We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hummingbird Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Hummingbird Inn to your Saves list
The Hummingbird Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   30 Wood Lane, Goshen, VA 24439-0147   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Goshen B&B and Inns
Mount Airy, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband is a train buff and chose The Hummingbird Inn for a weekend away from our busy, chaotic, demanding schedules. The Inn is situated in a very small town across the street from an active railroad. It is located within 30 minutes of Staunton, Lexington and Hot Springs, VA. This location lends itself to peaceful driving through farmland and mountains. The gorgeous Goshen pass is 5 minutes away from the Inn. We stayed in the Allegany room. This is one of the largest rooms that includes an antique canopy queen sized bed, sitting area, electric fireplace, and writing desk. The room has an en-suite. The large 3 piece bathroom has a jacuzzi for two as well. I was pleased to find luxury toiletries, makeup cloth, soft robes and big thick bath linens. The rooms here do not have TV's! This was the best part. I enjoyed walking into our room and hearing the internet radio playing soothing music. We were also supplied with wine glasses, corkscrew, matches, a picnic bag full of snacks and little scrubs and lotions. The room was immaculate and all in working order. I have stayed in several B&B's and found our hosts, Patty and Dan friendly and unassuming. They were there to greet us upon arrival, give us information and actual maps for our day trips. One night we were sitting quietly on the veranda and out of nowhere comes Dan with a plate of chocolates, strawberries and wine. There we enjoyed our treats while listening to the frogs and stream. I love that they have thought of everything. There is a private deck next to the stream and barn where you can build a fire and sit for a spell. All the supplies needed to build the little fire were there should one be inclined. Coffee, tea, snacks and drinks are provided. They have negotiated substantial discounts at area businesses and give you a card to use during your stay to receive the discounts. Breakfast was good each day. A word about the train- I was aware prior to our stay of the active trains close to the inn. I admit I was a bit uneasy about the train roaring through the first night. By the way, earplugs are provided in each room. By the second night, I was excited to see and hear the train come by and dare I say disappointed that I wouldn't hear the trains anymore when we left. I am happy to say this Inn is pet friendly. A welcome surprise and good option for some folks with well behaved small dogs. We wished we had booked at least 3 nights at this inn. We didn't have time to enjoy reading a book in the solarium. Thank you to Patty and Dan for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    14
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
121
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We planned to stay for 2 nights and ended up spending 3 because we loved it so much we didn't want to leave! Patty and Dan are awesome hosts-- they have thought of everything to make their guests as comfortable and as welcome as possible, from the softest sheets on the planet, to the delicious cookies she puts out every afternoon, the stocked fridge, and the availability of the living
room and the cozy den. They built fires for us and really went out of their way to please us. Breakfast was always very well prepared and delicious! There was always coffee and tea available, as well as a thoughtful selection of bottled waters, juice and soft drinks. There are a ton of things to read as well as dvds if you just want to stay in and chill, although the area has plenty to do. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: There is one guest room on the ground level, so if you have a problem with stairs this may be for y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond,virginia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is our 3rd visit to The Hummingbird Inn, 2nd since Patty and Dan became the hosts, and as long as they continue to run the Inn, we will be regular visitors to this great establishment!

First off, I have to say that we have been now visiting B&B's for 20 years, since our very first visit to the Hummingbird Inn in 1993. That experience was SO wonderful, it "hooked" us on choosing bed and breakfasts over hotels every chance we get! There can be a night and day difference between all the many B&B's you can stay at, but, honestly, THE HUMMINGBIRD INN has been our ABSOLUTE BEST, ABSOLUTE FAVORITE, AND MOST ENJOYABLE OF ALL the 20 yrs of B&B's we have visited, because of Patty and Dan's wonderful attention to detail, their hospitality, kindness and warmth! They truly are the epitome of southern hospitality, and they go out of their way to be sure that your visit is what YOU want it to be, and to help you make it as enjoyable, relaxing or fruitful as you choose it be.

