We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Green Man

Green Man
Stanford Road, Stanford, Biggleswade SG189JD, England
+44 1462 812293
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Stanford
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Our Old English Restaurant with its oak beams, exposed brickwork and inglenook fireplace is very popular with our patrons. Good quality meals are enjoyed in comfortable surroundings with a choice of our Chef's Specialities coming soon or the A La Carte menu. Our ever popular Sunday roast lunches are available from 12 noon.The restaurant seats approximately 150 guests and bookings for parties both large and small can be catered for this includes weddings You will receive a warm welcome if you choose full meal or a just drink at the bar. We have now launched our new senior citizens menu, two courses for £7.95 And three courses for £9.95
Eastry
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Not bad but....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The accommodation was fine. Sizable clean etc, but just niggles like the heating hadn't been left on so was very cold when I arrived and took an age to warm up. Plus there was no milk for the coffee/tea amenities.
The evening meal was great and good value but the breakfast menu was was a full English or nothing else. Cereal limited, hot water for coffee ran out and not replenished, only juice was Orange, and other diners detritus was not cleared away throughout the duration of my breakfast. Not a pleasant view or ambiance..

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    42
    18
    13
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I took my brother and his daughter wh were over from Spain the meal was excellent cooked as requested and very reasonably priced the staff were friendly and helpful. This is the 5th or 6th time I have been here and it has always been as good

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“best steak ive had in a long time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

we went to the green a few weeks ago , as I was told it was under new management , we use to visit here all the time a few years back but felt it had gone down hill , how ever they have ditched the massive menu which I can only gather that half of it was out of the freezer any way , and have introduced more of a grill themed menu which is fresh and ,modern . would go there again , and im sure in time the new owners will give it a new lease of life .

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biggleswade
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“fine if you're a regular. and known.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Visited today. for sunday lunch.
were shown to our table, next to a broken wall heater. our waitress came back with menus, and asked what we wanted to drink. All going well..... then some people she clearly knew came in, and she greeted them.... they got their drinks first. ours came (wife had asked for ginger beer and lime... she got ginger beer. We had to send back for lime). we waited.... 15 minutes later, after the table of regulars who came after us had their orders in, we finally got to order. I ordered the exciting sounding 3 meat feast roast, wife ordered pie of the day.... table of regulars had their starters AND mains, we waited... 25 minutes for our 1 course... the 3 meat feast consisted of 2 slices of pre sliced thin packet style roast beef, 1 similar of what I think was turkey, the other might have been pork...too thin and insipid to tell. a watery drop of gravy... and a huge Yorkshire covering it all up, presumably in embarrassment. How do you get that really thin packet roast beef to be so tough?

We ate it, and waited..... another 25 minutes... Table not even cleared away... no offer of desert menu... or any further drinks..... regulars had coffee, deserts, chats with the waitress... marvellous... so basically, if you're not from round here.... dont bother.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the green man today with high hopes, it has a large rear garden for the children to play in and decor of the pub is lovely. However, not so much can be said for the staff! When we arrived we were greeted by a rather awkward-personality man...who happened to be the manager! After being seated the waitress took our drinks and food order,and our starter came pretty quick. We were then left for 45 minutes after the starter to wait before our two children began to get hungry so we asked the waitress where I food was. She didn't know and said she would check. 20 minutes more passed and still no sign of our mains, and the waitress had been to all the tables accept ours to offer refills on their drinks even though she looked at our table and noticed the drinks had all been finished. I then went to complain to the manager who said "hold on I'll be right with you" and walked off not returning. We had just given up hope of ever recieving our food when it appeard, a whole hour or so after our starters! Once the meal was finished we asked for the bill which to no suprise the waitress didn't get as she seemed to think cleaning tables was more important.

I will not be returning back to this pub and would strongly advise others to look elsewhere. The food was just average, nothing special. However nice the pub looked, the staff were very slack and hostile, and there was no rear access to the garden so if the children wanted to play you had to leave the table and walked out of the pub round to the back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Man also viewed

Biggleswade, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Green Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Man, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.