We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Getaway” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Hummingbird Inn

Save Saved
You added The Hummingbird Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hummingbird Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   30 Wood Lane, Goshen, VA 24439-0147   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Room with Chocolates
Ranked #1 of 1 Goshen B&B and Inns
Powhatan, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing Getaway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Hummingbird Inn is a quaint B&B tucked away in the middle of nowhere. The house is clean and homey. The yards are well kept and scenic. There's a creek that runs behind the inn with a deck, fire pit, table and chairs and a hammock overlooking it. This made for a quiet and relaxing spot to unwind. We went with a Groupon for our visit. Dan and Patty are both very personable and easy to talk to. The breakfasts were pretty good each morning. We were a little disappointed by some of the "amenities". The "prepared picnic lunch" consisted of a small package of wafers, a small package of cheese, a small package of pepperoni, and a small bag of chips ahoy cookies. There were some other small packages of odds ends, but certainly nothing that consisted of a lunch. The beverages in the fridge were something like Cola King. Our jacuzzi tub (the reason we selected the room we did), didn't work. We definitely did get the impression that a lot of cost cutting corners were taken. We're all for that, but perhaps they should be in ways less obvious to guests. We drove into Lexington during both of our days there and found plenty of things to occupy our time. Patty and Dan do a great job of making sure guests have access to lots of information about things to do in the area. There are huge porches surrounding the inn with hummingbird feeders hanging from multiple spots. There's no shortage of hummingbirds! The yard was also home to a family of bunnies who made regular appearances. The train tracks are directly in front of the inn. We actually enjoyed hearing the trains pass. All in all, we had a quiet and relaxing get away.

Room Tip: The Teterwood is the only room on the 1st floor. If you want privacy, this is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
112
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern VA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have stayed at over 50 B&B's and the Hummingbird Inn was one of the best ever. Patty was away so Dan was in charge for the time we stayed there. When you first arrive Dan gives a detailed tour of the property which includes a fully stocked Den with books, games, puzzles, desktop computer with wifi and printer, TV and DVD player. There are piles of brochures for just about anything you want to do nearby and far. There is also a guest fridge stocked with water, juice, and sodas all of the time.
Family room the largest, softest couch ever. I laid down reading on it and lost track of time. The sun room adjacent to the family room also provides a wonderful reading place or resting place overlooking the side and front yard.
The dining room is fully stocked 24/7 with Keurig coffee, hot chocolate and hot tea with all of the accompaniments. I worked on a puzzle in the dinning room which allowed for great conversations with Dan and other guests.
We stayed on the first floor Teeter room which was perfect. It is the most private room if you are looking for that with your own entrance (although we never used it) to the beautiful backyard. The bed is pillowtop with the softest sheets ever. Four pillows and a lightweight down-comforter. The room is large with a sitting area and en suite with a stand up shower. Patty and Dan provide ear plugs, flash lights, matches, candles, wine bottle opener with glasses, There is plenty of storage in the room and bathroom for you to stow away all of your personal belongings. The room is also dark with the shades drawn for those of you who prefer to sleep and wake up in darker rooms.
The breakfast is served at 9 both days were amazing! Egg frittata with bacon, fruit and roasted pots and a baked french toast to die for. If you are an early riser they leave out pastries until breakfast is served.
Some notes:
Like all of mentioned the house is near trains. It will wake you up but you fall back to sleep easily as they run less on the weekends. So bring a sound machine they provide ear plugs for you.
There is only 1 restaurant in Goshen. So make sure to plan your day accordingly if you get the munchies no one is going to come and deliver your food.
Follow Dan's directions GPS leads you to super scary horror film like roads. He knows what he is talking about
They provide soup, lotion, shampoo, shower cap.
There is a rooster next door although he didn't make any sounds sunrise but did it throughout the day instead which was entertaining.

All in all this is a gem in the middle of tiny town but close enough to experience and see new things. We will definitely be back. Dan was great!

Stephanie - Woodbridge VA

Room Tip: Teeter wood is on the first level away from the rest of the rooms. Lots of privacy, pillow top bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is the first time we have ever stayed at a Bed & Breakfast...The Hummingbird Inn is the perfect getaway for a few days or even a week. The house is full of history, hummingbirds of course as well as the historic areas that are only 25 minutes away...Dan & Patty know the places to visit, places to eat and serve a wonderful breakfast...Since we have never been to Lexington or Staunton , Patty suggested several great tours and places to visit. I would recommend The Hummingbird Inn for the fall season. We will definitely stay again .... in the fall season..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The Inn itself is lovely- quaint and full of history. Patty and Dan are great hosts and showed us around the house when we arrived. There are snacks and drinks available most of the time, which was a nice touch.

The main negative was that they did not turn the air conditioning on during our stay- which occurred in late June. When we arrived, Dan told us that the next day would be air conditioning day- i.e. that he would turn on the a/c. We left for several hours and didn't think much about it until we tried to go to sleep. Despite opening every window in the room and in the bathroom and turning on the ceiling fan it was still quite warm and difficult to sleep. Having all the windows open also made the noise from the trains more irritating. The heat and the train noise certainly made for a less than pleasant evening. The next day we ate breakfast and left to go explore the area. We didnt say anything to our 'hosts' because they had assured us they were turning on the a/c on Saturday. Unfortunately, when we returned late that evening they had not turned on the a/c after all. We did not want to wake them up so we suffered through yet another uncomfortable night.