If you read my review written 3/12/12, I give very specific details of all the niceties and amenities that Patty and Dan offer at their Inn, most of which is well "above and beyond" what you will experience at most other B&B's. Just to mention a few, the beds are soooo comfortable, the sheets and comforters and supersoft blankets are absolutely heavenly, the extra niceties of a water/juice/soda complimentary frig for the guests, the Kurig coffee maker with tea/coffee, apple cider, hot chocolate and baked goods offered all day/night, treats/candies/snacks all about in the rooms and in the common areas, fabulously delicious and very filling fresh hot cooked breakfasts, a 2nd small frig in the rear of the inn for guests own use for restaurant leftovers, and extremely comfortable , cozy seating areas in the living room, several areas on the double wrap-around porches, in the yard, back at the mountain stream running down the back of their property on a deck with chimenea, or their sunroom. All wonderful and worth taking advantage of to read, relax, rejuvenate, or have a picnic lunch.

The inn is centrally located for the area, so just a 30 minute drive or less to many great areas and wonderful small (and larger) towns to visit for the day, have dinner, then come back and enjoy the inn, or just do as we did this visit and stay at the inn and just RELAX! It ALL works for this great establishment, and Patty and Dan are full of information about anything special going on in the area during your visit, and give a little "run down" after breakfast to make sure that everybody knows about anything they may want to take advantage of while here. They have also set up "specials" with many different establishments within driving distances from the inn, so you can get some great discounts at restaurants, activities, etc, with their own special "discount card".

We had come up last year, exact same time, for Hubby's birthday, and Patty was kind enough to again get an order in for a birthday cake I had requested, from a local baker, which was delicious, but then she and Dan also delighted my husband with a private rendition of "Happy Birthday", in harmony, which was great! : )))) We were able to have a special little birthday party with them that evening, which really helped "make" his birthday day complete!

Several B&B's we have stayed at in the past had the feeling we were staying at a Hampton Inn, i.e., you barely , if EVER, even saw the owners, or if you did see them, it was as though they didn't even really "like" to be dealing with the public, and even once, at A DIFFERENT B&B (NO NAMES MENTIONED TO THE ESTABLISHMENT, BUT) that manager had the audacity to actually DEMAND, at the first morning as she got ready to serve breakfast, that everybody "pay up" a "tip" to her, right then and there, and in advance of the stay,(unbelievable), etc,so, in other words, there really is no 'SET WAY" to run a B&B, i.e. , as long as there is a "bed" and some" sort of breakfast," the B and B has done what was required.

HOWEVER, when you stay at the Hummingbird, you will be amazed at how Patty and Dan go sooooo well over not just the expected, but give so much of the UNexpected and such wonderful service, that I told them I really think they should give SEMINARS on HOW TO RUN a successful Bed and Breakfast, because they have hit it, RIGHT ON THE MARK, AND WELL BEYOND! Some I am not sure can be taught, as it is also their terrific personalities, but,wow, they have it down pat! (Besides seeing my first review on 3/12/12 for greater details, also see their website and watch the video they have posted to get a better view of the inn).

Hats off to both of them, and , we would most definitely agree with what others have also stated, in that when you stay here at the Hummingbird Inn, Patty and Dan make you feel like you are a friend, or family, not just a client, and isn't that what TRUE southern hospitality is really all about?

Room Tip: the trains are much less than they were 20 years ago, but if you think they may bother you, you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyanddan, Owner at The Hummingbird Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
My goodness you are too kind! Its always wonderful when guests return again and again.. just like old friends! Glad we were able to add to the birthday celebration - it was fun! Thank you for doing such a thorough overview of the Inn... we sincerely appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband and I loved staying there. The inn was so intimate in setting, unique in character, and excellent in service and hopsitality. The bed and pillows were so comfortable, the breakfast was delicious, and we got to meet wonderful couples there. It's a hidden gem in Goshen. Thank you Dan and Patty for making this special time with my husband all we hoped it would be and more.

