We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Weekend Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hummingbird Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Hummingbird Inn to your Saves list
The Hummingbird Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   30 Wood Lane, Goshen, VA 24439-0147   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Goshen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bellmore, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We were looking for a weekend trip and decided on the Hummingbird Inn as we saw it on Living Social. The stay was relaxing and enjoyable. Patty and Dan are excellent innkeepers and have a wealth of knowledge to share about the Inn and the surrounding area. You will not want to miss Patty's breakfast as it is a wonderful way to start the day! The Inn was located about midway between Staunton and Lexington. We enjoyed a tour of the area (sites recommended by Patty and Dan) as well as a visit to Washington and Lee College in Lexington. A visit to Thomas J Jackson's house is also a requirement once in town. Later in the day we went to Staunton for dinner and a play at the local theatre. Overall, it was a wonderful way to spend the weekend. Next time we'll need to stay longer!

Room Tip: The Alleghany room was very nice although all rooms looked quite nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    14
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
127
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

I had never stayed at a B&B before. Being a city girl, the thought of staying in a strangers house scared me. My experience could not have been better.

The Owners are wonderful, the inn was lovely, rooms were spacious, bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean...what more could you ask for?!?!?!

A Friend and I got a living social deal, we wanted a quick trip to get away from the city, this was a great choice! We stayed in the Eleanor Room, where Eleanor Roosevelt actually stayed. The inn is near the beautiful Goshen Pass, where you can stop off and splash in the river. It’s also centered between Stanton, Lexington and Hot Springs…all three are very cute little historic towns with little shops and restaurants (and the prices are great, much more affordable than city meals).

I would recommend the Hummingbird Inn to anyone!

Room Tip: The Eleanor Room was lovely, the house is right next to train tracks, you'll hear a train pass i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

My husband and I had a very relaxing time at the Hummingbird in late July. Our hosts Patty and Dan were very accomodating and put together a wonderful package of activities. The inn is very pretty and comfortable. We stayed in the Alleghany room, which was large, well appointed, the bed very comfortable, and truly charming. In the evenings ,coming back from gourmet restaurants in Staunton and Lexington, we enjoyed relaxing on the second floor wrap-around porch, sipping wine and star-gazing. Both mornings of our stay we were treated to delicious breakfasts.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We had a perfect stay at the Hummingbird Inn. The Franklin Suite was beautiful and so comfortable. We had a great time exploring the area, and the breakfast was delicious. We left so much more relaxed than we were when we arrived.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Our gracious hosts, Patty and Dan, are wonderful. They have an uncanny sense of knowing when you want to be alone and when you feel like having company. The video on their website describes exactly the way it is – peaceful and charming. We took their suggestions about where to go and what to do in and around the area, and also enjoyed relaxing on the upper deck with wine and cheese.

We found the Inn to be immaculate, the rooms large, the bed comfortable, every amenity imaginable, and breakfasts that were incredibly delicious.

We’ve seen some comments about the train that goes by but it really wasn’t loud and we found that it only added to the overall charm. We are definitely looking forward to going back to this very special Hummingbird Inn!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

I booked this from Australia, as I had seen it on NY living social, and we were going to be close to it. Was a bit worried, as we wondered if we would have been better staying in a city, but felt a relaxing few days were just what we needed.
Dan and Patty and their Hummingbird Inn far exceeded our expectation. From the moment we stepped in, we felt pampered and would have happily stayed longer.
The house is large, and you are given the run of most of the house, with plenty of drinks, nibbles etc at every point. You have the choice to relax inside, or the sun room, plus the verandahs that wrap around. Breakfast is freshly cooked every morning by our hosts, and is plentiful and good. Coffee is always available, with fresh cookies and pastries.
The rooms are much larger than average, with well appointed bathrooms, with quality products and linens. The beds are comfortable, and the Inn is scrupulously clean. Patty and Dan are always eager to help, and go out of their way. They aimed to run a b&b that they would like to stay in, and they have succeeded. There were no negatives for us at all, and if we have the opportunity will certainly revisit.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, and they also take pets in some rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

The hosts at Humming Bird are exceptionally helpful and thoughtful. They have thought of lots of little extras that make the Inn special and the breakfast is a treat. There is a deck all round the Inn plus a lovely terrace over a small stream at the end of the property where
one can have drinks/food. I enjoyed my stay although I my not return but only because the Inn is rather remote. For people wanting a complete getaway it is ideal and in lovely Virginia countryside. One item that should be noted: there is a railway line running near the Inn and coal-trains may rumble through in the middle of the night. This noise may be considered annoying, or quaint, depending on your noise tolerance level.

Room Tip: To avoid rail noise ask for a back room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hummingbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hummingbird Inn

Address: 30 Wood Lane, Goshen, VA 24439-0147
Location: United States > Virginia > Goshen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Goshen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hummingbird Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a romantic setting and warm country hospitality in our unique bed and breakfast, a Victorian Carpenter Gothic Inn situated in the Virginia railroad town of Goshen. The Inn is centrally located near scenic Goshen Pass on the western edge of the Shenandoah Valley, in a small triangle defined by Lexington, Staunton, and Warm Springs / Hot Springs.Outside the Inn, stroll around an acre of landscaped grounds. Sit on the deck or lie in the hammock and listen to the sounds of the Mill Creek, in the evening, light a fire in the chiminea and enjoy the crisp fall air. For the outdoor lovers, we are close to trails for hiking, biking, plus swimming and kayaking in the Maury River.If you're looking for peace and quiet, cozy and comfortable surroundings that feel like home, we welcome you to our Inn. Come and enjoy Fall in the Shenandoah Valley! And we're dog-friendly too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, T4B, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Hummingbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hummingbird Hotel Goshen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hummingbird Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.