We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Past, Present, and Future” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hummingbird Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Hummingbird Inn to your Saves list
The Hummingbird Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   30 Wood Lane, Goshen, VA 24439-0147   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Goshen B&B and Inns
Spotswood, New Jersey
1 review
“Past, Present, and Future”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The Hummingbird Inn was a restful escape from the modern world. Patty and Dan were gracious hosts that made us feel at home. Our room was spotless and very nicely decorated and breakfast was delicious. The inn and its location does offer a glimpse into the past, present and future. The inn was present when the town of Goshen was an up and coming tourist town and sat directly across from the train station in the 1800s. Now it offers us an escape from the stress and rush of our modern world and a destination that lets us enjoy the beauty of nature as well as the beauty of the inn, yet is within easy driving distance of the two lovely towns of Staunton and Lexington. I see the inn having an even more important future as modern life becomes more urban and more stressful. We need to connect with the beauty of nature and with our roots. The Hummingbird Inn is a great place to do both. And yes, there really are hummingbirds, lots of them.

Room Tip: Trains still do pass the Inn, ask for a room in the back for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    14
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
121
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I had a lovely 2 night stay at The Hummingbird Inn recently. The home is very large, the grounds are gorgeous and the king size bed was very comfortable. Dan and Patti are wonderful hosts. They served delicious food for breakfast as well as snacks. They were able to offer great suggestions of things to do and places to see in the area. We will definitely return and recommend them to friends. The only downside was the noise from the passing trains very close to the house.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Quaint little bed and breakfast with beautiful grounds! My first thought? What a beautiful place for a wedding!! Bed was comfortable and we had a private side entrance to our room- we were in the only downstairs room. Good sized inn which allowed for visitors to enjoy the property and not be on top of each other. Breakfast was delicious and filling. Appreciated the hospitality: 24 hour access to beverages (water, soda, coffee, etc) , the baked treats as well as the freedom to utilize their tv, books, puzzles and games. The passing trains didn't last long and though others swear they ran during the night, we never heard one while we slept. Goshen has an interesting history... Be sure to read about it! Goshen is a very small town, but its residents are welcoming. Only downside of the inn is that you really do need to leave Goshen unless you are one who is into the outdoors. Lexington and Staunton are nearby (20-30min) and have a ton of entertainment and restaurant options. If you need recommendations just ask Patti and Dan! Just be prepared when you leave for the day as the inn isn't a place you would easily return to if you wanted to freshen up and then go back out for dinner. We had a great time and are thankful that we came across their Groupon offer!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

One of the most relaxing B&B we have stayed in. Dan and Patti are great. Breakfast was wonderfull both days that we stayed. Looking for places to go? Ask Dan he has information off the top of his head for just about everything around. The bed was comfortable and the robes are magnificent (like being inside a teddy bear) Makes your mate really nice to hug. For a quick snack or great banana split try Sarahs Burgers and Shakes (about 8 miles away. Local food was good (B&G's 8oz burger under $5.00). Only real draw back are the trains going by. After the first, you kind of get use to them. The humming birds are plentiful, and sitting by the babbling brook is very relaxing (need mosqito spray when in season).

Room Tip: A bit quieter towards the back of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast and we enjoyed our experience so much! My husband and I stayed for two nights in early July to get away and celebrate our anniversary. When we first arrived, Dan meet us at the door and gave us the tour of the house and beautiful grounds. We enjoyed two delicious breakfasts served by Dan. Dan was very knowledgable of the area and recommended some great restaurants for dinner. We enjoyed hiking in the gorgeous Virginia mountains. We hope to return sometime and highly recommend staying at the Hummingbird Inn!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We cannot say enough good things about this B&B! Patti was out of town for the weekend so Dan was our host. He was incredibly welcoming, friendly and helpful. He provided us with lots of detailed suggestions for things to do in the area. Throughout our stay I found myself remarking about how EVERY detail was attended to in order to make our stay extremely comfortable. They seriously thought of everything! From the ear plugs in the drawer to the flashlight on the keychain for when it's dark outside. The bed and sheets were so luxurious. Breakfast was very tasty and small treats (candies, brownies, soft drinks) aplenty were located throughout the house for snacking. Nearby Lexington, Staunton and other small towns offer plenty to do and see. We will definitely be back again in the future. Cannot recommend this place highly enough!

Room Tip: The first-floor room offers privacy and its own door to outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powhatan, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Hummingbird Inn is a quaint B&B tucked away in the middle of nowhere. The house is clean and homey. The yards are well kept and scenic. There's a creek that runs behind the inn with a deck, fire pit, table and chairs and a hammock overlooking it. This made for a quiet and relaxing spot to unwind. We went with a Groupon for our visit. Dan and Patty are both very personable and easy to talk to. The breakfasts were pretty good each morning. We were a little disappointed by some of the "amenities". The "prepared picnic lunch" consisted of a small package of wafers, a small package of cheese, a small package of pepperoni, and a small bag of chips ahoy cookies. There were some other small packages of odds ends, but certainly nothing that consisted of a lunch. The beverages in the fridge were something like Cola King. Our jacuzzi tub (the reason we selected the room we did), didn't work. We definitely did get the impression that a lot of cost cutting corners were taken. We're all for that, but perhaps they should be in ways less obvious to guests. We drove into Lexington during both of our days there and found plenty of things to occupy our time. Patty and Dan do a great job of making sure guests have access to lots of information about things to do in the area. There are huge porches surrounding the inn with hummingbird feeders hanging from multiple spots. There's no shortage of hummingbirds! The yard was also home to a family of bunnies who made regular appearances. The train tracks are directly in front of the inn. We actually enjoyed hearing the trains pass. All in all, we had a quiet and relaxing get away.

Room Tip: The Teterwood is the only room on the 1st floor. If you want privacy, this is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hummingbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hummingbird Inn

Address: 30 Wood Lane, Goshen, VA 24439-0147
Location: United States > Virginia > Goshen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Goshen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hummingbird Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a romantic setting and warm country hospitality in our unique bed and breakfast, a Victorian Carpenter Gothic Inn situated in the Virginia railroad town of Goshen. The Inn is centrally located near scenic Goshen Pass on the western edge of the Shenandoah Valley, in a small triangle defined by Lexington, Staunton, and Warm Springs / Hot Springs.Outside the Inn, stroll around an acre of landscaped grounds. Sit on the deck or lie in the hammock and listen to the sounds of the Mill Creek, in the evening, light a fire in the chiminea and enjoy the crisp fall air. For the outdoor lovers, we are close to trails for hiking, biking, plus swimming and kayaking in the Maury River.If you're looking for peace and quiet, cozy and comfortable surroundings that feel like home, we welcome you to our Inn. Come and enjoy Fall in the Shenandoah Valley! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Hummingbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hummingbird Hotel Goshen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hummingbird Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.