We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE best innkeepers EVER!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uphill House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gordonsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Uphill House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Uphill House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
18248 Buzzard Hollow Road, Gordonsville, VA 22942   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Gordonsville B&B and Inns
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“THE best innkeepers EVER!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at many B&B's since we met several years ago. Some have been very beautiful, one was a nightmare, but NO ONE has EVER been as gracious and accommodating as Lynn and Joyce. (mother and daughter team) My husband and daughter selected this inn to celebrate my birthday as well as my son-in-law's. From the moment we arrived everything was perfect!! I recently had to go gluten free and Lynn and Joyce went above and beyond making sure there was always something special for me to eat. There were muffins, cookies, candy and a special breakfast "cobbler" this morning with a gluten free topping. DELICIOUS!!! My daughter even thought it was wonderful. These ladies are warm, helpful and maintain a spotless home. High quality sheets thrilled everyonne at the inn, as well as nice down-filled duvets. Our beds were turned down each evening and a special treat was left for us to munch on before retiring for the night. Beds were made daily, and clean towels provided daily. Breakfasts were English AND continental ....all of it delicious. I never thought I'd enjoy beans for breakfast, but it was surprisingly tasty! "Bangers" were great.....and who would have thought of eating broiled tomatoes for breakfast?? YUM!!! Even cooked mushrooms were excellent.. Although it was all unusual for an American, it was very good. Our rooms were very large, as well as the bathroom. Dang, I forgot to bring home my rubber duckie that they give you!!! Every afternoon about 4 they serve up some cheeses, crackers (of course they got me some gluten-free crackers) fruits, wine, and cookies. Loved the inn, the food, and especially Joyce and Lynn!!! Keep up the good work!!! And thank you for everything!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joycelynn, Owner at Uphill House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you ever so much for the review, we appreciate all you said! Remember what we said to you and the family; this is our lifestyle, we love it and thank all of our guests for making this possible!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
arlington, va
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here two nights over the long Veterans' Day weekend. This is a lovely bed and breakfast, sitting atop a hill and fully surrounded by forest. The setting is beautiful. Our hosts, Joyce and Lynn, were gracious, generous, and accommodating--making this bed and breakfast very warm and welcoming.

The rooms are spacious, immaculate, and nicely decorated. The large common area for guests has books, games, television, and a fireplace. The dining room is quite nice, and the breakfasts are hearty and delicious, including "light fare," such as fruit, cereal, yogurt, granola, and homemade pastries in addition to the full English breakfast! In the late afternoon, Joyce and Lynn provide wine, an array of cheeses, crackers, fruit, and pastries. And their wonderful cookies are out 24 hours a day. Added to all of this are some exquisite small touches: homemade chocolates in the room, cookies at turndown, and lovely soaps.

We hope to return to the Charlottesville area, and this is the place we would stay. Joyce and Lynn are innkeepers par excellence!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My wife stayed at this B&B recently, we were on a food and winery getaway trip. The week-end was hard to get a place with many fall activities going on. Monticello nearby was busy.
Lynn the owner and her Mother Joyce were our delightful authentic hosts and the owners of the new, only 3 year old B&B. The room was brand new in appearence, clean, neatly decorated with a nice bath/shower. Wine on the deck, with woods all around was special, as well as snacks of fruit & cheeses with crackers. Watching the birds was very relaxing.
The best part was the real English breakfast of eggs, bacon bangers,baked beans,and home made english white bread with jams. What a delightful way to start the day.
Lynn was helpful with directions to the sights of the area.
It is a place we visit again.

Room Tip: This is off the beaten path, in the country.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joycelynn, Owner at Uphill House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you John, you both were a delight to have here. You will always be welcome back and stay longer next time. "Pop in ...or up as in our case" any time! Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at this B&B due to the proximity to Barboursville and the its renowned restaurant . The mother and daughter made you feel like family. You are greeted by name and made to feel comfortable from the beginning. Their local knowledge and suggested mini tour of the local wineries is a nice touch. The rooms are spacious and the breakfast is bountiful. Afternoon wine and cheese on the deck made for a perfect end of the day. If you are planning a winery trip on the east side of Charlottesville, this is the place to stay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joycelynn, Owner at Uphill House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you so much for the lovely review and we thoroughly enjoyed having you stay with us. We also appreciate the time you spent and the action of posting a review as we find so many people read them and it makes a difference. Again, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We only stayed at Uphill for one night but had a fantastic experience. The B&B was beautifully decorated and placed in a great location, very near to several of the local area wineries. What stood out for us was how welcoming Joyce and Lynn were. They had arranged complimentary visits to nearby wineries and provided recommendations for local restaurants and insider tips for visiting Charlottesville. The small touches such as turn down service complete with homemade cookies, a full English breakfast cooked to order along with a generally inviting atmosphere made this a very relaxing experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joycelynn, Owner at Uphill House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank You for the lovely review. We were tickled to be the place you chose for the first "getaway". Hope all is continuing to go well and that you both will make it back here a second time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The Uphill House was the perfect vacation my girlfriend and I needed. Upon arrival we were greeted by our charming British hosts who set us up in a room that exceeded our expectations. This B&B is nestled in the woods brimming with wildlife and neatly decorated. The real gem of this B&B was the service provided by Joyce and Lynn. Every morning a robust continental breakfast was served while a hearty English breakfast was available too made to order. I'm a little picky with how I like my eggs in the morning and Lynn was happy to oblige. This is a small example of how Lynn and Joyce will go to make your stay perfect.

Lynn and Joyce feature local wines at their "wine and cheese" hours. It was nice to mingle with the other guests. Our hosts had a lot of information learned over the years on the local wineries and were very helpful in planning our itineraries each day. We enjoyed our experience immensely and look forward to seeing them again soon!

Room Tip: Rooms are bigger than they appear in the photos!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

A mother daughter team own this bed and breakfast and they work very hard to make sure guests are comfortable and happy with their stay. My daughter and I visited the area for the weekend from Washington D.C. It was a good sized beautiful house off the main road up a long driveway and you ended up in the middle of forest. It was very quiet. The inside of the house and bedrooms seemed newly renovated and the rooms were like hotel rooms equipped with plenty of closet and drawer space, very roomy private bathroom, robes and lush carpets. Breakfast was both continental as well as a served English breakfast. They provided all sorts of suggestion for places to see and restaurants to visit. One of the main must do in the area is wine tasting. The owners provided us information on the best ones to visit. The only negative is that the B & B is about 20-30 minutes from Charlottesville and the road is very dark at night. I would highly recommend staying here as it is beautiful and is less pricy than the places closer to Charlottesville.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Uphill House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uphill House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 18248 Buzzard Hollow Road, Gordonsville, VA 22942
Location: United States > Virginia > Gordonsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gordonsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern bed and breakfast features five beautiful guest rooms and is situated on a secluded, wooded 11 acre property. While at the Uphill House you will enjoy amenities such as complimentary WIFI, in suite baths, plush robes and hairdryers, two convenient breakfast times, TV in the main living room and two guest rooms, homemade pastries and afternoon snacks, complimentary beverages, and a spacious back porch complete with swing and fire pit. Comfort is our number one priority and it is our pleasure to help you relax. So, come on Uphill and let us take care of you! Scott and Samantha Darling ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uphill House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.