband initially surprised me with a stay at the Hummingbird Inn for our anniversay in 2006. I absolutely feel in love with the house and the surrounding yard.
The hosts are the best people and make you feel so welcomed. They really go out of there way to make sure your trip is excellent.
We enjoy our stay there so much, that we are getting ready to return for the 4th time. If you are looking for someplace to get away from the hussle of your everyday life, this is an excellent option. Oh, by the way, you must enjoy hearing the rumbles of a train.
If you love B&Bs you'll enjoy this lovely home.

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Hummingbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hummingbird Inn

Address: 30 Wood Lane, Goshen, VA 24439-0147
Location: United States > Virginia > Goshen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Goshen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hummingbird Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a romantic setting and warm country hospitality in our unique bed and breakfast, a Victorian Carpenter Gothic Inn situated in the Virginia railroad town of Goshen. The Inn is centrally located near scenic Goshen Pass on the western edge of the Shenandoah Valley, in a small triangle defined by Lexington, Staunton, and Warm Springs / Hot Springs.Outside the Inn, stroll around an acre of landscaped grounds. Sit on the deck or lie in the hammock and listen to the sounds of the Mill Creek, in the evening, light a fire in the chiminea and enjoy the crisp fall air. For the outdoor lovers, we are close to trails for hiking, biking, plus swimming and kayaking in the Maury River.If you're looking for peace and quiet, cozy and comfortable surroundings that feel like home, we welcome you to our Inn. Come and enjoy Fall in the Shenandoah Valley! And we're dog-friendly too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Hummingbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hummingbird Hotel Goshen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hummingbird Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.