We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hummingbird Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Hummingbird Inn to your Saves list
The Hummingbird Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   30 Wood Lane, Goshen, VA 24439-0147   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Goshen B&B and Inns
Blacksburg, Virginia
1 review
“A special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

Neither one of us had ever stayed in a Bed and Breakfast before our stay at The Hummingbird Inn, but I don’t think anywhere could have offered us a better first time experience. The house was amazing and our room was breathtaking. Underneath the beautiful appearance lies a rich history, which Patti and Dan will be sure to educate you on! When we weren’t sprawled out on one of the couches playing scrabble we were spending time in Lexington or at the Homestead. Our favorite restaurant was the Red Hen located in Lexington and our favorite activity was taking a dip in the Jefferson Hot Springs. One cannot even begin to explore what the surrounding areas of Goshen have to offer in a weekend’s time. Do not let the Bed and Breakfast “front” fool you; Patti and Dan provide a first class breakfast that will certainly exceed your expectations. We were left wondering whether they had attended culinary school or once owned a gourmet restaurant! Overall our experience was wonderful and we can’t wait to return.

-Davis Barry and Christine Sane-

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    14
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
121
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010 via mobile

We needed a place to stay after driving through the Shenendoah mountains. Goshen is a perfect little place to stop. Although there isn't much at all in the town the Hummingbird Inn is a wonderful Inn. We stayed in Eleanor room which was very comfortable. The only detractor is a loud train that goes by the house several times at night. If you keep the window closed its not too bad. The breakfast was awesome. Patty the hostess, makes great biscuits and frittatas.Dan was a very helpful and jovial host as well. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, VA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

I'm ready to go back now!! We pulled up to this beautiful house with wraparound 2 level porches with landscaped artfully lawn enclosed in a white picket fence. There are many beautiful common areas, I loved the den with its original wide plank wooden floor! Not to mention the living room, sun room and dining room! And talking about the dining room...coffee, tea and snacks available around the clock, but that breakfast! WOW! Delicious! We stayed in the Alleghany room with its queen size canopy bed and HUGE jacuzzi tub. I can't begin to describe the wonderful room! We never heard a train all night, I slept so well! The wrap around porch has several sitting areas but my favorite was the deck with the firepit overlooking the creek! We sat out there reading and just enjoying listening to the creek! If I had laid down on the hammock I would have went straight to sleep! Dan & Patty are perfect hosts and insist on you making yourself at home. The entire place was spotless and so wonderfully decorated. Thank you Dan & Patty for giving us such a wonderful stay! You are the perfect hosts!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

We escaped from the DC area for a Saturday night and had an amazing experience. The owners, Dan and Patty, are extremely kind and wonderful hosts. It is clear how much time, effort, and love has been poured into the Hummingbird. The rooms were extremely clean with very comfortable beds and the grounds are gorgeous. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

Love the house, the garden, the porches, the TRAIN!, and the overall ambiance. Our hosts are friendly and very accommodating. It is a lovely, relaxing place to visit. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

There are dozens of B&Bs around the Lexington, Virginia, area, and, after studying them all on the internet, we chose The Hummingbird Inn, and we are so glad we did. The house is so charming, and Dan and Patty are wonderful hosts. We had the Teter Wood room on the ground floor, and it was nice to be able to have our private entrance/exit when we came in from a late wedding. The house was impeccably clean and comfortably furnished. The breakfasts were nice--especially the baked french toast (YUM!). The area was very quiet, except for the occasional train that rambles through across the street, but we just snuggled further down into our wonderful bed and waited a few moments for it to pass. It is a short distance to Staunton, Lexington, and other small, scenic towns. A wonderful getaway.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

Patty and Dan are the best of the best when it comes to taking care of your needs. The food was awesome. The rooms were exceptionally clean and beautiful. The only downfall to this Bed & Breakfast is the train. It comes by in front of the house a couple of times during the night and is loud, lenghty and fast. I'm a light sleeper so this was a big negative for me. They do have a suite at the back of the house where the noise wouldn't be as bad. I would stay here again if I were to have that suite. We enjoyed our time there and the hosts were very helpful in sharing information with us regarding opening a bed and breakfast. It was a little pricey, but again, the hosts were wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hummingbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hummingbird Inn

Address: 30 Wood Lane, Goshen, VA 24439-0147
Location: United States > Virginia > Goshen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Goshen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hummingbird Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a romantic setting and warm country hospitality in our unique bed and breakfast, a Victorian Carpenter Gothic Inn situated in the Virginia railroad town of Goshen. The Inn is centrally located near scenic Goshen Pass on the western edge of the Shenandoah Valley, in a small triangle defined by Lexington, Staunton, and Warm Springs / Hot Springs.Outside the Inn, stroll around an acre of landscaped grounds. Sit on the deck or lie in the hammock and listen to the sounds of the Mill Creek, in the evening, light a fire in the chiminea and enjoy the crisp fall air. For the outdoor lovers, we are close to trails for hiking, biking, plus swimming and kayaking in the Maury River.If you're looking for peace and quiet, cozy and comfortable surroundings that feel like home, we welcome you to our Inn. Come and enjoy Fall in the Shenandoah Valley! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Hummingbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hummingbird Hotel Goshen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hummingbird Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.