If a person does not want to turn on the a/c in their private home, to save a little money, that is their decision. However, when you have guests who have paid a good deal of money to stay at your B&B you should put their comfort over your own cheapness. It was remarkably inconsiderate and dampened our enjoyment of the weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HummingbirdInnkeeper, Owner at The Hummingbird Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
We are so sorry that your experience at the Hummingbird Inn was not up to your expectations, or ours.
It is always difficult this time of year, to gauge when is the optimal time to "bring on the a/c".
It is not a matter of saving money, and you are correct in stating it should be, and is, about the guest.
As our air conditioners are individual window units, it is always a little more than just flipping a switch.
That Saturday got away from us,,,,rest assured, the a/c was up and running by Sunday.
Thank you for your comment, and we pledge to be more attentive to the weather and how it affects our guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

If you're looking for a really relaxing and picturesque getaway, I highly recommend the Hummingbird Inn in Goshen Virginia. It's located in an quaint, old house that is oozing with Southern country charm. The proprietors, Patty and Dan, will treat you like family and make you feel like you never want to go back home. Patty is a gourmet chef and will fix you a breakfast fit for a king.You can just chill out there or visit some of the coolest, most charming Southern towns just down the road. I like Lexington, which was Stonewall Jackson's home. Tour his home and VMI, the college that he taught at before the Civil War, and you can't help but feel overwhelmed with his greatness and his enduring presence. We were totally impressed with all that we learned about America's greatest general. He and Robert E Lee are both buried in the same cemetery there. Imagine that. Take the horse drawn carriage tour of this beautiful, historic town. The driver/owner will give you the tour of your life. Also VMI and
Washington and Lee Universities are located there. Just before going there, please view the movie about Stonewall and Lee called "Gods and Generals". We actually stayed there several years back, having visited all the way from California. The pull down below is too limited. I guess they are looking for resent travel tips.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs, they're quieter, but less private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Spent a lovely 2 nights at this cozy B&B. As others have mentioned, Patty and Dan are wonderful hosts. Upon arrival I was given a tour of the inn that not only helped to get acclimated to the property but also provided wonderful history of the inn (which was originally a one-room trading post back in the 1700's--and original hardwood is still in place today!). And they are eager to offer suggestions on where to eat and what to do in the area (don't leave without a scenic drive through the Goshen Pass on 39, and stop for a picnic or a swim if you can). There are several rooms to relax in--with puzzles, books, and magazines galore--if you just want to putt around the place, as well as the wraparound porches with plenty of seating and a cozy area by the creek on the back of the property.

I stayed in the Eleanor room which was great. However, it faces the front of the house, so stay away if you are a light sleeper (there are train tracks not 50 ft from the house), though ear plugs are available and you will hear the train in all the rooms. This is the only reason this place loses points for me, but it wouldn't keep me from returning. The bed was very comfortable with amazingly soft sheets and there is a working stove for the winter months. The night air was cool during my stay, so the ceiling fan was more than enough, but if you're addicted to AC, this inn is not the place for you.

Oh! And don't oversleep because breakfast is served at 9am. And Dan and Patty actually serve you, what a treat! Delicious fresh fruit, wonderful egg creations, and yummy muffins are just a summary of what you'll get. Hot coffee and tea available in the morning and a Kureg with many k-cup options available if you need a caffeine fix later in the day.

So overall, The Hummingbird Inn is highly recommended and I hope to be returning soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The attention to detail by the owners is the best we have ever experienced at a B&B. Patty was such a gracious host. She even made our dog feel like a special guest with her own treats. The grounds are immaculate and a delight to take an early morning or evening stroll. The breakfasts were great. The availability of beverages (both hot and cold) at anytime was also welcome. The goody bag and special extras made it a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: The downstairs pet friendly room had a private entrance to the grounds and a nice porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hummingbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hummingbird Inn

Address: 30 Wood Lane, Goshen, VA 24439-0147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Goshen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Goshen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hummingbird Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a romantic setting and warm country hospitality in our unique bed and breakfast, a Victorian Carpenter Gothic Inn situated in the Virginia railroad town of Goshen. The Inn is centrally located near scenic Goshen Pass on the western edge of the Shenandoah Valley, in a small triangle defined by Lexington, Staunton, and Warm Springs / Hot Springs.Outside the Inn, stroll around an acre of landscaped grounds. Sit on the deck or lie in the hammock and listen to the sounds of the Mill Creek, in the evening, light a fire in the chiminea and enjoy the crisp fall air. For the outdoor lovers, we are close to trails for hiking, biking, plus swimming and kayaking in the Maury River.If you're looking for peace and quiet, cozy and comfortable surroundings that feel like home, we welcome you to our Inn. Come and enjoy Fall in the Shenandoah Valley! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, T4B, Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Hummingbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hummingbird Hotel Goshen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hummingbird Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.