We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living Social Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hummingbird Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Hummingbird Inn to your Saves list
The Hummingbird Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   30 Wood Lane, Goshen, VA 24439-0147   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Goshen B&B and Inns
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Living Social Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Dan and Patty made our weekend a wonderful experience. It was my husbands first time staying at a B&B and he was very leary but he was won over with the experience. He enjoyed meeting our hosts and meeting the other guests. The amenities that are offered throughout the Inn from the candy, snacks in the room, fireplaces, wireless, coffee and tea choices at night with special baked goods, etc. all made this one of the nicer Inns I have experienced. Make sure you eat before you get there if arriving around dinner though since the nearest restaurant is another 20+ miles away. The whole Living Social event was awesome and we enjoyed the Blackfriar's Playhouse emensely and would love to experience more of their productions. I will look forward to the next visit!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Eleanor and it was very comfortable, spacious and the shower has two shower heads w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    14
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
123
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

The 2 days at the Hummingbird Inn could not be beat in any way. The class of care, food, cleanliness and comfort could not be beat anywhere, and along with the livingsocial vouchers for local wineries, museums and bakeries we could not have been more pleased. A truly special spot in such a tiny town, a real gem of a find.

Room Tip: Our downstairs room had its own verandah and seating area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Our recent stay at The Hummingbird Inn in Goshen, VA felt just like going "way back home" to a welcoming longtime family homestead. The hosts, Dan and Patty Harrison, are warm, gracious, and delightful. The Inn's 5 bedrooms are spacious, private, and comfortably furnished, accompanied by spotless modern private bathrooms. Breakfast was consistently delicious, and snacks and beverages were proffered around the clock. The setting of the Inn is a small village nestled in a winding river valley in the Virginia Appalachians. The drive through the Goshen Pass above the sparkling Maury River leads to rolling hills dotted with horse and dairy farmland, and often revealing sweeping vistas of the mountain ridges off in the blue distance. Bicycling these back roads would also be a treat, one we plan to try with another stay at The Hummingbird Inn next summer. Don't miss this gem on the scenic back roads of Virginia.

Room Tip: All rooms were comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcr27615
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

We've just returned from a short visit to north central Virginia and had the good fortune to stay at the Hummingbird Inn. The Inn provides easy access to Staunton and Lexington while driving through spectacular countryside. Patty and Dan have added all the touches that make the Inn comfortable and inviting. The bed linens are wonderful (and can be purchased through Patty). Breakfasts were substantial and a delight. This is a rural, country property that serves as a great launching point to explore the area.

Room Tip: The downstairs bedroom is great if you're travelling with pets as it opens directly onto a side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

The Hummingbird Inn is located in Goshen, a very small town, but is only a short scenic drive to Lexington Va. We enjoyed the peacefulness of the area with the beautiful fall colors. Our stay in the Eleanor room was wonderful! The king sized bed was very comfortable with fine linens.The electric stove kept the room warm on a chilly rainy night. The en-suite bathroom has a large shower with excellent water pressure. This room is located at the front of the inn close to the train tracks. You will hear the trains as they pass but we found them to be part of the charm of the inn. The entire inn is nicely decorated. The breakfasts we were served were delicious and filling.I would highly recommend the Hummingbird Inn for a stay when visiting this part of Virginia. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We used a Living Social promotion and couldn't have been happier. Lovely historic B&B with first class accommodations and breakfast. The owners are delightful and we appreciated the wine, cheese, cookies, soda, tea & coffee available. They were very informative about touring in the area. There's nothing to do in Goshen, but Staunton is a great town, and we enjoyed local wineries. Would love to go back to this charming inn!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011 via mobile

the hummingbird inn is located is what appears to be an out of the way location, but for access to the natural beauty and outdoor attractions of Virginia as well as charming small towns and fantastic Virginia vineyards, the hummingbird is centrally located. the owners/ hosts, patty and dan, could not be more welcoming or be any better at what they do! this was my 5th visit! and I'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hummingbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hummingbird Inn

Address: 30 Wood Lane, Goshen, VA 24439-0147
Location: United States > Virginia > Goshen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Goshen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hummingbird Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a romantic setting and warm country hospitality in our unique bed and breakfast, a Victorian Carpenter Gothic Inn situated in the Virginia railroad town of Goshen. The Inn is centrally located near scenic Goshen Pass on the western edge of the Shenandoah Valley, in a small triangle defined by Lexington, Staunton, and Warm Springs / Hot Springs.Outside the Inn, stroll around an acre of landscaped grounds. Sit on the deck or lie in the hammock and listen to the sounds of the Mill Creek, in the evening, light a fire in the chiminea and enjoy the crisp fall air. For the outdoor lovers, we are close to trails for hiking, biking, plus swimming and kayaking in the Maury River.If you're looking for peace and quiet, cozy and comfortable surroundings that feel like home, we welcome you to our Inn. Come and enjoy Fall in the Shenandoah Valley! And we're dog-friendly too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Hummingbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hummingbird Hotel Goshen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hummingbird Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.