Room Tip: We loved having both a fan and a fire place in our room. We stayed in the Franklin room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This was our second stay at the Hummingbird, and we'll definitely be back. The rooms are well appointed, the breakfast s ate always delicious, and Dan and Patty are the most gracious of hosts, who are very knowledgeable ablit thr area and have quality recommendations for dining and activities in the area. A weekend stay is the perfect way to relax. We're looking forward to returning in the summer or fall so we can enjoy the great wrap around porch.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The Hummingbird Inn is nestled in a charming little town of Goshen, Virginia. As soon as you pull up to the Inn, you are immediately struck by its charm, and it gets even better as you enter. The Inn keepers couldn't have been nicer or more welcoming. The rooms are very cozy and clean. The beds are very comfortable, and give you a good nights sleep. The breakfasts are outstanding, tasty and filling; so good in fact, you would like to ask for seconds. The closest towns are Lexington and Staunton, VA. Both are charming and have a lot of history, and very good restaurants. In addition, there are some of the best wineries Virginia has to offer in a short driving distance from the Inn. All in all, our stay was wonderful and Susan and I look forward to returning. We will definitely recommend to our friends and co-workers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Enjoyed the Hummingbird tremendously. We were looking for a get away from it all weekend, and that is what we had.

Ambience? The ambience was perfect to our taste - laid back, loaded with character, yet homey, well suited to the surroundings and to the era of the Roosevelts.. We had the Eleanor room - the room was enhanced by a gas fieplace, plus wing chairs, an era appropriate desk, and sitting table at which to enjoy a glass of wine - the wine glasses were already there waiting. Good that it is not overly "Victorian" like a painted dollhouse, not stuffy, not an overabundence of expensive antiques -

Train? Well yes I was worried about it, because I tend to be a light sleeper.. It did pass by 4 times the first night (!) and only once the second night. But although I heard it, (you get the warning whistle first), I fell immediately back to sleep.

Location? We first arrived at dusk, and thought - uh-oh this little street (not really a street, but a gravel road), looks unwelcoming and a bit shabby. Once inside we saw how lovingly the home was restored, and by day we realized we were in a perfectly beautiful scene.

It's a bit far from good restaurants - but we made the short trip to Lexington both nights - which was well worth the 20 minute ride. There is a also a more convenient every-day type restaurant right around the corner.

We took the opportunity to enjoy a fire in the chiminea by the creek; and were fortunate to catch one of those perfect Fall weekends, just 1 week prior to peak "leaf" season. Enjoyed the Roosevelt memorabilia scattered about, and the hosts have also provided plenty of touring information about the local vicinity.

Food - Again perfect for us - not over-the-top gourmet and rich, but still finer than one would cook for themselves at home......cornbread with bacon in it, omelets, cinnamon bread French toast - that kind of thing.
Anything I would change? Oh it's so picky I'm amost reluctant to mention it - but it was important to my husband - we both like (need!) our coffee quite a bit stronger than what was offered! Perhaps for other guests, it might have been just fine - but I really like that good cup of coffee in the morning.

I would love to go back next Fall - same weekend, and if possible, visit the Inn at other times of the year too.
Interesting note - there was one other guest there who had returned numerous times. Although we are somewhat local (Maryland) - there were two other couples who had traveled from Florida and other states - just to come here. Kind of tells you something.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter which room you pick - you will still hear the train. Take the time to enjoy the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hummingbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hummingbird Inn

Address: 30 Wood Lane, Goshen, VA 24439-0147
Location: United States > Virginia > Goshen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Goshen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hummingbird Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a romantic setting and warm country hospitality in our unique bed and breakfast, a Victorian Carpenter Gothic Inn situated in the Virginia railroad town of Goshen. The Inn is centrally located near scenic Goshen Pass on the western edge of the Shenandoah Valley, in a small triangle defined by Lexington, Staunton, and Warm Springs / Hot Springs.Outside the Inn, stroll around an acre of landscaped grounds. Sit on the deck or lie in the hammock and listen to the sounds of the Mill Creek, in the evening, light a fire in the chiminea and enjoy the crisp fall air. For the outdoor lovers, we are close to trails for hiking, biking, plus swimming and kayaking in the Maury River.If you're looking for peace and quiet, cozy and comfortable surroundings that feel like home, we welcome you to our Inn. Come and enjoy Fall in the Shenandoah Valley! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Hummingbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hummingbird Hotel Goshen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hummingbird Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.