We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A weekend get a way at the Hummingbird Inn.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hummingbird Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Hummingbird Inn to your Saves list
The Hummingbird Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   30 Wood Lane, Goshen, VA 24439-0147   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Goshen B&B and Inns
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A weekend get a way at the Hummingbird Inn.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

One could not ask for anything more than what the Hummingbird inn has to offer. We found our weekend experience to be most rewarding. Our accommodations were of the highest in quality.
The owners and host of the inn went out of the way to make sure every need was met.

Room Tip: We are sure all rooms meet the highest of standard.Our room was "The Eleanor" .Named so be...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    14
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
121
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We discovered the Hummingbird via LivingSocial, and having stayed in B&Bs before, our expectations were high. Those expectations were exceeded. Dan and Patti take care of each and every guest with a level of service that will impress you, and knock it out of the park by tying in other vendors in the Lexington/Staunton area. We had a delicious dinner at brix, tasted wine at a winery, and ended up at a wine festival in Staunton that we heard about from a fellow guest over breakfast. To us, the integration with area activities made the stay extra-enjoyable.
Highlights:
- Dan presents a daily Things To Do briefing at breakfast, and detailed event/location information is stocked in each room. Super-easy to see the sights.
- The beds at the Hummingbird are so comfortable, and the sheets so soft, that you can buy them (the sheets). You will struggle to think of a reason not to.
- Eleanor Roosevelt stayed at the property during a visit to the area, and historical documentation of the stay makes you feel like you are a part of history.
- The inn sits beside a train track, and some amazingly long empty coal trains pass through a few times a day. The Hummingbird is so great that no one seemed to mind - it certainly didn't affect my sleep.
We would love to go back, especially in springtime.

Room Tip: The "Eleanor" room is the one Mrs. Roosevely stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

This was our third bed and breakfast experience, and one thing that sets the Hummingbird apart from our previous ones was the amount of personal care from the hosts. You'll notice that many reviews mention "Patti and Dan" by name; that's because they are part of the experience. The last place we stayed at, I had about two minutes of contact with the hostess, whose name I have completely forgotten, as she showed me to my room. That particular inn, also, had very little information readily available in the room--I had to hunt someone down to find out when breakfast was served. In comparison, as soon as we walked in the door of the Hummingbird, Dan met us, had us set our bags down, and gave us the grand tour of the inn, keeping up a running narration of the inn's "life story," and a bit of his own as well. Our previous bed and breakfast stay felt basically like staying in a hotel, except with somewhat eccentric interior decoration. The Hummingbird, as many have noted, feels like staying with relatives, mainly because Patti and Dan treat you like family. This affects the way the guests interact, too; at my last stay, I exchanged no more than a passing greeting with another guest; at the Hummingbird, all five couples bonded over the course of the weekend. There is still room for shy guests to keep to themselves, but the overall experience is still more enjoyable.

The other thing the Hummingbird does much better than my other stays is stock the rooms with information. The desk in the front hall has daily print-outs of events going on in the nearby towns, and the rooms have pamphlets for attractions. We purchased a Living Social package that came with extras like theatre tickets and restaurant vouchers; these were waiting for us in an envelope with maps of the area, driving directions, and Patti and Dan's descriptions of various nearby attractions, their hours, and how to get to them.

I should mention that the Hummingbird is sort of "in the middle of nowhere." This could be a con, but Patti and Dan have turned it into a pro. For one thing, it's on the edge of the huge George Washington National Forest, so for any outdoors types it's perfect for hiking, etc. It also means you drive through gorgeous, twisty mountain roads to get to it. The main centers of civilization, though, are two small towns, Lexington and Staunton, both about a half-hour's drive away. Patti and Dan, however, got so many local businesses into their LivingSocial package that we visited and enjoyed several places we wouldn't have known about or probably bothered to visit on our own--a winery, a gelato shop, and so on, not to mention the theatre and restaurant. The result was that, even though "in the middle of nowhere," we got a chance to appreciate the "nowhere." Just driving to the winery meant driving twisty roads through mountainous farms with cows and brooks and gnarled oaks and so on.

