We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pinnacle of Rest & Relaxation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hummingbird Inn

Save Saved
You added The Hummingbird Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hummingbird Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   30 Wood Lane, Goshen, VA 24439-0147   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Goshen B&B and Inns
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Pinnacle of Rest & Relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our first wedding anniversary at the Hummingbird Inn. We had never been to a bed and breakfast before, and I'm happy to say that we had a wonderful experience. This place is very quiet and the house is beautiful. The breakfast was amazing, and we couldn't have asked for more gracious hosts. We are so impressed with our stay---we definitely recommend this place to anyone seeking a relaxing time away from the daily grind. It's in a very scenic region of Virginia and just a short drive from several notable locations (Natural Bridge, Lexington, Staunton, James River, etc.). If you are going to stay at a Bed and Breakfast, we definitely recommend this place. We wished our trip didn't have to end!

Room Tip: The Teter-Wood is the only guest room on the 1st floor--this room is pet friendly and there is a pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
112
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Catonsville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The Hummingbird Inn is a wonderful Bed & Breakfast. The inn keepers Patty and Dan ensure you know the history of the house and provide you with information on any and all area attractions. The breakfast is fabulous and there are always some kind of snack or drinks available. On our trip we received a hikers pack with food, bug spray, lip balm and discount card. Pretty nice!
We stayed in the Franklin room - poster bed (very comfortable) and jacuzzi in the bathroom.
The yard is very large, nice deck with fire pit on the water. Wrap around porches and sunroom. All rooms have window A/C's.
Overall we loved it.

Room Tip: Goshen Pass is a must see and you can swim there also. Lexington and Stanton are both about 20 mile...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

From the moment you arrive at the Hummingbird Inn, you are infected by the heart-warming charm and sincerity of this bucolic retreat in western Virginia. Patty and Dan have built a comfortable paradise in quaint little Goshen, and it's the perfect home base for all kinds of exploration in Lexington, Staunton, Hot Springs, Natural Bridge, etc. But we didn't even want to leave! You could while away an entire day reading and dozing in the sun room, or when the weather's nice head to their deck to sway on the hammock to the soothing sounds of the stream at the back of their property. You will not find better hosts than Patty and Dan, who have gone to every effort to make the smallest details of your stay absolutely perfect. We traveled with our young dog, and upon arrival our room was already equipped with dog bowls, a towel in case she got damp/dirty outside, treats, plastic bags, cute books about dogs, etc. And they know how to make us humans feel at home too! The sheets are luxurious, the rooms are impeccable, and the breakfast is a delicious, jovial, and oft-informative way to start the day. Patty & Dan know everything about this historic home and the surrounding area, so they're a great resource for all your questions and curiosity. If you're traveling to Shenandoah, you will not find a better place to stay!

Room Tip: If you're traveling with a pet you'll be in the Teton-Woods room on the first floor -- it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Hummingbird Inn in May 2011 and enjoyed it so much we returned again this May. Patty and Dan are wonderful hosts and are so helpful planning your day(s) in the area. The Hummingbird Inn is centrally located between Lexington and Staunton and if you love wine, this is the area to come to! We love touring the local wineries and taking in the breathtaking scenery. A must stay when in the area!

Room Tip: We have stayed in a different room each time and have loved them both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

My (now) wife and I stayed at the Humming Bird in in April of 2011 and enjoyed it so much, we had our wedding here in May of 2012. The owners, Patty and Dan could not have been more helpful as we planned our destination wedding. It is in large part due to them that our wedding ended up being a perfect day instead of the nightmares you often hear about when talking about destination weddings.

The inn itself is located in a perfect location between Stanton and Lexington VA, offering 25-30 minute drives to either destination along with a variety of other outdoor activities nearby. The grounds continue to be immaculate - just like we found them in our previous stay. Dan even went the extra mile and mowed the (not inconsiderable) lawn for us on our wedding day because of the threat of rain.

After our wedding we stayed another three days at the Humminbird Inn to unwind before our honeymoon and whether we wanted to take a day trip somewhere, or just relax by the babbling stream behind the property, Dan and Patty were always happy to accommodate with a tip or suggestion.

My wife and I live in Baltimore now but truly consider the Hummingbird Inn to be our "home" in Virginia. Thanks Patty and Dan! You guys really made our special day extra special.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrboro, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We loved our stay at the Hummingbird Inn. Patti and Dave are amazing hosts and will make sure you're having a good time and can find where you're going in the area. They were just so chill! The room was wonderful (BEST linens I've ever slept in). I loved that we could bring our dog and had our own side entrance to take her out. I can't say enough good things about our stay in Goshen, it was a wonderful first time in a B&B!!

Room Tip: Dog-friendly room in on the bottom floor with a private door and side porch area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

We loved the Hummingbird Inn and Patty treated us just like family. We enjoyed our stay so much that we plan to go back soon. We had wonderful side trips into Lexington and Warm Springs which Patty had arranged and we enjoyed our stay immensely and highly recommend it to any bed and breakfast lovers.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hummingbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hummingbird Inn

Address: 30 Wood Lane, Goshen, VA 24439-0147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Goshen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Goshen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hummingbird Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a romantic setting and warm country hospitality in our unique bed and breakfast, a Victorian Carpenter Gothic Inn situated in the Virginia railroad town of Goshen. The Inn is centrally located near scenic Goshen Pass on the western edge of the Shenandoah Valley, in a small triangle defined by Lexington, Staunton, and Warm Springs / Hot Springs.Outside the Inn, stroll around an acre of landscaped grounds. Sit on the deck or lie in the hammock and listen to the sounds of the Mill Creek, in the evening, light a fire in the chiminea and enjoy the crisp fall air. For the outdoor lovers, we are close to trails for hiking, biking, plus swimming and kayaking in the Maury River.If you're looking for peace and quiet, cozy and comfortable surroundings that feel like home, we welcome you to our Inn. Come and enjoy Fall in the Shenandoah Valley! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Hummingbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hummingbird Hotel Goshen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hummingbird Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.