We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hummingbird Inn in Goshen, VA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hummingbird Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Hummingbird Inn to your Saves list
The Hummingbird Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   30 Wood Lane, Goshen, VA 24439-0147   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Goshen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Hummingbird Inn in Goshen, VA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I have been staying at the Hummingbird for about 7 or 8 years now. It is such a wonderful hidden gem! The Inn itself is very comfortable, homey and rustic, but yet offers all the amenities you could want. It is a great starting point for the Blueridge Parkway drive, visiting The Homestead and Hot Springs, The Greenbriar or any of the 3 National Forests, and many rivers and streams in the area. Tthere are many great small towns to wander through very near by, Lexington being among the best. Great restaurants there and 2 wonderful universities make is a very engaging town. You can shop for antiques or local artisan works of art, or take in a movie!

The Innkeepers, Dan and Patty make you feel right at home and are a wealth of knowledge about the surrounding areas and things to do. The breakfasts are wonderful and the afternoon treats of cookies or brownies are the best! The nightly trains rumbling by will wake you up, but the excitement of them rolling past are great fun! Also, enjoy the wonderful deck above the creek at the back of the property, a great place for a glass of wine to unwind before venturing out for dinner in a nearby town.

I cannot say enough about how this place has become like home to me. If you want to get away and just relax and feel right at home away from home, wander and explore some beautiful countryside and great small towns-try the Hummingbird!

Room Tip: My favorite is the Tetterwood, the only room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    14
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
127
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wirtz, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

This was our first experience at a B&B. It is a lovely place, the room was great.
We went to get an early start on our 40th Anniversary 'week long' celebration.
The owners were on vacation but they had gotten the previous owners to come back and 'mind the Inn'. There is not a lot to do there, we rode into Lexington one day. So this makes it a great place to 'relax' and do nothing. We enjoyed a glass of wine overlooking a 'babbling creek', very relaxing. I had read other reviews about the trains, so was not shocked when several came by. It would be a great place for a 'girlfriends' get away as well.

Room Tip: We were in the Franklin Room. It had a jacuzzi tub as well as shower in it. Love the sheets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I took my husband for his birthday to unwind. The Hummingbird Inn did the trick. We felt at ease and the Inn is a lovely retreat with lots of nooks and crannies that help maintain privacy. We used the massage service and were very pleased. The trains over night take a little getting used to as well as the winding roads into town, but the scenery and comfort of the Inn more than make up for it!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrysville, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful, relaxing time. Our room was spacious and comfortable; the morning breakfasts were delicious. You can simply relax or explore the area - shopping, sites and history. Worth the trip!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hightstown, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

The Inn provided us with a wonderful Spring stay. Our host and hostess did everything with grace and the rooms and the breakfasts were excellent. The Inn is spacious, charming, and immaculate. Someday we will return. The location was midway between NJ and the Smoky Mountains, surrounded by lovely towns and hiking areas.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOS
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We arrived late at night and had to leave that next morning, but we enjoyed our time there so much. Thoughtful without being fussy, delicious breakfast, fresh air surroundings, and very comfortable bed and linens. Would drive out of our way to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

This place is perfect for a weekend away. Patty and Dan are great hosts - they seriously think of everything and have made the inn really welcoming and comfortable. The breakfast both days was amazing and they provide lots of extra goodies that were great for our hike in Douthat State Park. Patty and Dan answered every question we had about where to go and what to do. They really know everything going on in the area and have partnered with other local businesses to give guests discounts and nice little gifts. The only possible drawback is that the location is remote enough that it was a 25-30 minute drive to restaurants. At the end of a long day seeing the sights, that's a bummer, but it's also charming that Goshen is small and remote.

Room Tip: The Teter-Wood room has its own little outside patio with seating and a little table. We drank our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Hummingbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hummingbird Inn

Address: 30 Wood Lane, Goshen, VA 24439-0147
Location: United States > Virginia > Goshen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Goshen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hummingbird Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a romantic setting and warm country hospitality in our unique bed and breakfast, a Victorian Carpenter Gothic Inn situated in the Virginia railroad town of Goshen. The Inn is centrally located near scenic Goshen Pass on the western edge of the Shenandoah Valley, in a small triangle defined by Lexington, Staunton, and Warm Springs / Hot Springs.Outside the Inn, stroll around an acre of landscaped grounds. Sit on the deck or lie in the hammock and listen to the sounds of the Mill Creek, in the evening, light a fire in the chiminea and enjoy the crisp fall air. For the outdoor lovers, we are close to trails for hiking, biking, plus swimming and kayaking in the Maury River.If you're looking for peace and quiet, cozy and comfortable surroundings that feel like home, we welcome you to our Inn. Come and enjoy Fall in the Shenandoah Valley! And we're dog-friendly too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Hummingbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hummingbird Hotel Goshen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hummingbird Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.