We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Wedding at Clover Forest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clover Forest Plantation

Clover Forest Plantation
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Goochland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clover Forest Plantation
Save
You added Clover Forest Plantation to your Saves list
5371 Whittcamp Rd, route 618, Goochland, VA 23063   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Goochland B&B and Inns
Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My Wedding at Clover Forest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

The house and the grounds at Clover Forest Plantation are so peaceful and beautiful. We fell in love with it immediately! We went through a major budget cut during our wedding planning, but the CFP staff worked really hard to help us get the most out of our experience. We ended up having a cocktail hour reception with heavy hors d'oeuvres. Our wedding guests loved all of the food -- many of the adults also kept sneaking food from the kid's buffet. My family stayed over night and we were all really impressed by the rooms. A lot of the rooms have porches and after the wedding we all just sat out there and relaxed. I'm definitely going back for our anniversary!

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chester, va
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

Our daughter was married here at a 6 pm ceremony. The cocktail hour was to perfection, as well as, the reception. Everything went as planned. The tables were set up just as we had planned. The food was delicious with rave reviews from our guest. We found the staff to be very attentive to our needs and provided very professional service throughout the evening. We had a sit-down dinner and our 90 plus guest were pleased with how it flowed without any problems. Everything was wonderful and we highly recommend it as a wedding venue.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

Visit: a friend's semi-formal wedding.
I recommend it for a quiet weekend getaway, but not as a wedding venue.
As an Inn-
- Breakfast: Baked goods were delicious. Chef/cook was friendly and attentive.
- Main house: Common areas and 2nd-floor guestrooms are charming and pristine. The jungle/lodge-themed room at the top floor fine for families but odd for others.
- Suite/Carriage House: More of an overflow room than a comfortable retreat. No shower, just a tub with hand-held shower attachment. Beetles in the living room area (not the CDs, the insects), otherwise clean. Decor is dated, not historic.
- NOTE: There is wifi in the main house, NOT in the carriage house.

As a Wedding / Event Venue:
Pros -
- beautiful grounds, especially in autumn
- charming event spaces inside main house
Cons -
- catering service (see below); maybe the fees are too reasonable?
- inconvenience of remote location

They probably don't allow outside caterers. Otherwise, hire one who will staff adequately and avoid glaring gaffes:
- services: They discourage hiring pro event planners yet they don’t provide event coordination service. Friend of bride handled cueing, coordination and problem-management on-site. CFP staff sets up tables, prepares and serves food, and provides basic set-up of favors/etc. Don't expect more.
- CFP staff actually put tip jars on the bars!
- Beer not poured; bottles issued to guests even at dinner bar. (Ok for backyard BBQs, not weddings.)
- Soccer-game plastic orange bev dispenser at dinner bar
- No linens on tall cocktail tables (metal rental tables). Didn’t see utensils at cocktail reception.
- No table service. Sure, it was a buffet dinner, but the staff didn't even pre-serve water. Instead, they set a sports-bar plastic water jug at each table. The jugs made interesting salad dressing dispensers at the buffet.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

This revolutionary war period plantation home has been lovingly restored by the proprietor's father. It sits above the James River over a ridge with a small pond and rolling hills completely hidden from any commercial clutter. His son Sebastian and Deidre Volker run the property now. Sebastian is a history buff and can tell you fascinating stories about the property.

Although the majority of their business is wedding business, we stayed there as bed-and-breakfast guests.
They have a fixed-price meal with a choice of three or four entrées. (Believe it was something like $38 per guest). If you wanted to go out for dinner believe you're looking at a 15 to 20 minute drive. We had a delicious three course meal in front of a roaring fire. We happen to be the only guests that Tuesday evening (believe they have six rooms) so the experience was as if it were our own plantation. The rooms were decorated in period pieces and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was served in front of a roaring fire with tasty muffins and an egg casserole.

As an interesting aside, our GPS charger had failed and so we were navigating without it. I had taken the charger apart and determined that there was a wire that had broken off of the circuit board and needed to be re-soldered. The proprietor called a nearby house and had a soldering iron delivered and so we were able to leave the house with the GPS working and charging.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clover Forest Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clover Forest Plantation

Address: 5371 Whittcamp Rd, route 618, Goochland, VA 23063
Location: United States > Virginia > Goochland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Goochland
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the romance, comfort and historic charm of Clover Forest Plantation, a central Virginia Bed & Breakfast and Country Inn. Nestled in a pristine environment of immense natural beauty this peaceful, tranquil and unspoiled place is thought by some to possess healing properties and inspire feelings of well being. It is a haven in an otherwise frenetic world.Consisting of lovely landscaped grounds, a private lake, and a federal period mansion with portions dating back to pre-revolutionary America, this private estate is selectively and graciously opened to the public for very special events. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Clover Forest Plantation Goochland, Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clover Forest Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.