Finally, as many have mentioned, you need to be warned about the trains. The inn is yards away from an active railway line, which means that occasionally a train passes with window-rattling noise. During our two-night stay this happened some 3 or 4 times, of which I think only one was in the middle of the night. For me, that's hardly a deal breaker, but I've seen some reviewers react much more negatively (maybe they're more used to uninterrupted sleep than I am, as a father of two toddlers!). If a 50% chance of being woken up for about 60 seconds in the night is unacceptable for you, you might want to think twice; otherwise, this is a charming, comfortable, hospitable place to relax and indulge in a little low-intensity tourism.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Alleghany, by far the largest room, and with the most spacious bathroom (including...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

This was my first B&B stay and it was not a disappointment! The Hummingbird Inn is so warm and comfortable and Patti and Dan made our stay so delightful. We purchased the living social package in March 2011 and by the time I booked our trip, i had to wait until January 2012 for my weekend stay. I wasnt sure which room to book but after visiting the Inn, any of the rooms would have been nice to stay in. I highly recommend this B&B if you love the mountains and want a nice place to relax for a few days. One last thing to mention, the bed linens are to DIE FOR, so soft and warm! I wound up purchasing two sets for my bed at home!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are nice, however there is only one king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

We were so impressed with the Hummingbird that we started planning our return trip before we had even spent the first night. We found the hummingbird from a Living Social deal that we purchased last March (be on the lookout for a new one coming soon! And buy it quickly!). The first night at the Inn, we had the place to ourselves. We sat in the warm, homey, and comfy den most of the night playing cards and drinking tea. The next day, after a YUMMY breakfast and lounging around in the living room (very comfortable, overstuffed sofa there - great for naps!), we ventured into Lexington (about 30 min away) to kill a couple of hours. You could spend much more time in Lexington, especially if you're interested in Civil War history. We came back to the inn for a quick nap, then headed into Staunton (35-40 minutes) for dinner at Zynodoa and a show at the American Shakespeare Center.

I would very much recommend this bed & breakfast. We felt very much at home very quickly. Patty was wonderfully warm and always up for a lively conversation, but she is very good about making sure you have your space. There is always tea, coffee, sodas, water, and snacks around for the taking. Breakfast was delicious and different each day. Patty pays great attention to little details that add up to a wonderful experience.

The only things I can think to warn someone about that there is a train right outside the Inn that FLIES by and rattles the house a bit. It woke us up when it went by several times each night, but I think after we got used to it, we were able to fall back asleep quickly. Also, I never pack toiletries when we stay at hotels or b&bs, and while there were toiletries provided, there wasn't any conditioner (just conditioning shampoo). I know this isn't a big deal, but if you need conditioner like me, bring your own!

Book now! You won't regret it!

Room Tip: We enjoyed staying downstairs in the Teeter-Wood - it has a keyed private entrance and a private sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

There is not enough room to adequately give a raving review of The Hummingbird Inn. You can't miss this one folks! Dan and Patty know how this is done with amenities in all areas and tasty snacks offered around the clock. From coffee and hot chocolate to truffles and beignets Patty and Dan have it all. Rooms are cozy, private and romantic. Don't miss this one!!

Room Tip: Dogs are allowed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Dan and Patty made our weekend a wonderful experience. It was my husbands first time staying at a B&B and he was very leary but he was won over with the experience. He enjoyed meeting our hosts and meeting the other guests. The amenities that are offered throughout the Inn from the candy, snacks in the room, fireplaces, wireless, coffee and tea choices at night with special baked goods, etc. all made this one of the nicer Inns I have experienced. Make sure you eat before you get there if arriving around dinner though since the nearest restaurant is another 20+ miles away. The whole Living Social event was awesome and we enjoyed the Blackfriar's Playhouse emensely and would love to experience more of their productions. I will look forward to the next visit!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Eleanor and it was very comfortable, spacious and the shower has two shower heads w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hummingbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hummingbird Inn

Address: 30 Wood Lane, Goshen, VA 24439-0147
Location: United States > Virginia > Goshen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Goshen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hummingbird Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a romantic setting and warm country hospitality in our unique bed and breakfast, a Victorian Carpenter Gothic Inn situated in the Virginia railroad town of Goshen. The Inn is centrally located near scenic Goshen Pass on the western edge of the Shenandoah Valley, in a small triangle defined by Lexington, Staunton, and Warm Springs / Hot Springs.Outside the Inn, stroll around an acre of landscaped grounds. Sit on the deck or lie in the hammock and listen to the sounds of the Mill Creek, in the evening, light a fire in the chiminea and enjoy the crisp fall air. For the outdoor lovers, we are close to trails for hiking, biking, plus swimming and kayaking in the Maury River.If you're looking for peace and quiet, cozy and comfortable surroundings that feel like home, we welcome you to our Inn. Come and enjoy Fall in the Shenandoah Valley! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Hummingbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hummingbird Hotel Goshen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hummingbird Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.