We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Heartwarming Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hummingbird Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Hummingbird Inn to your Saves list
The Hummingbird Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   30 Wood Lane, Goshen, VA 24439-0147   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Goshen B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Heartwarming Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

There is only one way to describe the Hummingbird Inn and that word is PERFECT. We spent a beautiful weekend at this quaint little bed and breakfast in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley. The Inn is very well kept compared to others we've seen. Dan and Patty are truly wonderful Inn keepers. The renovated bedrooms, living room, sunroom and dining room create a spectacular living space. Not only that, there is a stunning flower garden and backyard. It even overlooks a creek. It was to die for. I even proposed to my fiancé during a picnic in the backyard. We found out about this hidden gem through LivingSocial and they were gracious enough to extend their voucher into the summer months. It may be a distance to get to, but this bed and breakfast will certainly make your heart melt and is worth the trek.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    14
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
123
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

What a lovely retreat we stumbled on here. We are picky when it comes to B&B's - we've had too many overbearing hosts, thin walls, and rickety beds, but this place had none of that. Our host, Dan, greeted us as we came in from the rain and showed us to our room with a tour, showing us where the coffee, cookies and other beverages could be found at any hour of the day. Then he left us alone to enjoy our room which was perfect. The bed was heavenly with the best sheets ever (I want to get some for my own bed.) Lots of perfect little touches all over the house. Breakfast is served on a long table at 9am with everyone gathering at the same time, not usually my style, but we had such a great time talking with the other guests. Lots of interesting things to do in the area so we will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Eleanore room - lovely. Great history here: Eleanore Roosevelt stayed in this room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Charming owners, great place, definitely "in the middle of nowhere", but a good spot as a base for those who want to get out and explore various parts of the George Washington National Forest, as well as just to relax and have some down time. Only negatives - there's only one place to eat in town, a very basic diner, and the trains which pass at irregular hours day and night, rumbling through and shaking the building.

Room Tip: The one room on the main floor is a great choice because you have your own private entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We just returned from a wonderful 4 night stay at the Hummingbird Inn, and loved every minute of it. We used 2 groupon deals, and received 2 treat bags, 2 bottles of wine, and 2 plates of chocolates and chocolate covered strawberries along with our room. It was all at a fabulous price. We stayed in the Robinson room, and absolutely loved it. Our room had direct access to the second floor porch, and we spent plenty of time out there sipping wine and playing cards (which were included in our goody bag!). It was such a peaceful place. Personally, I loved hearing the trains, and wish I could have heard more. Breakfast each morning was a delicious surprise, and always began with fruit in one form or another. I'm a bit of a picky eater and am happy to say I did not leave one thing on my plate on any of the 4 mornings I was there. Everything was delicious. Special kudos for the the pre-breakfast baked goods as well . . . . fruit filled puffs, cinnamon rolls, mini chocolate muffins, and chocolate chip scones. . . . so yummy! Patty and Dan, we will definitely be back. You two have perfected the bed and breakfast experience!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My husband & I visited The Hummingbird Inn for our first wedding anniversary last weekend, it was our first experience at a bed & breakfast. Patti & Dan are wonderful, gracious hosts. They have all the little details figured out (down to a flashlight on your key ring for when it's dark) and could not be any more friendly. There are always plenty of drinks, snacks, and baked treats available all over the Inn. They have plenty of suggestions of great things to do and places to eat, and are more than willing help you plan your stay. The Inn is beautiful and homey and very clean. Breakfast each morning was delicious. There was always hot coffee and fresh pastry of some sort out. Each meal began with some fresh fruit, and the breakfast was hot and different and delicious each morning. Bluberry baked french toast anyone? Yum! We stayed in the Elanor room, which does appear to have the smallest bathroom, but the shower is big enough for 2, with 2 showerheads, and it offers the only king size bed. The bed is so soft and comfy. The trains did go by 2-3 times a night, but trains don't bother either of us. They do offer earplugs in each room for those less acustom to the noise. Overall, we had a wonderful experience for our anniversary and can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatboro, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We get together with another couple once or twice a year for getaways. Groupon offers are usually good so we pick one and off we go. Regarding B&Bs, there's always something you can find to complain about. Well, that is until now. Dan and Patty of the Hummingbird Inn are the nicest people and believe me they have thought of everything. Yes, it’s lost in the boondocks but it’s not that far from a lot of interesting places. After all, that’s what a car is for. Rooms are well appointed and comfortable. The place itself has numerous spots to hang out both inside and out. I especially like the fact that Dan and Patty were around and accessible. Both were very interesting to talk to and they certainly cater to your every need. Along with the great breakfasts you have the chance to meet some great people. Simply put, a thoroughly enjoyable locale to spend a few days.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

What a delightful time we had with our friends. The place was lovely. Patty and Dan were great hostesses. They made you feel right at home. By far, this was the best b and b that we have stayed in. Sorry, to hear that it is for sale. WE wish them luck in their new ventures. This place is a hidden treasure.

Room Tip: We slept in the Eleanor Room, it had a walk in shower, which i prefer, so all was good, the room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hummingbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hummingbird Inn

Address: 30 Wood Lane, Goshen, VA 24439-0147
Location: United States > Virginia > Goshen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Goshen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hummingbird Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a romantic setting and warm country hospitality in our unique bed and breakfast, a Victorian Carpenter Gothic Inn situated in the Virginia railroad town of Goshen. The Inn is centrally located near scenic Goshen Pass on the western edge of the Shenandoah Valley, in a small triangle defined by Lexington, Staunton, and Warm Springs / Hot Springs.Outside the Inn, stroll around an acre of landscaped grounds. Sit on the deck or lie in the hammock and listen to the sounds of the Mill Creek, in the evening, light a fire in the chiminea and enjoy the crisp fall air. For the outdoor lovers, we are close to trails for hiking, biking, plus swimming and kayaking in the Maury River.If you're looking for peace and quiet, cozy and comfortable surroundings that feel like home, we welcome you to our Inn. Come and enjoy Fall in the Shenandoah Valley! And we're dog-friendly too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Hummingbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hummingbird Hotel Goshen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hummingbird Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.