We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“train shakes” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Hummingbird Inn

Save Saved
You added The Hummingbird Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hummingbird Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   30 Wood Lane, Goshen, VA 24439-0147   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Goshen B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“train shakes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The owners of the inn are really sweet and helpful. But with railroad tracks running right in front of the inn and trains passing at midnight, 2 am and 7 am each night, shaking the house and tooting loudly, this was not our idea of an idealic serene getaway.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyanddan, Owner at The Hummingbird Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
We are sorry to hear that the trains bothered you and that the ear plugs provided didn't help to take the edge off for you.. Being in the country with a track in front of the house... the empty coal car trains do pass by randomly... sometimes multiple times, sometimes not at all... we wish we had a schedule or could do something about it - but we don't and we can't.... so sorry!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
112
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful time at this B&B. Two nights didn't seem long enough. Patti and Dan were such great host. We were the first guest to arrive so Dan gave us a tour of the house and all the bedrooms. They were very welcoming and encouraged their guest to spend time in all the public areas of the house. We stayed in the Eleanor room which had the most comfortable king bed. The room was on the front of the house so we did hear trains throughout the night but it didn't bother us... too much. We will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyanddan, Owner at The Hummingbird Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words! We are always happy to hear when new guests enjoy their stay... and we certainly will look forward to seeing you both again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC/Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

My husband and I stay at B&B's very frequently and I have to say that Patty and Dan were by far the most gracious hosts we've ever encountered. They went above and beyond. Always asking if there was anything they could get us or do for us. We felt like we were staying at the Ritz. They were friendly and kind and their entire home is open to you for your comfort. There is a beautiful wrap around porch where you can enjoy a nice glass of wine and a good book. Breakfast both days was wonderful and oh..the scones were so yummy! I will tell you the home Inn is located next to a train track which goes by several times a night, which woke me up but I was always able to get back to sleep. Although this can be a little bothersome, it was also kinda cool at the same time. You will love staying here!

Room Tip: we stayed in the largest room with the Jacuzzi hot tub! Was an aweseome room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyanddan, Owner at The Hummingbird Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
We certainly appreciate your wonderful comments and are so very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Inn! We sure hope you'll find time to come back again! thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley, NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We have just returned from a two night stay at the Hummingbird Inn, and we were very happy with our choice. Dan and Patty are very good hosts, and the inn was both lovely and spotless. We stayed in the Alleghany Room, which is on the second floor in the front of the home. The bed was very comfortable, and the bath had a whirlpool tub to help soak away sore hiking muscles. The public rooms of the Hummingbird are beautiful, and guests are encouraged to use them. I would be remiss if I didn't mention the trains, which do pass by the home ( the inn is named after a train, after all ). That said, we did not mind the trains, and would definitely recommend this inn.

Room Tip: Train buffs would prefer the two rooms in the front of the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyanddan, Owner at The Hummingbird Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and for understanding about our trains.... liked that you commented on the fact that the Inn is named after the original passenger train that would stop in front of the house back in the late 1800's/ early 1900's... so much history here... so much country! We hope we'll see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This was our first experience with a bed and breakfast and we could not ask for a better one. Dan and Patty were such great hostess and made the experience wonderful. Their hospitality is phenomenal. They thought of everything you could possibly need for your stay there.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Robinson which I loved...it was in the back of the house, private bath and hallway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyanddan, Owner at The Hummingbird Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
We are always excited to hear from a 'first time' b&b'r.... Thank you for you wonderful comments and so glad that you enjoyed your stay.... Hopefully you'll give more b&b's a try now too... that is, if you promise to come back here again too! thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juliet0205
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Had a great stay at the Hummingbird Inn in mid- April. Could not hope for better hosts; Dan and Patty are warm and welcoming without being overbearing or intrusive. They have thought of every possible detail to make the stay enjoyable. Beautiful rooms, lovely breakfast, interesting other guests. All in all a wonderful experience. :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyanddan, Owner at The Hummingbird Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to do a review for us! very much appreciated.... and for the kind and thoughtful words... We do hope you'll find time to come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We spent a wonderful weekend at Hummingbird Inn. Patty and Dan are wonderful hosts and they made us feel at home. The house is beautiful, the food is excellent, and there's always chocolate available ;) There are a lot of things to do nearby and if you love horses, Virginia Horse Center is just a short drive away! Loved everything about this place and will be coming back.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyanddan, Owner at The Hummingbird Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
We apologize for our lateness in saying thank you for writing this very nice review! We sincerely appreciate you're taking the time to do so... Thank you for your thoughtful comments and we do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hummingbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hummingbird Inn

Address: 30 Wood Lane, Goshen, VA 24439-0147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Goshen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Goshen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hummingbird Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a romantic setting and warm country hospitality in our unique bed and breakfast, a Victorian Carpenter Gothic Inn situated in the Virginia railroad town of Goshen. The Inn is centrally located near scenic Goshen Pass on the western edge of the Shenandoah Valley, in a small triangle defined by Lexington, Staunton, and Warm Springs / Hot Springs.Outside the Inn, stroll around an acre of landscaped grounds. Sit on the deck or lie in the hammock and listen to the sounds of the Mill Creek, in the evening, light a fire in the chiminea and enjoy the crisp fall air. For the outdoor lovers, we are close to trails for hiking, biking, plus swimming and kayaking in the Maury River.If you're looking for peace and quiet, cozy and comfortable surroundings that feel like home, we welcome you to our Inn. Come and enjoy Fall in the Shenandoah Valley! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, T4B, Tingo, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Expedia and Venere so you can book your The Hummingbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hummingbird Hotel Goshen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hummingbird Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.